1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to boot in DOS?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Flash, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  4. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    That does not work. The create an MS-DOS startup disk is greyed out.

    I do not have an HD flash drive?... And what is the floppy image for?
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Floppy image; To get the needed files to boot into DOS.

    You must format in fat16 or fat32. If you attempt to format in NTFS It probably would be greyed out. Sorry I really can't help further other than this. . . . .

    http://www.bootdisk.com/pendrive.htm Try out method 5.
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You dont need a HP flash drive, any flash drive will do but make sure you format it to fat 32
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thanks for the reply.
    I actually found ultra boot cd from here: http://www.ultrabootcd.com/

    Used their instructions to make a bootable USB http://www.ultrabootcd.com/howto.htm.

    Now, is this the correct boot menu to run my firmware (see screenshot)?
    I'm a bit hesitant since it says Windows 98, and the UBD folder has 1 extra parent folder when I extracted it (like they said in the readme for USB)
    So instead of H:\UBD\Bin it's H:\UBD\UBD\Bin.

    I was under the impression it should've been DOS. So I didn't run the wdidle3 yet like it shows on that screenshot. I don't want to mess up my HDD :/

    Here is the readme .txt

    P.S. The firmware is the W3Idle from Western Digital since apparently their HDD's have the unload cycle every 8 seconds, and besides wearing out, it makes the annoying click sound every 5-8 seconds. Read it can be used for any WD HDD's, so I want to use it on my laptop 160GB WD Scorpio Blue
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 14, 2011
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That is correct screen! :)
     
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,790 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,673
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Windows XP Startup disk. It will require a floppy drive. If you need the files, I can attach them to a future post.


    Edit: Nevermind, looks like you got it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thanks
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page