1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. soundood New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
    no not from an image, as the OS was installed when ACPI 2.0 was not active, also i am sure you need updates too
  2. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ACPI 2.0 Support enable
    ACPI APIC Support enable
    instal windows 7 64
    UAC desactivé
    reboot
    install drivers 260.99
    reboot
    install patch 0.9 (Downloaded directly in the signature of anatolymik)
    reboot 1 : no sli :(
    reboot 2 : no sli :(
    reboot 3 : no sli :(

    What update :confused:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  3. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    lajarnette can you do something for me to help you?
  4. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    he means the windows updates i guess.
    regarding the hack i can say, that if it doesnt even work with win7x64, and older drivers (if older drivers work, your problem may be not related to your board), your board may be one of the few candidates our there that is not SLI capable
  5. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    yes , what ?
    anatolymik says thanks.
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    not to sound like a racist or some asshole:
    learn enough english to be able communicate with him :)
    sorry to say that to you, but your english sucks even more than mine, and im german;)
  7. DroneHive New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Updating, new patch installs now (don't have the perma "need to reboot" any more).

    Couldn't get SLI to be recognized though. Tried about every configuration of the 4 16x PCI ports on the board that the SLI bridge could manage. Both cards seen and working on the 260.99, just no SLI. Might have a faulty SLI bridge, maybe, will test again when I get my hands on a new one.
  8. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    i need dump from your motherboard. later i'll send you PM. thanks
    lajarnette says thanks.
  9. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    do you have installed windows xp?
  10. DroneHive New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm using windows 7 x64, you mean I need a fresh installation ?
  11. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    i remember you have no issues on windows xp. am i right?
  12. DroneHive New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Never tried xp on this machine, last time I installed one was couple of years ago (too hard to find drivers in XP 64). You must be thinking of someone else ?
  13. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    :)ok thank you anatolymik :respect:
  14. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    what your system specs?
  15. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    i sent you pm
  16. DroneHive New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Supermicro X8DTG-QF. Dual 480. Drivers 260.99 on Win 7 Pro 64. The new SLIPatch installed this time and created a SLI boot entry. But Nvidia drivers don't show SLI configuration options (usual PhysX dual card non-SLI options). Both cards are seen and working, just not SLI. Since the mobo doesn't come with a SLI bridge I use one I ordered separatly, so maybe it is the problem, will try with another when I can get one. Tried all configurations of bridge connection (both sides and connectors) and of the 4 available 16x PCI slots on the boards but same results.

    Also I'm getting freezes and blue screens in the SLI boot that I don't get in the "normal" boot, so the patch did something, just not what was expected ;)
  17. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    it's driver
    did you have sli on this mobo?
  18. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    damn you have server motherboard. can you make dump for me?
  19. DroneHive New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    here it is (currently booted on the non SLI option)

    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    identifier {bootmgr}
    device partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume1
    description Windows Boot Manager
    locale en-US
    inherit {globalsettings}
    default {default}
    resumeobject {66d2db98-e938-11df-a341-ad6456cdc2f1}
    displayorder {current}
    {66d2db9c-e938-11df-a341-ad6456cdc2f1}
    {default}
    toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
    timeout 30
    displaybootmenu Yes

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier {current}
    device partition=C:
    path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description Windows 7
    locale en-US
    inherit {bootloadersettings}
    recoverysequence {66d2db9a-e938-11df-a341-ad6456cdc2f1}
    recoveryenabled Yes
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \Windows
    resumeobject {66d2db98-e938-11df-a341-ad6456cdc2f1}
    nx OptIn

    Real-mode Boot Sector
    ---------------------
    identifier {66d2db9c-e938-11df-a341-ad6456cdc2f1}
    device partition=C:
    path \NST\AutoNeoGrub0.mbr
    description Ubuntu Linux

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier {default}
    device partition=C:
    path \windows\system32\osloadw7.exe
    description Windows 7/2008R2 SLIPatch x64
    locale en-US
    inherit {bootloadersettings}
    recoverysequence {66d2db9a-e938-11df-a341-ad6456cdc2f1}
    recoveryenabled Yes
    nointegritychecks Yes
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \Windows
    kernel ntoskrnp.exe
    hal halsli.dll
    resumeobject {66d2db98-e938-11df-a341-ad6456cdc2f1}
    nx OptIn
  20. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    i need different dump this time
  21. DroneHive New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Oh, sure, just tell me what you need and I'll send that.
  22. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    i sent you pm
  23. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    about your problem. you have a server motherboard. i'll try something.
  24. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    lajarnette i forgot. what your system configuration. you must have sli works
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  25. YukonCornelius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    New patch Version?

    Sort of on-topic/off-topic here... is there a patch version in the works that will support driver version 262.99? I recently upgraded to a pair of 580's and 260.99 and prior did not see them as recognizable hardware. Had to DL the 262.99 drivers....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page