1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to downgrade UEFI to previous Hybrid Bios - Gigabyte

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by brandonwh64, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    *Disclaimer*
    This may or may not work for your board and also MAY work for other board manufacturers but YMMV and I hold no responsibility if it bricks your board. AMIBIOS is what most gigabyte boards use.

    Ok after a near crap experience tonight of wanting to test out gigabytes new UEFI bios for some Z68/P67 boards I wanted to go back to the regular bios. The new UEFI bios was nice but was missing things for OC like LLC, PLL overvolt, and offset voltages. The following steps I had gotten off My Digital Life.

    1. First thing is to goto gigabyte and download the older bios you want
    2. Next is to download the utility above (If link is dead PM me I will upload it for you)
    3. After downloading, extract and find the version for your OS (Win or Win64)
    4. Copy the folder to the root directory of your hard drive ( C:\ )
    5. Extract your bios to this folder as well that you have copied to the root directory of your hard drive
    6. Your bios should look like this "Z68XUD3H.F12" what you need to do is rename it to "1.rom"
    7. Now goto CMD prompt and type without quotes "fptw.exe -f 1.rom" or "fptw64.exe -f 1.rom" whichever OS you have
    8. Let it flash (takes like 2 minutes). Once its completes turn the PC all the way off and cycle power. At this point its fingers crossed to see if it made it.

    TIP* this way of blind flashing only flashes the first bios so it is best that once you get back into the bios, run Qflash and reflash the bios you want so it does both bioses for safety.

    Link to post

    Link to thread

    UPLOADED THE FILE *11/27/2012*
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
    cisco150, jacobxtyler and Law-II say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Just had a PM about this thread, Its quite helpful to those with the later gigabyte Z68 boards that got the transformation bios and does not like it.
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Big thanks for bumping this as I tried to but it wouldn't let me as the thread was older than 145 days :rolleyes: :banghead:

    I am going to try this now as I have the GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 board and the UF1 uefi bios is buggy as hell, conclusion to come (or if it doesn't and I don't post for a while my board is toast :eek: :laugh: )

    Edit: Brandon can you upload the utlity to TPU instead of having to use that crapware download manager in the op?
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would but I am at work and my work blocks mediafire.com
    Once I get home I will upload for you guys.
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Did you download it from the links you posted and with their "download manager"? I will install it if needs must though would rather know it is safe and shitware free before installing it to download the utility :toast:
     
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    UPDATE FOR WIN 7 X64

    Thanks to brandonwh64 for this guide however I had to tweak it slightly for Windows 7 x64 as follows:




    1. First thing is to goto gigabyte and download the older bios you want
    2. Next is to download the utility above (If link is dead PM me I will upload it for you)
    3. After downloading, extract and find the version for your OS (Win64 for Windows 7 x64)
    4. Copy the contents of the folder to C:\Windows\System 32
    5. Extract your bios to C:\Windows\System 32 folder also
    6. Your bios should look like this "Z68XUD3H.F12" what you need to do is rename it to "1.rom"
    7. Now search for CMD prompt from the start menu and right click to run as administrator then type without quotes "fptw64.exe -f 1.rom"
    8. Let it flash (takes like 2 minutes). Once its completes turn the PC all the way off and cycle power. At this point its fingers crossed to see if it made it.
     
    jacobxtyler, Law-II and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA


    Did this method work for you? Also I uploaded the Zip to the OP now using my phone!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    It did when I changed the steps as outlined, also be sure to download the same bios you flash on to a USB drive then run the bios Qflash utility to flash the "dual" bios after you flash in Windows, as the method you posted only flashes the "main" bios.

    Though now i have succesfully downgraded from uefi and I couldn't be happier as my stable 24/7 OC became unstable with the uefi bios and Gigabyte offered no way to downgrade to legacy :shadedshu

    BTW all the kudos goes to you for the guide I just tweaked it though couldn't have done it without the OP :toast:
     
  9. handygrandad

    handygrandad

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you BrandonWH64 ... Thank you ... Thank you ... :clap:

    I have just successfully Downgraded from the Megatrends UEFI BIOS back to the Award F13 BIOS.

    If anyone else is contemplating this ... ... I can offer a little clarification about the CMD prompt that may be helpful:

    When I first opened the CMD prompt window it was showing C:\Users\Username ... and it was necessary to change the directory by entering "cd C:\ and pressing Enter. It was then possible to paste in your instructions, and all went well. (cd is a DOS command for changing directory)

    The alternative instructions offered by NdMk2o1o: to place the files in C:\Windows\System32, will also work if the CMD prompt directory is changed to this location. If you have an "Elevated" command prompt it will open with this location, which is probably how NdMk2o1o came to choose it as an alternative.

