1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    it doesn't solve the problem with windows x32
     
  2. hansiii New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you use the "Win7Loader" here also??
     
  3. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    of course he does. otherwise you can't boot because of hal and ntoskrnp have a signing that isn't in the system.
     
  4. hansiii New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think he means the "Loader" to emulate a OEM-BIOS to bypass the MS-activation!
    I asked, because maybe this is the problem?! :eek:
     
  5. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    i see.
    it's not a problem.
    Win7Loader starts before boot sector of windows starts
    do all operations with acpi table and load original boot sector into memory
    and jump to it
     
    elbolo says thanks.
  6. whb86615 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I actually use the win7loader,but it's all right
     
  7. elbolo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :rockout: It works!

    thanks again to all that made this possible!

    my system: asus maximus formula II + q6600 + 2 x nvidia gtx260

    my method starting from a clean win7 x64 system:

    1) disable UAC
    reboot
    2) install driver 195,62
    reboot
    3) copy sli patch 4.2 directory on my desktop then launch "InstallSLI.cmd" as administrator
    4) close the dos box
    5) manually copy "halsli.dll" "ntoskrnp.exe" "osloadw7.exe" into c:/windows/system32 directory, then verify.
    6) install and launch "easy BCD" and check that the entry n.1 will load osloadw7.exe

    Entry #1
    Name: Windows 7 SLIEnabled x64
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\osloadw7.exe
    Windows Directory: \Windows

    7) reboot ---> all work, almost for me


    WARNING
    the dafault crack used by extreme loader 3.118 will not work together with the sli patch.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2010
  8. Goonit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    anatolymik; Could this problem be caused by not running correct ACPI setting within BIOS/updated driver within Windows?

    I know I ran into this problem of "endless repair" with Win7 x64 because I didn't install the ACPI drivers from Windows Update, IIRC. Didn't get this problem until I forgot to Windows Update and install those ACPI drivers..

    I've ended up inserting the SLI cert into my P5Q bios.. but NOW there's not even a need for SLI insertion.. you're just too good anatolymik. :toast:
     
  9. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    I think not
     
  10. Goonit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What do you think it is then?

    How can my problem be explained? I did everything the same way which I've done numerous times without issue, but missed the one step of installing the ACPI 2.0 drivers.
     
  11. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    ok. when the loader go to repair?
     
  12. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    by the way, make sure you have acpi 2.0 installed in BIOS
     
  13. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
  14. Regamaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi anatolymik, I've been trying to get SLI working on my AMD setup for days without any success. I've tried many tutorials which resulted in either SLI not enabling or it being unstable (BSOD's on boot and in gameplay.)

    My setup specs are:
    Windows 7 x64
    MSI 790FX-GD70 SB-750
    2x Galaxy GTS 250 512MB

    Can you please tell me exactly what I need to do step-by-step to help me successfully achieve SLI? Thank you.
     
  15. Mashuga New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Run the patch linked above, reboot into "Windows 7 x64 SLI-Enabled" and install the 195.xx drivers. (don't have to remove old ones, just run the installer and repair if it bitches about having the same version installed already)

    With Windows 7 loading everything in user-mode, you won't have to reboot after installing the drivers, just check the nVidia Control Panel for SLI availability.
     
  16. Regamaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so I've ran the SLI v0.5 for Win7 x64 patch several times but I'm not getting the "Windows 7 SLIEnabled x64" choice at all after reboot. I have boot logging enabled in advanced system settings and I even went into msconfig/boot tab and my original Windows 7 os is the only listing there. Any ideas? Thank you for the reply.
     
  17. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    what kind of BSOD's it was
     
  18. Regamaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Most BSODs: nvlddmkm.sys (during boot/gameplay)
    Once BSODs: dxgmmx1.sys, 0x0000001E and 0x0000007F

    Just to be clear I can assure this is not a hardware issue since I'm currently not overclocked and have stress tested all my hardware and haven't recieved any errors before trying to enable SLI.
     
