1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to change Windows starting sound in Win7?

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by michael, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. michael

    michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    422 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Hi Guys,

    I want to change my Windows Starting Sound and keep Motor accenting sound.
    I am not able to find the proper link to do it.

    Please advise.
  2. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,223 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Right click on your desktop then from the list choose Personalise and this window should open.
    [​IMG]

    If you look at the bottom of my pic you should see the windows sounds option, I have put a red circle round this in the pic.

    Click on sounds and another box will load and here you should have the option to change the startup sound.

    [​IMG]

    You can choose you own sound by using the browse button.

    You can also use the dropdown list to set a windows sound and this should not effect any other sounds as far as i remember.
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,841 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,917
    Location:
    Oregon
    Years ago I use to record my own sounds. Sorry it just reminded me how corny I was
  4. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    yea, that wont work in win 7 that dude.

    you can turn it off or on there, but not change the sound.

    idk where that file is either tbh but i imagine if you renamed the file you want it to play the same it would work if you over right it.
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,841 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,917
    Location:
    Oregon

    Sure you can. See the browse button? Just get any sound you want and attach it to the action you want
  6. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,223 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Sorry your right, i thought windows 7 worked the same as 8 but its totaly different.

    From what i have just been reading you need to edit files in system32 but there is a program called Startup Sound Changer that you can use.

    http://www.sevenforums.com/free-developer-programs-projects/175254-startup-sound-changer.html
    marsey99 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page