1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How much ram can I put in this laptop? Where can I buy this ram?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by BloodTotal, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    It has 2 memory banks so you can use 4 gig but you will need 2x2 gig ram sticks!!
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  3. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    where do you think I would be able to buy a 320gb sata drive, and how much?

    will any sata drive work, or just a select few?
     
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    It already has a sata drive in it...If you need more harddrive space i would just pick up a external 1!!
    That way you wont void your warranty
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  5. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    I only have 6 months left, and I don't mind that much + I don't want to carry around and external harddrive.

    I found this, is it good?

    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...=False&VendorMark=&Keywords=(keywords)&Page=2

    Is there anything better for the price?
     
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You should be able to go 4gigs and 677 mhz for a little speed increase. I have these in my laptop(it's an HP, but same mem) they has 4-4-4-12 timings at a good price and free shipping.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104033

    They are a little more than others, but like I said lower timings and the free shipping...

    Or maybe someone can find or knows of a deal out there.
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  7. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    thanks, I will try to find that ram on newegg.ca

    how does this harddrive compare to the seagate one? http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136314
     
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  9. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
  10. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
  11. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Its much faster!!
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  12. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    how much difference will the ram make? if I would get higher timings, and maybe 533mhz?
     
  13. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    question. Why do the 320 gb 7200rpm hdds have 16mb cache and the 500gb 5400rpm have 8mb cache?

    oh and second question, will the acer support ddr2 800 memory?

    almost last question: would the hyperx sticks be better than some 800mhz memory?
     
  14. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Get the ram that viper showed you it will be the best for your laptop...
    no it doesnt support 800
     
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Nice drive, If it goes on sale I will probably order one to replace the one in my wife's notebook.

    Size of the drive is not the determining factor for cache size, the engineer and designer made that choice per corporate choice.

    16mb can help the drive find the information it needs easier that 8mb, because 8 holds less pointers and data than 16. As for speed-faster helps it read and access the bits quicker.

    So, with more cache and faster rotational rates = quicker access,lower access times and faster read & writes speeds-Basically.:)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page