  19. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    ok. now i'm working on SLIPatch 0.6. wait for a while please
     
  20. Mashuga New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Windows-Key + R will open the run-prompt; type 'cmd', press enter.

    Run these commands:
    bcdedit >blah.txt
    notepad blah.txt

    Copy/Paste everything in the newly opened Notepad window and paste here so we can get a look at your boot config? ^^;
     
  21. Regamaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here it is. I don't know if this helps but with the previous attempts to enable SLI I used SLIStringInstaller v1.81 and v2.0 with new and old drivers. Right now I have driver 195.62 Win7 x64 installed since you guys say it works. Thank for the help, I will wait for replies.

     
  22. benjounou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    no problems with SLIPatch v0.5.
    no crash.
    all good for me.
    thanks a lot anatolymik.
     
    anatolymik says thanks.
  23. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    Helps to know what OS & system spec you used.
    It can be added to the database & will help others.
    It would be nice if everyone would include these when they post it works.

    Thanks.
     
  24. Triton.se

    Triton.se New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Anyone else can reproduce this driver crash (SLI Hack 195.62, W7 x64, P45 mobo)?

    Moving around EVGA Precision app (tested v1.9, also older v1.60) on desktop makes the crash, GPU1 clocks stuck on 3D Low Perf, GPU2 clocks working normally (maybe stuck on 3D Perf)

    [​IMG]

    195.62 vs 190.62
    CPU-z shows my real chipset string "P45/P43", also CPU-z shows memory timings (with 190.62 SLI Hack: no timings visible, and X58 chipset reported) - is this normal?

    Have been moving around notepad and CPU-z windows...no driver crashes...with EVGA Precision it takes only few moves, and it crashes driver 100% sofar...

    Installed 195.62 SLI Hack last night, tested few games (MW2, GRAW2, L4D2) all was looking good until I was about to take a screenie of CPU-z, EVGA app etc :D (gotta move the apps close to eachother, pixel by pixel)

    My install method was as described at http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30
    Code:
    Section F. Windows 7 64-bit, method 2, SLI patch 0.2
    
    Step 1 Download SLI String installer v.2.0 and unpack in to folder on HDD. Run slistringinstall.exe.
    Step 2 Press ASUS, regardless of real motherboard, to patch Windows registry with SLIC certificate
    Step 3 Disable UAC
    Step 4. Download SLI patch tool v0.2 for Windows 7 64bit, and unpack it to folder.
    Step 5. Enter command prompt with administrator rights and run InstallSli.cmd. To undo all changes to system enter prompt and run UninstallSli.cmd. After reboot SLI must work.
    but with few more install/uninstall/reboots coz I already had slistring installed. Should have a total sli hack wipe before each new sli hack install?


    EDIT ///

    I get same crash even after uninstalling SLIpatch/SLIstring, when no sli option is available/visible in win7 boot/nvidia cpl.
    Dito with 195.81 driver, withing 30secs of moving evga precision: driver crash
    So, I've re-installed the sli hack and using latest beta 195.81, sli indicates working (even tho no "SLI Capable" popped up..i guess it comes next reboot...) - no popup, but SLI working in L4D2, just tested.

    maybe I should uninstall evga precision :D or post it in evga forum...

    EDIT ///

    All seems OK now. I googled "kernel evga precision driver" and saw ppl with similar probs, one got the crash by changing wallpaper...so that's what I did: changed wallpaper and 30-45sec of moving around evga app resulted in no crash.

    Fully working, trouble free SLI GTX260 with 195.81 on P45 :D :toast: :respect: With fresh drivers (vs the 5 months old 190.62), don't have to worry about nvidias or atis new gpus :D I'll try to keep my SLI till summer/vacation 2010 :D
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
  25. oiluj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I experience the same "driver crash" as Triton.se, and it seems to appear randomly.

    It appears under Vista x64, with SLIPatch 0.42, on an Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (chipset P35) with two 8800GT.

    I haven't tried SLIPatch 0.50 fot Win7 x64 yet. Is there a SLIPatch 0.50 for Vista x64 ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page