1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To...Capture, Convert, and Post your PC Game Play Footage II

Discussion in 'Games' started by ChaoticAtmosphere, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I use my screens native res, 1650x1080. I don't have any experience with other resolutions. Experiment and let me know what happens mate! :)
     
  2. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    1024x640 seems to look really good on my latest video, thanks.
     
  3. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Maybe this isn't a big deal, but i notice when uploading videos on youtube, if it takes a while or you just don't feel like waiting at the page , just play some games and i notice it seems to load up quicker.
     
  4. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Question, is there any difference in recording half screen or full screen?
     
  5. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I believe going half-screen reduces quality. I always capture in fullscreen. :)
     
  6. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Quick question, what is a good resolution to upload to youtube?
    Because i use CRT and my desktop resolution & game resolution is 1280x1024, and most of the time i use 1280x720 for youtube, but some folks are saying its looks weird. Now 1280x1024 i recorded look like this:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbCHMnvj0gI

    See the black emtpy spaces on the sides?
    So what is the best resolution , 1024x768 or keep it at 1280x1024 or maybe 1280x960?
     
  7. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    to be honest u2konline, you'd have to experiment. The reason for the black bars on either side is more because of aspect ration more so than resolution...you want a 16:9 Ratio.

    You may be able to capture in your choice of resolution but set the aspect ratio to 16:9 in vitual dub (follow my guide in first post). No guarantee on the results though because I never tried it.
     
  8. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Thanks, feedback later :)
     
  9. albernbowen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is it possible to store game on m3 real card?? i have new m3 real card, still i didn't use it for a single time. Can any suggest me how can i do this with it to convert ma games profiles as well as sources of games on m3 real!!
     
  10. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Your question goes beyond the scope of this thread alber. And perhaps this whole TPU forum. This is a Computer Tech forum. You might want to look towards Nintendo DS support to answer your question. :(
     
  11. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I think what he said was spam trolling :laugh:
     
  12. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I follow your steps , testing on my quad core with flatout 2, file size is around 300MB. This is insane dude lol, hope the quality is better tho, feedback on that laterz.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  13. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,565 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    sub
     
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,190 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    question, can i record more than 30 second in FRAPS
     
  15. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,024 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Get the full version and you'll be able to.
     
  16. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    anybody thought about using livestream? it records as you stream and your vids appear on your livestream page, its a bit limited as you cant put it on your youtube ect, but it cuts out a lot of hassle of capturing/converting/uploading.
    http://www.livestream.com/
     
  17. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    396 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    I just use Xfire to record my game vids. Auto conversion and uploads as well.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  18. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    In High Definition H.263 16:9 aspect ratio for a full 1080p on youtube?
     
  19. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,621 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for this link this will help me alot :toast:

    As i just uploaded a video clip the other day >http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BR_vGokyCvM and i uploaded the full raw file 1.8GB :twitch: took over 24hrs to uploaded :ohwell:

    Now i will be able to cut that upload time down by half :D
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  20. codyjansen

    codyjansen

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    i record with fraps and i set fraps at full size and 60fps. i use a 1440x900 monitor but i play games at 1280x720. then i edit with vegas 9, after effects or premiere
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  21. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.

    Nice video Melvis :)

    Youtube uploads used to be faster until they changed format...I think they capped their upload rate at the same time. A 500 - 600Mb file used to take about 25 minutes and now it takes over an hour....to make things worse, if I play my online game the upload always fails whereas it used to only cause slight loading lag but would still succeed. Bummer.

    60fps is nice....you must have raptor drives. I'd go 60fps too if I had a high speed HDD or even an SSD :drool: But most people use 7200rpm HDD's and 29.97 and full size is pushing the threshold with those types of drives.

    Yes I use premiere elements as well when I want to add a soundtrack to my gameplay...mostly my TrackMania dirt cross team races. But for Crysis and other single player games it's fraps and virtualDub. It's all I need.

    The main reason I put this tutorial together was not just to Capture compress and upload, but to maximize the chances of it being processed by youtube into 720p or 1080p HD.

    I see so many lame gaming videos with low quality....not HD.

    Cheers guys :toast:

    Link me to it when you're done!! :)

    Yes Hayder....if you have the registered version.

    I record my gameplay for have an hour at a time sometimes. Fraps saves the it all in 3.9Gb segments which I append (splice together) using virtual dub. Sometimes up to 4 raw fraps files...total 12gb and VirtualDub compresses them down to 700Mb (approx)
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
    Melvis says thanks.
  22. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,621 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Man :)

    Ahh ok well there you go, i haven't got fast internet speed here cant get it :shadedshu only ADSL 1 so uploads are slow. 1500/256 speed. So even a 600MB file will still take me close to 12hrs :ohwell:

    I need a multi core CPU to record, because when i use Fraps to record my FPS drops to like 20-25frames and starts to look laggy, im just surprised how the AVP turned out, looked smooth thank god lol
     
  23. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,565 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  24. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,832 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,984
    ERazer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    ERazer says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page