1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. Tynecider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Magic:D
    phanbuey says thanks.
  2. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    OMG OMG OMG OM GOM GOMGOMGOMGOGMOGMO

    LOl... I want to try this... been meaning to move away from the 750i for too long lol.
  3. lAin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well done sveetsnelda, nice u got it working :D
  4. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    :respect: Respect,man. I always was sure it's possible. And now that day come real. :D

    Code:
    8086:0041 Intel Clarkdale PCI Express x16 Root Port
    8086:0043 Intel	Clarkdale Secondary PCI Express Root Port
    8086:0045 Intel	Arrandale PCI Express x16 Root Port
    8086:0047 Intel	Arrandale Secondary PCI Express Root Port
    8086:3400 Intel 5520/5500/X58 I/O Hub to ESI Port
    8086:3401 Intel 5520/5500/X58 I/O Hub to ESI Port
    8086:3402 Intel 5520/5500/X58 I/O Hub to ESI Port
    8086:3403 Intel 5500 I/O Hub to ESI Port
    8086:25d8 Intel S5000PSLSATA Server Board
    8086:2774 Intel 955X Memory Controller Hub
    8086:2775 Intel 955X PCI Express Root Port
    8086:277c ASUS P5WDG2 WS Professional motherboard
    8086:2779 Intel E7230/3000/3010 PCI Express Root Port
    8086:277a Intel 975X/3010 PCI Express Root Port
    8086:27c1 Intel DeskTop Board D975XBX
    8086:277d Intel 975X PCI Express Root Port
    8086:27c3 Intel DeskTop Board D945GTP
    8086:29a0 Intel P965/G965 Memory Controller Hub
    8086:29a1 Intel P965/G965 PCI Express Root Port
    8086:29d0 Intel Q33 Express DRAM Controller
    8086:29d1 Intel Q33 Express PCI Express Root Port
    8086:29e0 Intel 82X38/X48 Express DRAM Controller	
    8086:29e1 Intel 82X38/X48 Express Host-Primary PCI Express Bridge	
    8086:29e4 Intel 82X38/X48 Express MEI Controller	
    8086:29e5 Intel 82X38/X48 Express MEI Controller	
    8086:29e6 Intel 82X38/X48 Express PT IDER Controller	
    8086:29e7 Intel X38/X48 Express Serial KT Controller	
    8086:29e9 Intel X38/X48 Express Host-Secondary PCI Express Bridge
    8086:29f0 Intel 3200/3210 Chipset DRAM Controller
    8086:29f1 Intel 3200/3210 Chipset Host-Primary PCI Express Bridge
    8086:2e00 Intel 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller
    8086:2e01 Intel 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port
    8086:2e11 Intel 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port
    8086:2e20 Intel 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller
    8086:2e20 Intel 4 Series Chipset PCI-Express Root port
    8086:2e21 Intel 4 Series Chipset PCI-Express Root port
    8086:2e22 Intel 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
    8086:2e23 Intel 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
    8086:2e29 Intel 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port
    8086:2e31 Intel 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port
    8086:2e41 Intel 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port
    8086:3700 Intel Jasper Forest DMI
    8086:3721 Intel Jasper Forest PCI Express Root Port 1
    8086:3722 Intel Jasper Forest PCI Express Root Port 2
    8086:3723 Intel Jasper Forest PCI Express Root Port 3
    8086:3724 Intel Jasper Forest PCI Express Root Port 4
    8086:3a16 Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS5 Motherboard
    8086:3a22 ASUS P5Q Deluxe Motherboard
    8086:3a22 Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS5 Motherboard
    8086:4000 Intel 5400 Chipset Memory Controller Hub
    8086:4001 Intel 5400 Chipset Memory Controller Hub
    8086:4003 Intel 5400 Chipset Memory Controller Hub
    8086:4021 Intel 5400 Chipset PCI Express Port 1
    8086:d138 Intel Clarksfield/Lynnfield PCI Express Root Port 1
    8086:d139 Intel Lynnfield PCI Express Root Port 2
    8086:d13a Intel Clarksfield/Lynnfield PCI Express Root Port 3
    8086:d13b Intel Lynnfield PCI Express Root Port 4
    
    AMD 760G 1002:9616
    AMD 780E 1002:9615
    Hope this help :)
    BTW, after work done, can we make some work to support any OS for SLI? E.g. under Win2003 no SLI available even on "certified" mobos. Or it's MS limitation.?

    If you need betatesters, count me in. :eek:
  5. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Thanks for the hardware IDs!