    Either way, will work as long as the command prompt is showing the directory address where the files have been placed.

    I would also like to stress the importance of using the QBIOS option once you have accessed the Award BIOS to load the same BIOS again, this will overwrite remnants of the UEFI BIOS that may remain in the second of the Dual Bios chips. I failed to do this first time around and ended up back in the UEFI Bios, which restored itself to both chips ... ... and then I had to start all over again.

    Once again ... Thank You !
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,430 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    Does anyone know of ways to edit AMI Bios's, there was a dude here who did it for awhile, I would love to upgrade my boards BIOS with a few features that just aren't enabled in the stock BIOS.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. handygrandad

    handygrandad

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry to be the bearer of sad tidings ... ... but I have had a problem with my downgrade:

    Initially all was well, and I was really pleased to be back on the Award BIOS. But I started to have problems shutting down, (the PC woul;d restart). After this happened once or twice .... .... a "UEFI" BIOS, error message appeared "The BIOS has been corupted" .... and it proceeded to reload the UEFI BIOS (I don't know where from) ... ... and eventually the UEFI BIOS took over once more !

    When I did the initial downgrade I put all the files in "system32" because I was using an "elevated" command prompt which starts with the System 32 address, but I now I wonder if this might have something to do with the reappearance of the UEFI.

    So, this time I have put all the files in C drive, as per the original instructions. My thinking is that, maybe there are elements of the UEFI that are stored on drive C and these are removed when the downgrade program is run ... and maybe it has to be run in drive C in order to remove the UEFI.

    Only time will tell ... ... ... and if I'm wrong, and that pesky UEFI raises it's head again , I will be wanting to know where the UEFI files ARE stored so that I can delete them next time around.

    Any info would be apreciated, and I will keep you updated on developments.

    Handygrandad
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,911 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,357
    I heard about these bios 'hacks' back when i was on an Asus Z68 bios - Asus released a bad bios update and it messed about with my voltages so i had no choice but to run at lower clocks. I was really interested but it seems that it was more of a 50/50 chance of it working successfully without any problems. 1 guy had it working fine but the others had issues even though it seemed to work perfectly at first. I think i came across it somewhere over at Hardforums. the other people who had flashed successfully but had issues was asking the OP for more proof that the downgrade worked but the OP never came back or replied with such information.

    I think there are some malicious trolls out there who jump into forums for no other reason then to fuck with other people. Luckily only 3 or 4 people over at [H] tried the downgrade but who knows how many 'guests' found the page on google and borked their motherboard because of it.


    Im not callin you a troll brandon - you know i love you like a bro (nohomo) but I seen shit like this happen too many times.
     
  13. handygrandad

    handygrandad

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    A further update

    Having successfully downgraded (again) I was particularly concerned to reduce the risk of the UEFI BIOS reinstating itself (see my previous post).

    I had previously assumed that installing a copy of the BIOS file from a USB stick, using QBIOS, after downgrading was a means of updating the second BIOS chip, I was wrong ! ... ... although there may be some benefit in this action, it does not copy the BIOS into the 2nd BIOS chip.

    So, it's possible that there were remnants of the UEFI BIOS left in the 2nd BIOS chip which led to the later surprise resurection of the UEFI BIOS.

    I have since discovered that there is a method for copying the BIOS (and any configurations you may have made) to the 2nd BIOS chip.

    1) First ensure that you have a stable BIOS that is configured for your system ... I am thinking particularly of settings unique to your operating system like the "first boot" drive and where a PCI graphics card has replaced the onboard graphics.

    2) Start the boot sequence and hold down the Alt and F12 key, eventually you will get an onscreen message regarding the copying of the existing BIOS to the backup BIOS chip (this took me more than one attempt, as I was not sure at what exact point the keys needed to be released). Folllow the instructions and when complete, restart or turn off the power.

    .... .... .... .... and ... ... at the time of writing all seems stable and I have back all the functionality of the original Award BIOS (F13)

    Will post with any new developments.
     
  14. jacobxtyler New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you to everyone in this thread. I upgraded to the wrong bios for a different revision of my board a few years back and have been searching ever since to get it back to it's most current, not UEFI bios and this finally did the trick!

    Mine did the same thing, but when it loaded the backup bios it was the F8 that i had flashed from windows. Idk if it had to do with the Qflash that i did of the same F8 bios or not, but its running the right one and im a happy camper.
     
  15. cisco150 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank bud I been dying to rowback my bios on my z68 board and u gave me great info thanks, I'm back doing what I do best
     
  16. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    710 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Rīga
    I used my raspberry Pi SPI flash... simply got the IC. backuped vital info like MAC etc serial rubbish with FTK, and flashed the IC completely...
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page