1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. tyrael64 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    unlocked one ok
    now i need to try it

    thanks santa!


    update: apparently works well
    Now I'll have to upgrade The other

    is already overcloked the bios right?
    figure that is already running at 880 and 1350

    update: playing stacraft 2 10min with the crossfire, computer shut down and the cooler of the vga go 100%
    i dink too hot
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Try underclocking back down to 6950 speeds?
  3. tyrael64 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i leave the clocks the same, but increase the fan speed, and apparently was corrected
    There is one card that is very close to the other and becomes very hot
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
  4. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I have a Sapphire HD 6950 and got a "Could not erase ROM" message.

    Used the "atiwinflash -unlockrom 0 followed by atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.bin" method it worked.

    Before and after pictures attached.

    Attached Files:

  5. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    $293 free shipping at Amazon (no tax in CA) for Sapphire and HIS versions...

    Why did I get that silly 6870? It's straight to Ebay for that card...
  6. my_name_is_earl

    my_name_is_earl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Grand Prairie Texas
    So after this card is flash to hd6970. I should always stick with hd6970 driver from now on?
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    it's the same driver
  8. vvulture

    vvulture New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Tried this with my 6950's... Both of them Sapphire and now working as 6970's..
    Benchmark results confirm much improvement...

    Cheers :cool:
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,648 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    Wow
  10. Tifone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Hey guys! I have a Sapphire 6970 now. If i buy a 6950 flash the bios to a 6970 can I use it in CrossFireX with my existing card without problem? What do you think?
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    yep, should work fine
  12. Tifone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Nice, thank you so much! I'm ordering a 6950 now :rockout:
  13. aquax New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    141 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Nice, but will the pci-e molex 6pin + 6pin differ than the 6pin + 8 pin?
    dual 6 pins on the 6950 are enough to use same 6970 specification for long time without issue?
  14. Tifone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Oh My I didn't think about it!!!
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    i updated the article about 2 hours ago with power consumption testing
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
    easyrider says thanks.
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    updated the article with link to easy to use flashing tools that also includes the right build of GPU-Z
    easyrider says thanks.
  17. easyrider New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nice work W1zzard :)


    Can I just clarify that running +20 is fine for gaming and benching on a day to day basis.

    I have a 620w Enermax Liberty PSU
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    it's slightly over the spec, but in my well educated opinion that's perfectly safe.
  19. voro12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If u got an Asus 6950 and mod it into an 6970, will you lose the Asus Voltage Tweak tool since you swich bios?
  20. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    yes, use the ASUS 6970 bios from the vga bios collection in that case
  21. ranom New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks W1zzard, I've just tried the flash_to_6970 batch file and found it to work with my XFX HD6950! (it was locked. I did get confused for a sec when it told me to switch to the "2" position just a typo, right?)
    I've yet to test for artifacts, but I'll test it to see how it goes.

    Besides the power consumption concern, I'm wondering how the HD6950's stock cooler will hold up. The ones on the 6970 do have a slightly larger fan, am I right?
  22. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    665 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Toronto
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    typo indeed. thanks for bringing it up. i fixed it in the download :)
  24. easyrider New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I really hope this flash is successful 24/7 its still early days on what if any problems may arise
  25. B1gD4ddy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    because of that nice "feature", I'm thinking about buying a 6950 and unlock it to a 6970.

    Now my question, can I use a 6970 together with my 5870 in crossfire ?

    And finally, do you know where I can find a recent "crossfire yes/no matrix picture" ?

    Thanks a lot !

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page