    Interesting... I didn't know that they did this. I doubt it's an OS limitation, really. Windows 2003 is just a modified XP kernel, as far as I'm aware. In fact, I'll bet that the driver actually enables SLI capability when it boots on 2k3, but the nvidia control panel just wont give you the option to enable it.
  6. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    You welcome. We are all wishing to try non legal SLI, so when you will be ready for public testing, be sure, there woun't be lack of beta testers :D

    I'll post ID's for NVIDIA and ATI chipset's bit later.

    BTW, I got an idea.

    What if...we just make software, like own control panel for NV cards. Just forget about all limitations of native control panel, and just use our own to enable whatever we want. Or it's too complex?
  7. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Dont worry so much about the chipset IDs quite yet... I may not end up needing them anymore. I'll let you know.
  8. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    No problem. I was talking earlier about sending to driver always correct strings, for example X58, whatever chipset we have physically onboard. It's most easy for users, if it's possible to do without lots of coding.
  9. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    This is great news! :rockout::respect: I can't wait to test this..
    I been wanting to try sli for months.
    I been asking firewings for his hack ever since the post about it.
    Seems they have there own little circle of sharing over there.

    If you don't want to post this in open forum, please PM me with any details or files I can test this with.
    I can be trusted to keep it among us if you wish.
    I have Abit IX38 & 2x 260GTX I would like to test with to start out.
    If I can get ahold of a tri bridge I can test tri config with 3x 260GTX's.
    I only have a single sli bridge at the moment.
    Here is the setup I will be testing with.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  10. EGOvoruhk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sweet! When do you think you'll be able to release something public?

    I actually almost pulled the trigger right on a 780i board on Friday, but held off because of this thread, and I'm glad I did. Now I'm going to pick up a P45 (GA-EP45-UD3P) board, which will play much nicer with OSx86

    Also, I assume this is pretty much a permanent solution, right? I mean anything Nvidia did to thwart this, would screw with x58 SLI users, no?
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    TBH, until G300 comes out I wouldnt even bother switching different driver revisions.

    Also congrats sveet for the great update! :)
  12. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    EGOvoruhk

    NV still can add extra checks and more complex routines/encryption in later videodrivers, to protect future platforms, and the story with reverse coding by enthusiasts will start again :D
    But yes, I see no harm if patch will be available public. Except legal stuff of course, but thats another story, not for techical people.
  13. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Got it working without the debugger!!!!

    Who's first? Where should I host this thing?

    I'm still working on a cleaner solution, but currently you'll still need a valid X58 SLIC embedded into ACPI (and the SLIC *needs* to match your motherboard's manufacturer. I can fix this later). For instance, the SLIC I'm using is:

    Code:
    987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS MAXIMUS II FORM3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
    The "ASUS" part of the string *Has* to match your manufacturer. It's case sensitive, also. Put them in CAPS. It's compared with strings embedded in the driver.

    The "MAXIMUS II FORM" part of the string can be whatever you want. It's not checked against anything. Just make sure the length of the SLIC stays the same.
    TheWolf says thanks.
  14. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Thewolf, can you please let the people at expreview know what's going on? I had been watching that forum before and there were plenty of people waiting. I don't speak Chinese.
    TheWolf says thanks.
  15. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    I'm 1st lol.... :eek:;):D

    I can let them know if you you really want me too.
  16. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Oh... I couldn't really translate it very well. I didn't know they were being rude.

    Again, I don't have a place to host this file. I either need a place to put it, or a PM with an email address.
    TheWolf says thanks.
  17. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    sveetsnelda

    I'm second :D
    Check PM for mail. Also I can host everything needed, i have private secure server.
    TheWolf says thanks.
  18. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Snagged 19163 3DMarks on a pair of 9800GTX+'s. Not too shabby. :) (3dmark06)
    TheWolf says thanks.
  19. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    This is a photo file place, its free & I have hosted files there: http://www.myalbumbank.com/index.php not sure of the file size limit tho.
    I've host a few files around a MB or so there.
  20. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    PM sent..
  21. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Hopefully everyone knows this is the **XP** 32 bit driver I patched. I'll be working on the Vista/Windows 7 driver tomorrow. It should be easily patched (now that I know what I'm looking for).
    TheWolf says thanks.
  22. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    sveetsnelda

    XP 64bit too please :eek:
  23. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    Cool sounds great.
    I use to host a FTP, but thet was some time ago.
  24. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    The 2x 260GTX are on a W7 64 bit system at the moment, but I can setup a dual boot system with XP 32 bit,NAP.
  25. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    BTW, For 100% clarify:

    I have gigabyte mobo here to test, so I must plase

    "GIGABYTE whatever string"
    or just
    "GIGA model name text" (just 4 letters?)

    ?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page