1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to downgrade PCI-E version ? [Radeon HD 7770]

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mr.EVIL, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  2. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    PCI-E version is not your problem. All PCI-E slots are compatible with older versions.
  3. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Well first of it would probably help to know what your motherboard is. Like the model number.
  5. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    The PCI-E will run at 1.0 coz your motherboard does not support 1.1, 2.0 or 3.0 versions so the card runs at the spec of your motherboard, hence they say the cards are backward compatible.
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,421 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Did the artifacts come after you upgraded the BIOS?
  7. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    There are ways to downgrade/roll back to previous BIOS check website for your motherboard
    info and ways to roll back, mostly eg Intel Motherboards use recovery method, i don't know about yours, so check manufacturer website.

    ^
  8. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  9. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,146 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,348
    If it happens in a web browser, disable hardware acceleration in that browser. Update the drivers to the latest might help as well.

    And just in case, check in the BIOS whether the PCI-E bus frequency is at 100 MHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  11. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Well you still havent provided your motherboard version or any details about your system. How do you expect us to help you? :laugh:
  12. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  13. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    So its an Acer pre build. Whats the specs of your power supply. That might be the issue.
  14. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
  15. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  16. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,421 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    That would only reduce the lanes, not change the version.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page