1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How Much Performance Gain?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Lazermonkey, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Would I get from an GTX 670 over my MSI GTX 560 Ti 448 OC PE?

    It seem the 448 core is right on par with a 570... or even more depending on OC settings.

    But, would it be worth the $$ upgrade to a 670?

    Or should I go for something like a 580?

    Maybe keep what I got?

    Other PC specs are in my profile :)

    Thanks for any and all input.
     
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,981 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,094
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Quite a large upgrade over your current actually, though your CPU leaves a little to be desired.
     
  3. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    FX -4130 OC'd to 4.3Ghz isn't enough?
     
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,981 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,094
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Depends on how the games you're playing are coded for thread etc, but it wont quite pack as much of a punch as a 8350 or i5.
    My 6200 had two GTX 570's strapped to it, and my 8350 had my current two 7950's, and both were fairly good in games.
    CPU heavy games like shogun WoW etc wont improve with a 670, more GPU intesive games however will by a large margin.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013
    Lazermonkey says thanks.
  5. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    From what I have been told (dude at Microcenter) he said I really wouldn't see a performance gain from a 6 or 8 series over the 4.

    He said there really aren't any games which take advantage of anything over 4 cores?

    How true is all of that? I don't know?

    Thus the reason I ask here :)
     
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,981 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,094
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Dude at microcenter evidently was psychotic, and didnt want to sell something better.
     
  7. PLSG08

    PLSG08

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    221 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Where ever the wind blows
    Well it depends on how sensitive you see the difference. Normal people wouldn't mind the difference in FPS and quality. And also it depends on the game (either GPU or CPU intensive)

    If you only do some gaming and editing, I suggest stick to the 4130 until you've got enough money to buy and 8k or i5/i7. If you use AutoCad and such, then get an upgrade :/

    wish I could also get my own custom rig one day...
     
    Lazermonkey says thanks.
  8. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    363
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Audio system and physics simulation run on separate threads for ages now, and physics uses more than one thread if it's possible. However, there often is only a single rendering thread in older games (DX9 era limitation) but latest engines have multithreaded rendering from DX11 implemented (multiple threads submit state and draw calls to their deferred context which compiles a display list that is eventually executed by the immediate context).
     
    Lazermonkey says thanks.
  9. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    My system is only used for the Internet and Gaming.

    Would it be wise if I upgraded to use my current card as a dedicated Physx card?
     
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,981 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,094
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    You could, but very few games use Physx anyway, so 90% of the time the second card will do nothing.
    Not to say your current CPU is bad, it's just that the 6 and 8's would do a fair bit better.
     
    Lazermonkey says thanks.
  11. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Understood :)
     
  12. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    822 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    In general that's true, but there's a big difference between the 4 cores in a 4130, and the 4 in an i5-3570K, for example. In Passmark CPU benchmark, the 4130 scores 4352, while the 3570k scores 7132, greatly reducing the chance of a bottlenecked CPU during intense gaming. These scores are a rough indication of how many compute operations a CPU can complete in a given time period. If you look at the list, http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html, you'll see the relative performance of all high-end CPUs.
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,917 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    the CPU is more than enough for gaming. its very much capable of keeping frame rates above 60 fps provided you have a decent gpu to go with.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,981 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,094
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Not for games like Shogun, Crysis, etc.
     
  15. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Just ran the Passmark CPU test and scored a 5064.

    Not sure if that is decent enough or not?
     
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,981 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,094
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    similar to a 1055t score, you'll do just fine for gaming. though some games will only utilise the 4130 as a dual core. it will run with a 670 just fine
     
  17. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    822 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Yeah, I guess it'll work okay, my 3570k @4.3 GHz is only at 25-30% when playing Dirt Showdown. Yours may work a little harder than that, but shouldn't bottleneck the GPU in most games.
     
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,219 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Well I play those games, high settings on an Athlon II X4 @ 3.4GHz so I have to disagree.

    Lazermonkey, what you'll learn about enthusiast boards is epeen. Whilst your CPU might not be the best it's more than enough for today's games.
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  19. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Sure you won't get quite the potential out of the card that you would with a better CPU in games but you will see a frame improvement.

    So if the card you are looking at is on sale for a price you can't refuse then go for it.

    As for people who are employed at microcenters and other places which are retail/tech oriented, I tend to believe only a small handful of the people who work there know the basic stuff to an acceptable level.

    Those kind of places are willing to hire salesmen over people who actually know what they are talking about.
     
  20. centaurius

    centaurius

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    A 670 is practically on pair with 560TI SLI, so you should see a 90% gain in FPS with a 670 instead of a 560 ti 448 core. Otherwise get a 2 nd 560 ti 448 and go sli? It will give more juice than 1 670 of course. If you go SLI you need to confirm a 750W PSU at least... and maybe more CPU power required i believe.
     
  21. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    My local Microcenter has the Zotac GTX 570 on sake for $139

    But those really aren't different from what I have already.
     
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,917 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    they will work just fine. as dent1 already runs those on an athlon x4 and the bulldozer is much better than that.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page