1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. moofree New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'd like to report success with slipatch and a big bang fuzion, but in the strangest way.

    I have an identical setup to this one with two 1gb gtx 460's and have been trying unsuccessfully to get slipatch to work with it since i got it a couple months ago...

    I had no success with the 1.0 version until I uninstalled it.
    Once I uninstalled slipatch 1.0, I was able to enable SLI. I disabled hydralogix from its control panel, enabled sli from nvidia, and it's working!

    No crashes yet, but I've "only" played for 30 minutes with SLI on. edit2: bsod's
    This computer was actually running for a few days since I uninstalled slipatch with no problems, I just hadn't checked nvidia control panel after i uninstalled it.
    I just rebooted and sli is still available so it seems permanent. The slipatch entry is gone from the boot manager, so that part got removed i guess...

    I guess this may be considered a bug report, since apparently the uninstall script isn't firing off right or something... but it worked out well for me :cool:

    I'm running win7 x64, 260.99 drivers

    edit: just ran everest and under acpi dsdt/nvidia sli I see
    "443817712091Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for MSI P55 GD80 0101-Copyright 2009 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-876112936219(R)"

    edit #2
    I spoke too soon, just got a blue screen of death exiting counterstrike source
    It was playing almost perfectly at 300fps, only crashed when I exited :)

     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  2. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    you have sli capable system. what for the patch you need?
     
  3. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well, I just wanted to say Thanks to Atnatolymik for all the great work in doing the SLIPatch.

    I am moving on, having pulled the dual GTX280 setup out of my sons Crosshair III Formula setup in lieu of a more AMD-friendly 4870x2 card (which I will probably crossfire with another in a year or so).

    I have built my son an i7 rig with an x58 chipset which is SLI-capable already, so no more SLIPatch and games from nVidia for me.

    I will say that I have really grown to despise nVidias marketing practices and have little faith in them doing the right thing with future drivers (including hamstringing older cards by now allowing newer driver innovations to be backwards compatible for the sole purpose of selling more new cards).

    As it is I have the following, thus I will be stuck dealing with nVidia for a while, but I am really hoping AMD gets thier act together on thier cards and crossfire.

    Hardware running in our house:

    Server rig:
    Mobo: Foxconn Destroyer (nVidia 780a)
    Video: Built-in 780a video in Hybrid-SLI with dual 9800GTX cards (allows me to fully power off the 9800GTXs when not needed)
    Proc: AMD Phenom 9950BE @ 3.0Ghz
    Ram: 8gb DDR2 1066

    My rig:
    Mobo: Asus Rampage III Extreme
    Video: Dual GTX480s SLI (oc'd past 580 levels)
    Proc: Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4.2GHz
    Ram: 12gb DDR3 1600

    Sons new rig:
    Mobo: eVGA x58 SLI LE
    Video: Dual GTX280s SLI
    Proc: Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz
    Ram: 6gb DDR3 1600

    Sons old rig (oldest daughters new rig):
    Mobo: Asus Crosshair III Formula
    Video: ATi 4870x2 2gb
    Proc: AMD Phenom II x4 955 @ 3.8GHz
    Ram: 8GB DDR3 1600

    Other Daughters rig:
    Mobo: eVGA nVidia 730a
    Video: GTX260 TOP
    Proc: AMD64 X2 5400+ @ 3.08GHz
    Ram: 4gb DDR2 800

    And another new rig for development:
    Mobo: eVGA x58 FTW
    Video: GTX275 OC
    Proc: Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz
    Ram: 12gb DDR3 1600

    Backup setup for kids:
    Mobo: BFG 590SLI
    Video: 9800GT OC w/eVGA Akimbo cooler
    Proc: AMD64 X2 5400+
    Ram: 4gb DDR2 800

    So, as you can see I stil have a ton of nVidia hardware... So driver updates are quite important to me and I hope that nVidia does the right thing and includes all optimizations and features for thier older cards as well...
     
  4. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    i just tested Crysis Warhead (in windowed mode) in Windows XP with SLI enabled. works fine.
    then i tested it in Windows Vista with sli enabled in windowed mode. freeze. looks like the driver problem.
     
