1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to connect HD6850 with Analog TV?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ShahJahan, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. ShahJahan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello.

    I wish to connect my HD6850 Graphics card to my old 21.5" TV. The TV has analog TV aerial plug and 3 pin RCA connectors.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    I wish to have both the Audio and Video from the TV. So what do I need to accomplish it? I think only HDMI is able to carry both audio-video signals. So will a cable with HDMI on one end and 3-pin RCA on the other end will give me Audio-Video from my TV? If not, then what else would I need?

    Also, my card's one DVI is used by my PC monitor, so will it be able to use another port for connection? I have heard that some cards are incapable of using both DVI or one DVI and one HDMI at the same time?

    My Specs:
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Link
    Motherboard: ASRock M3A785GXH Link
    GPU: ASUS 1GB 256-bit Radeon HD 6850 DirectCU Link
    RAM: Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 Link


    Thank you for your help.
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,680 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    No. You can't connect a graphics card to an analogue TV unless it has an S-Video socket, and I haven't seen those on graphics cards for yeard.
  3. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    837 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    You are trying to connect digital outputs to analog inputs. This will not work without a converter box. Google "HDMI to composite video converter". They cost around $50 U.S.
  4. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,188 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Keep them ol' S-video cards save cuz you will be missin' them 8)
  5. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    ^This.
    Other options include an adapter or a new TV. Your pick. ;)
    A new TV would be your best long-term choice.
  6. Spectrum

    Spectrum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    No, you can't.. Look at the ports on the 6850.
    JP is right, a new TV would be your best long term choice.
  7. ShahJahan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you for your replies. I guess that buying a new TV with HDMI will be the best option. But it is something I don't wish to do in the near future coz if I'm buying, I'd buy a 47" or bigger and I nether have money, nor space (as of now!) to accommodate it.

    Thanks for the help though :)
  8. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    837 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Actually, I just looked a little more closely at the Asus Direct CU HD6850 video card that I have. One of the two DVI ports is capable of VGA output with a DVI to VGA adapter, which was included with the card. If yours is similar, all you would then need is a simple VGA to composite video adapter.
  9. kohan69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    71 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    just grab any old pci video card with s-video, just make sure its still supported on your current OS (voodoo 2 probably wont work on 7 x64 too easily)
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You can find an old VGA to S-Video/Composite converter and use it in conjunction with a DVI to VGA dongle to connect a video card with a DVI-I port with an analog TV.

    Analog TVs are pretty much useless for computing though. Any text on the screen will be unreadable and littered with dot crawl. An HDTV will work much better.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page