1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How much HDD space do you have ATM??

Discussion in 'Storage' started by JATownes, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    I was just curious how much total HDD space the "average user" had in their rig (if you can call anyone on TPU "average" ;)). What I mean is, how many gigs, across how many drives, what manufacturer/speed, and in what configuration. And include how much of that space is free space.

    Here is mine:
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATAII 500GB "System Drive" (145GB Free)
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATAII 500GB "Media Files" (76GB Free)
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATAII 320GB "Games Backup" (122GB Free)
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATAII 320GB "Backup Drive" (142GB Free)

    Total: 1640GB, Free: 485GB :eek:
     
  2. SkyKast

    SkyKast

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,099 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    massachusetts
    haha well I only have 1 HDD atm I dont see how you can use so much space??

    Hitachi 7200 RPM 500GB SATA
    soon I will have a WC VelociRaptor 300GB (OS)
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    571 GB free on my WD 640GB cus I have just done a clean install of Windows 7 to build 7068 :D
     
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    My Rig
    250GB Samsung Spinpoint - 96.2GB free
    500GB Samsung Spinpoint - 199GB free
    750GB Samsung Spinpoint - 190GB free

    File Server
    500GB Samsung Spinpoint - 167GB
    500GB Samsung Spinpoint - 296GB
    250GB Western Digital - 175GB
    250GB Western Digitial - 1.72GB
     
  5. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i only have a 250GB drive. but i've never had it full, most i've gotten it was around 210GB out of 232GB available, then i realized i didn't play half my games and deleted em, brought me to 145GB free from only having 20GB. I don't get how you guys can fill up massive harddrives lol
     
  6. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    WD 320GB
    Hitachi 320GB
    Samsung 160GB

    There is not much free 100 GB in total.
     
  7. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    I have in my main machine two seagte drives one 320GB and another 500GB and 150GB Raptor in the mail ;)

    I just did a ghost of a OS on a computer im fixing so that took 80GB up on my main drive so i think i have just over 100GB left on it, and for my 500GB about half is used, full of games.
     
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Kansas
    Pr0n on demand.:roll:

    Mine's just my WD 750gb, partitioned for OS/Everytrhing else. Not even half full.
     
  9. renozi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    I had 4 1.5TB Seagate 7200.11 last month so that's 6TB + another 1TB Seagate and what ever's in my specs...so a total of 8.5TB but I sold 3 of the 1.5TB drives so now uh 4TB?
     
  10. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    1000 GB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - 520 GB space free - File storage
    320 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue - 240 GB space free - OS and programs
     
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    server has 10gb os so 4 left
    server has 160gb 120 left
    macbook has 200gb 10left
    320 external for mac 260 left
    desktop
    1.1 tb 500 left.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    You caught me. :D


    WOW!! Very Impressive :toast: How much of that 4TB is free??:respect:
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Seagate 250gb - 121gb free
    My Western digital 500gbx2(1tb) - 155gb free
    Dad's WD 500gbx2(1tb) - .9gb free lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  14. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,842 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    OS drive is WD 1Tb Black w/ 471Gb left and a external WD 1Tb Black with 128Gb left. Soon going to setup a Raid 1 or Raid 5 and increase external to 2Tb WD Green.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,264
    Main Rig:
    Seagate Barracuda SATAII 7200.10 500GB (255GB Free)
    3xSeagate Barracuda SATAII 7200.11 1.5TB in RAID 5 (1452GB Free)

    Server:
    Seagate Barracuda SATAII 7200.9 250GB(175GB Free)

    G/F's Rig:
    Seagate Barracuda SATAII 7200.9 80GB(34GB Free)
    Western Digital Caviar IDE 7200RPM 300GB(0GB Free)

    Work Machine:
    Seagate Barracuda SATAII 7200.9 80GB(39GB Free)
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. renozi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    I'd say about 1.5-2TB is free. Most of it is back ups anways. ;)
     
  17. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    lol, I have 74gigs with 37.1 free....
     
  18. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
     
  19. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    691 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Got 5 Hdd's in for now[took out my Abit HotRod PCI IDE card, or i'd have my other 3 drives in:D], about 1.2TB, and mabey 100GB free :confused::confused::ohwell:

    Love the new Hitachi's 320 for my Boot drive!! VERY quiet

    Some reason that 7200.10 Perpindick Seagate[first edition] took a crap in the Boot Sector after about 2 weeks, and it was VERY noisy:shadedshu

    [​IMG]
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,264
    :laugh:It was my old backup drive that I had put in her machine and setup to automatically back-up the important things on my main rig. Once I moved to the 1.5TB drives, I quickly out-grew my backup drive. I really need to replace it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    About 870 gigs of the 1.8 TB is free. Most of that is from the backup drive (640gig) which is basically empty atm. Had to re-do my backup schedule/policy so cleared out the old backups (please don't hack me within the next 12 hours). :cool:
     
  22. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    yep, courtesy of the BadBoys of Case Modding Club
    (thanks guys:respect:)
     
  23. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Does it take up alot of electricity to use multiple hard drives? I mean, only the primary drive is constantly used, does the backup drive take up alot of electricity while idling?

    I have a 640GB, 320GB and 250GB hard drive. Thinking of getting another 1TB drive!
     
  24. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Three 250GB drives.

    Seagate ST3250410AS Primary drive in 2 partitions (C: boot+apps, D: games, documents, pics, music, etc). About a year old. Pretty quick. 100GB free.
    Samsung SP2504C storage drive. 2-3 years old. Decent speed for it's time. 38GB free.
    Maxtor 6B250S0 backup drive. 4+ years old. Painfully slow clunker. 109GB free.
     
  25. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Main system:
    2 x Seagate 7200.7 250 GB RAID0: 304 GiB of 465 GiB free (about 30 GiB are temporary, 90% of used space is games I haven't gotten around to)

    Server:
    4 x Seagate 7200.10 320 GB RAID5: 587 GiB of 595 GiB free (OS volume, 1 drive is a hot-spare)
    2 x Seagate 7200.9 250 GB RAID1: 124 GiB of 232 GiB free (user volume)

    Compaq:
    1 x ??????: 26.1 GiB of 27.9 GiB free


    I included the Compaq because I'm playing Myst, Myst II: Riven, and Escape from Monkey Island on it. Usually it is just collecting dust. That isn't all the computers--just the ones plugged into my KVM and powered on. XD


    Of all that HDD space, only the RAID1 array concerns me (the user store) because that is all the data that persists from computer to computer, from format to format. All the other space is installed apps/other crap that really isn't that important (can be reinstalled/copied from original source). I need to format the server and make the RAID5 the user store and the RAID1 the OS volume. I just haven't gotten around to it yet...
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page