1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. natethegreatess New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey guess Great patch you Have here but I have one question. I am soon upgrading my mobo. Will it work with this Mobo and chipset? MSI 890FXA-GD70
     
  2. Max One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    im Max One and this is my first post here in this forum.

    I have problems with this sli patch 1.0 Final 33.22 and using nvidia driver 266.58.
    When i start to play Trackmania Nations Forever the game works nice but after some time it hangs for some seconds and after that it starts to stutter. At that moment the game is unplayable only what i can do is to switch fast to desctop and go back to game. This will fix the problem until it starts again to freeze and stutter.

    I didnt have these problems until driver 263.14, every driver later than 263.14 are causing the same problem as explained above.

    My rig:

    X6 1055T
    4gb ram
    Asus Crosshair IV Formula
    2 x 8800 gts 512 mb
    Windows 7 x64


    I hope some1 can help me or can explain me how to fix my problem.

    Thx in advance and sry for my english, it isnt the best.

    Max 1
     
  3. natethegreatess New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
     
  4. Max One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey natethegreatess,

    thx for ur fast reply.
    U think this will work? ill give it a try.
    Do u had the same problem?

    Max 1
     
  5. natethegreatess New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Only thing I can say man is just try it out. A lot of people if you read a few pages back about flickering. It might work cause other .dll are conflicting when you install the new ones. Try it out and report back to me. Also I never had any problem like you. Mine pretty much worked the first time but I used driver sweeper first before installing any video drives.
     
  6. Max One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, ill try it definitely now, wish me good luck :)

    the curious thing is when i install the 263.14 all works fine, i hope ur solution will work for me.

    Max 1

    Edit:

    It doesnt fixed the problem, natethegreatess :-(

    It starts to hang some seconds after that its stuttering as before.
    Maybe the sli patch is causing the problem?

    Any other ideas maybe?
    I hope Anatolymik can help me, maybe with a new sli patch or a beta 1.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2011
  7. natethegreatess New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    kk it was worth a shot. Some people were having that problem mentioned a few pages back with older cards and the slipatch. Only thing I can say is revert back to old drivers and wait for a new slipatch to come out.
     
  8. Max One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright ill put it back to my older driver 263.14 and wait for a new patch.

    Natethegreatess: Thanks for your help :toast:

    Max 1
     
  9. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    RiC@RDOC, erocker, Ridemetal and 3 others say thanks.
  10. EGOvoruhk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I posted this before, but perhaps anatolymik didn't see it:

    Looking back over the past few pages of comments, it looks like the patch isn't using a modified HAL.dll anymore? And a quick glance at the new version, it looks like it's now using a loader, I'm guessing similar to that of a Windows OEM activation loader? Is that right, anatolymik?

    Just wondering, because I'd love to be able to move past the use of a loader, and onto a BIOS patch

    Edit: After another look, I might be wrong. Looks to be a combination of a loader and a difference patch for HAL.dll. Must have missed that after the first glance, unless it wasn't present a few revisions ago
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  11. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    hal.dll was there always. loader only loads system components and boot time drivers. it has to do nothing with activation. i put there hacked loader to enable unsigned kernel mode boot time drivers start, because i'm patching kernel and hal, which are kernel mode libraries. there is winload.exe file which check certificates of files. osloadw7.exe and osloadwv.exe files is the same winload.exe, but hacked. Activation loader starts before OS selecting menu.
     
    Ridemetal and elbubi say thanks.
  12. RiC@RDOC

    RiC@RDOC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    114 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Nice site!
    Clean and simple.

    Congrats ;)
     
  13. divine666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi there !!!
    1st - great work man , im sure there are lots of enthusiast out there running sli on non sli motherboards that are very greatfull .
    now , i've been waiting long while with cash in my pocket to take a plunge either direction - sli or crossfire . would u agree with me that nvidia's drivers are far superior to amd's ?
    as maximus II formula owner im ( in theory ) limited to crossfire ... not anymore thanx to ur hard work lol ... so id like to get 2 gtx's 560 ti as at the moment thats the best bang 4 buck . now whats r the odds that with the next driver release nvidia will block sli patch from being succesfully installed on non sli certified boards ? and in that case will i be able to enable sli with EVGA SLI Enhancement Patch , that enables sli in newly released games , before official nvidia support ?
    greetings
     
  14. Max One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I figured out using sli patch with newest Avast Internet Security Version 5.1.889 ends in a bsod. In that case u have to use the previous Version 5.0.677 or wait for a newer patch maybe Anatolymik will fix it in the next release :). And another 1 small thing what i noticed is the function when u right click on desctop u have the option to use ur sandbox from avast. But with slli patch enabled it wont shop up on rightclick.

    Thats all for now =)

    Btw nice new site thumbs up.

    Max 1
     
  15. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    840 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    The new site looks great! Keep up the good work guys!
     
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    looks amazing, and i bet a few NV people already started sweating!:laugh:
     
  17. elbubi

    elbubi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Rosario, Argentina
    Two new bsod's while playing Metro2033:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I want to try something but I need to know if "uninstall" option in patch does really eliminate all files and modifications done by patch or it just removes the alternate boot option.

    Kind Regards and thanks indeed as always!!! :)
     
  18. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    840 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
  19. elbubi

    elbubi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Rosario, Argentina
    Velvet Wafer and Sinzia say thanks.
  20. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    it removes alternate boot option and patched files. it's enough to boot under general option, but you should disable sli in this case
     
    elbubi says thanks.
  21. elbubi

    elbubi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Rosario, Argentina
    Thanks for the quick reply Anatolymik ;)
     
  22. Namtaro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, this is what I did

    Installed 266.58 Rebooted
    Installed SLI Patch 1.0 Final, then rebooted into the SLI patch option
    When I get to the Nvidia control panel, I don't have an option for SLI

    I'm running Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, and two 460's

    Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks
     
  23. elbubi

    elbubi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Rosario, Argentina
    Are you using an sli-bridge???
     
  24. Namtaro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, yes I am
     
  25. CyberBeat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    NTH Brisbane, AUS
    Problems

    Hey people,

    Been having some problems with my New install,
    Before I formatted i had SLI Patch working, that with OCd CPU got me the Highest Q9400 Score on 3Dmark 11.
    But i had stupidly forgotten to install anti virus, so i got a virus, and decided to format.
    Since then i haven't been able to get it working since, Specs are in the thingy on the left.

    have tried the following combinations of Drivers + Patches:

    * 258.96 + 0.9 0.91 1.0
    * 260.99 + 0.9 0.91 1.0
    * 266.58 + 0.9 0.91 1.0
    All BSOD with a 7E error code :confused::cry:

    Always been uninstalling in safe mode with driver sweeper too..... :(

    Any help would be appreciated :D

    EDIT: fixed it minutes after posting this...




    Thanks to elbubi for mentioning bluescreenview, above.

    I ran this, and noticed that all my BSODs where caused by one file. Googled that file, and it ends up being a part of AVAST antivirus.
    Uninstalled avast, and SLI patch worked fine, loaded up wiht NO bsods :D
    Now to install MS essentials antivirus thingy, and contact AVAST.... :(


    while running 3Dmark 11,
    I just got a BSOD that was caused bu NTOSKRNP.exe+70740??

    Read somewhere that that is part of SLipatch or something, not too sure...
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page