1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to build key switch for PC

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by michael, Jul 6, 2013.

  1. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    Hi Guys,

    I want to build key switch for my Lan Boy Air yellow.

    Is there any tutorial for that which can help me build it.

    here my matching yellow key switch which I bought today.

    Thanks.

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      196.7 KB
      Views:
      232
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      186 KB
      Views:
      217
  2. Brusfantomet

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    160 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    knowing what kind of switch that key switch is would help.

    A switch to start the computer with is realy simple, they just short the two wiers going into them. The important thing is that a normal on (and reset) switch does not hold the connection, ones you let go they stop shorting the two wiers. So if that key switch works like a lamp switch it will not be optimal.
    michael says thanks.
  3. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    you can see the switch in above picture. It has 3 points, positive , negative and ground.
    However ONE THING I WANT TO KNOW IS THAT RATHER THAN BEING IN MIDDLE OF CONNECTION WIRE ,CAN I DIRECTLY USE KEY SWITCH TO START/SHUTDOWN THE MACHINE?
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You can, but you need to know which connections on the switch are connected when you turn the key. the easiest thing would be to get a key switch with just 2 connections on it, not 3. Then just take the 2 wires off your pc's power button and connect them to the 2 connections on the switch.

    To turn it on, you would turn the key on then off, if you just leave the key switch in the on position, it would be like holding your power button down, which will just shut down the pc.
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
    michael says thanks.
  5. Brusfantomet

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    160 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    was thinking of name, partnumber or a spec sheet. without knowing the function of the switch getting a definitive answer is difficult. IF its a impulse switch it will work, but if not then you either need to be fast every time you turn your computer on, or add some components (a relay, resistor and a condensator should do the job)

    If you can give direct information to witch points are open and witch are cosed at what positions of the key we can help you. Also find out if its a impulse or a hold switch.
    michael says thanks.
  6. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    I suggest you rig up something low wattage to safely test that switch to see which terminals go where. For instance if you have a cheap LED mini flashlight with a tailcap switch you can just unscrew the tail assembly and with wires connected to all three terminals of the switch, try connecting them in different configurations until you find which two turn on the light.

    Then all you need do is trace which two wires connect to the MB PWR +/- pins and your case's current switch. The 3rd terminal you could optionally ground to the case. You may or may not have such a flashlight, but they can be had many places for under $5 and they're very handy to have. For that matter, any flashlight will do, it doesn't have to be a mini LED.
  7. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
    Why do I require resistor?
    below are my switch pics, I first tried with normal LED, it is working fine, when I turn the key led glows and when i turn the key to it original position the led goes off.
    What is impulsive switch, i hope this is impulsive/proper switch .

    So Can I directly use this switch for PC on and off, however for shutdown I am obviously going to use shutdown from menu.

    Attached Files:

  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You don't, use the connections on the switch, that you used to test the led, and connect them to your power switch wires. Remember, you will have to turn the switch on then off to turn your pc on.

    [​IMG]
    michael says thanks.
  9. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    yeah tigger! thanks mate. I think this is going to be very easy now for me to do.
    But I am just thinking about where exactly should I fit this switch on front or on the top.
    I am just looking for the thing where I can fit this key switch, also thinking about glass made front panel with led glowing from side from behind.

    below are my case pics. hope you love it


    Yes, I will remember on then off stuff.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,937
    If you're doing this for security reasons, why not just use a password?
    michael says thanks.
  11. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    No I am doing it for fun, I want to try new things.
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    no. when the switch is on, it is on. i.e. power pin connected to output all times. since power/reset switches are momentary switches, its not possible without some complicated electronics.

    however, if its like those in cars, with ignition via the key fob, it will work. but i think those have another pin .
    michael says thanks.
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I'm guessing that switch works like this-

    [​IMG]

    There is no +/-/ground
    michael says thanks.
  14. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,838 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    894
    michael says thanks.
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,575 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    a car ignition turns then drops back to the original position.

    if i were you, OP, id break the power button cable and use it as a 2point switch that breaks the connection. like an immobiliser.

    otherwise youd have to turn to point X (start) then turn back to original point.

    or if ya wanted to keep that car switch theme, link the key fob to a power/start button like newer cars have.
    michael says thanks.
  16. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    Why not possible? :confused::confused::confused:As I said I will turn the switch ON and then quickly to OFF to start my PC.
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    thats possible, but its not how it should work :p if you can take that key switch apart, its possible to mod it, so that contact is made only at half point during turning. that way, you an turn, but it will see it as only on/off

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page