  5. moofree New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It's not sli capable. It only supports hydra and crossfire, MSI didn't pay for sli certification.
    The newer, cheaper MSI P55A Fuzion does support SLI, but not the big bang.
     
  6. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    you see sli cert with everest right?
     
  7. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I always thought P55's came native with SLi support...
     
  8. moofree New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Edit: Oh wow you're right, they didn't have it in the english changelog, but the most recent bios update from december apparently adds sli support according to the german msi site - "add function support SLI function."
    Now I just have to figure out why it's crashing if it's not related to slipatch :wtf:
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  9. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    can you try crysis in windowed mode with sli enabled?
     
  10. moofree New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Did it, and played fine in window mode for a while till i alt+enter'd and my system blue screened and restarted.

    I don't think my problem is related to slipatch though, I uninstalled the hydra driver and I've been crash free so far... I can play and exit CSS and switch between window and fullscreen in crysis warhead now. Also I move around playing youtube firefox windows which bsod'd before as well.

    Lucid Hydra probably doesn't play nice with sli even while disabled. It shows up as an "unknown device" now on the device manager. I'll reinstall it periodically to see how the drivers improve, but SLI is the better technology at the moment (and since I have matched cards...)

    But yeah, thanks for your skepticism about my problem otherwise I wouldn't have hunted down that info from MSI Deutschland. (Maybe MSI didn't pay the licensing costs and is trying to keep it a secret! :laugh: )

    If you want an infodump from my system, just let me know how... I could do a before and after p55 sli support comparison... could that be helpful? :confused:

    Keep up the good work :)
     
    anatolymik says thanks.
  11. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    thanks. and by the way, nvidia enables sli on all p55 boards.
     
  12. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    In other words, uninstall SLIPatch, make sure Hydra is uninstalled (ie, no video drivers at all), reinstall the cards from scratch together and you should have SLI available without SLIPatch.
     
  13. juanchacin

    juanchacin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    58 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    REPORTING:

    I´m using SLI Patch v1.0 Build 20.14 with the Forceware 260.99 and finally im not experimenting any problem, being BSOD the only issue for me in older version of the patch.

    KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND KEEP REPORTING.
     
  14. belzebub New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2x 260-216 in SLI on Asus M4A79XTD Evo with SLIPatch 1.01 Build 216
    and ForceWare 266.35.

    Runs absolutly fine, no issues whatsoever. (never ever had any problems, even with older versions of both driver and SLI Patch)
     
  15. D4L70N

    D4L70N New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    790XTA-UD4 / SLI GTX460 1GB / SLI Patch 1.0 + 260.99 = Perfect! :D

    [​IMG]

    Good job :respect:
     
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Asus Rampage Formula X48 with 2x 8800GTs, on WinXP 32, with 257.15 still tho,and patch 1.0 works flawless, thanks again Anatolymik! :rockout:
     
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Anyone using 265.90 drivers with the patch? My 2nd gtx285 is coming any day now, and I really like these drivers.
     
  18. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Francko79 use if i'm right
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @anatolymik in reply to a pm

    I'm still waiting to get a 2nd 460 for my testing. Should work without issue. Whatcha think?
     
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Don't worry anatolymik, I'll be testing under both xp64 and win7 x64 and give a report.
     
  21. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    i'll get to work soon
     
  22. D4L70N

    D4L70N New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    anatolymik, this is the photo you wanted to see? just put it on and quickly took it off this afternoon playing around to see if it crashes.

    [​IMG]
     
    anatolymik says thanks.
  23. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    i see with sli the game works on the patch. something with drivers for sure
     
  24. Españolito New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello I first want to thank you for all the work done.
    Now I would like to see that does not work the games and graphics tests in windowed mode.
    I'm using an asus deluxe pq5 two sli nvidia 470 + SLIpacht1.0 Final + 260.99 drivers.
    My problem is that if I run any 3D application window mode fridge pc and gives me the blue screen.
    Thanks and best regards.

    Pd:Sorry for my english:ohwell:
     
  25. D4L70N

    D4L70N New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've tried with 265.90 drivers, but I do not work, I get the time, the display driver has stopped working, and the screen goes black..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page