1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How much performance this Thermaltake Coolers does????

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by CH@NO, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Hi.

    I'm interested in this 2 products:

    Thermaltake Extreme Spirit II (mobo chipset cooler) (25 bucks)

    Thermaltake RAM aluminium heat spreader mod. A1092 (6 bucks)

    The costs are very low and I like to know if it deserve the purchase, would it give me a cooling boost or it doesn't worth it.

    I'll try tu buy them 'cause I'm try to OC a little more and I think the mobo and the rams stop me, the chipset mobo BURNS (2 secs after touch it and it burns) and If it stays more cooled the system must allow me to push it a little more.

    WHAT DO YA THINK???????
     
  2. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    The heat spreaders are worth it a fan blowing on the memory isn't a bad idea either.does not your chipset have a stock cooler on it?
     
  3. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I would not suggest the heat spreaders.
    They really dont do much unless you have a fan blowing on your RAM heatspreaders.

    Also, the reason your RAM doesnt OC much is bc of a couple of reasons:
    1. The chips used on your RAM is prob. PROMO chips. These chips do not OC well. There are 2 other types of chips used which are Epilida and Micron D9. Micron D9 are the best OCers followed by Epilida which arent that bad.

    2. Kingston RAM never OCs well. They are built more for stability than OCing. Brands like Crucial, Buffalo, G Skill are good for OCing. Plus, Kingston mostly uses PROMO chips (see #1).

    Sorry to break it to you, but your RAM is not OCing well bc of those 2 reasons, not bc they are overheating (which usually only happens on RAM with Micron D9 chips).
     
    CH@NO says thanks.
  4. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Thanx man, very usefull information, and what about the Chip Cooler, is it worth it or not???
     
  5. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Nope, the mobo that I have is a PC SHITS and It doesn't have a cooler.......the cooler I'm talking about is that it stands on the northbridge/sothbridge ports in the mobo, just to make it clear.

    thanx for your reply pal.
     
  6. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Unfort. I dont know much about chipset coolers (my weak point).
    It will help your chipset on your mobo last longer due to the less heat.
    However, I am not sure you would see any performance gains.

    Also, another interesting thing that I didnt notice before is that your mobo is PC Chips.
    Their mobos, as you prob. know, are budget mobos and will limit your OC even more.
    I am sorry to tell you that your mobo is partly responsible for your limited OC and there is nothing you can really do to improve it unless you get a new mobo.
    If you happen to be looking for a good OCing one that isnt too expensive look at the Gigabyte DS3 mobo.

    So my suggestion to you is to save your money for a good mobo :)

    PS --> Thanks for the thanks :)
     
  7. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Yeah, I think you're right but in the moment was or buy a PC SHITS or wait "don't know how much" time to save for a DS3 model and of course don't use the PC. Just that mobo is so expensive, here in Mexico cost about 165 bucks the cheaper an with other retailers costs $200 bucks.....damn.

    Well, I think I'll try to save some money to buy a new RAMs or a new mobo....o simply nothing :( , I have a son a wife and a hundred of things to pay for, It sucks me almost all my money, trying to save some for me it's very difficult.....but IT WORTH IT, I LOVE THE PC WORLD.

    Thanx again.
     
  8. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    There are no good online retailers that will ship to Mexico.
    I figured it was more expensive for you.

    Sorry to hear that it cant be much cheaper, but hey at least you have a working computer and not a bad one at that.

    And the computer world is expensive, but it is a great hobby :D
     
  9. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
  10. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
  11. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    That will do the job nicely :p
     
  12. demonbrawn

    demonbrawn New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kentucky

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page