1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to enable SATA-II and SLI on NForce4

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Jun 30, 2005.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2005
  2. XeoNoX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if this will work with the ECS NFORCE4-A939, or is this mod just for DFI boards in specific?
  3. Andi64 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The Chaintech VNF4 and VNF4-Ultra both have the same PCB. Can I unlock SATA-2 features in the nForce4 non ultra VNF4?
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    this will work on any board which uses the nforce 4 chipset
  5. t_ferenc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hungary
    hi!

    having read this article about enabling sata2 mode on nf4 chips i began to wander whether i can do the same with my abit an8 mobo. i know guys, w1zzard already said it is possibble on all nf4 chip motherbaords.

    my next question is: will this mod turn my an8 into a an8 ultra?
  6. Dynamic Guest

    So has anyone tried it on an "DFI Lan Party UT nF4-D" yet? What happen to this thread? I have a pair of BH-5 Chips i want to run along with SLI here soon and i was wondering if this board is worth getting for $115 that will work with SLI-MODE?
  7. mydumpstinks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    From memory not sure if this is true for all sata 2 hd, but im sure the hitachi sata 2 drives ship without sata2 enabled, i had to download hitachi Feature Tool (v2.00) to go into the hd and enable sata2, http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/download.htm feature tool is 3\4 down the page, i know it reads my seagate drive settings also, so maybe worht having a look at your own drive settings, dont change what you dont know tho :)
  8. ebuprofen

    ebuprofen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Estonia, Tallinn
  9. XeoNoX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the glare is so bright, its hurting my eyes!!!!1
  10. ebuprofen

    ebuprofen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Estonia, Tallinn
    Can anyone tell me, if its possible to enable sata-2 on my chipset:confused:
  11. S3phy

    S3phy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    I just tried the SATA-II mod on my Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 (based on a cheap nForce4-4x chipset) and it works great :D

    Before :
    [​IMG]

    After :cool: :
    [​IMG]

    (Sorry for bringing up such an old topic :roll: )
  12. TikiZombie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    anyone have any tips where I can find these connector on my ECS Nforce4-a939

    I'm assuming/hoping it's on the same side as the expansions slots, but I'm not seeing the chip with the nvidia logo, so I'm having trouble locating these things.

    Any help is appreciated, thank you.
  13. XeoNoX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    on the ECS NFORCE4 a939 unless you have one of the boards that came out within the 1st couple weeks then the rest of the chips on the board they seem to have covered it in some kinda of thin layering, and if you attempt to scratch it off then you might risk damaging the board when you attempt to scratch off the thin layer coating.

    THe solder points on the A939 are not in plane sight like some of the other boards. oh well, what do you expect for a cheappy board.
  14. TikiZombie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply on this somewhat outdated thread.
    Oh well, perhaps too much trouble for now, I wouldn't want to damage my current setup.

    Perhaps when I make my next build I'll try fooling around with it:D
  15. the_nux New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how about bios?

    how about the bios? are we must update the bios?
  16. XeoNoX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no
  17. progdrums New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Peeps
    Man Im glad I found this thread. Im getting poor SATAII speeds also and would like to ask WIzzard A question. Does this mod also apply to the Nvidia Professional chipset? I have a Tyan Tiger S2877ANRF Motherboard.
  18. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    just had a look at my msi k8n neo4, seems to have those contacts sealed,

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  19. XeoNoX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea they got smart and started sealing them with some kind of clear/semi transparent coating.
  20. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    iv managed to get around that prob,
    used a small drill bit, an a portable soldering iron,
    sata2 wasnt enabled but it is now,
    QuarterMain says thanks.
  21. QuarterMain New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    CARLISLE,SOUTH CAROLINA
    spud i have the neo4-f(blk pcb rev1) were u able to just melt away the coating that was sealing it or what?gonna yank the hs off this board as its just sitting and i wanna try this out:)
  22. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    used one of these drill bits from an ink refill kit,
    carefully drilled just enough to expose a small part of the solder underneath, or an art knife could do it, jus be careful scraping off the resin,
    then quickly put a bit of solder on it, not sure if the resin melted though,
    edit - while soldering there was a bit of white residue coming off the resin, looked a lot like what superglue does so i think it could be a similar substance.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2008
  23. QuarterMain New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    CARLISLE,SOUTH CAROLINA
    thxs for the info spud, so happens i have one of those bits and an art knife in my poss. i got the hs off and it looks like its gonna work( if i dont bugger it up) funny thing is it looks like the sli bridges have been sealed( same as the pics) but theres only 1 pcix slot on this board? so thay just started sealing the chips altogether? or is there some magical way im unaware of to make this an sli board?prob not im sure but i had to ask:D
  24. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    on my board theres a 16x, 1x an an open ended x4 pcie, iv tested my gfx in the x4 an it worked fine, only tested 3dm01 though, not sure how sli would perform with a x16/x4 config.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2008
  25. TomFred New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    good source

    good source, dude
    thanks for sharing

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page