1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. RiC@RDOC

    RiC@RDOC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    114 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Man you are the man :) gonna test asap

    THANK YOU
     
  2. razaice New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    When I try to open the 1.4 patch, I get the following message. "Cannot open file "C:\Windows\Sysnative\ntoskrnp.exe". Access is denied." I click ok, and then the patcher opens, but the install button is greyed out so I can't install.
     
  3. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    what your windows version? what 1.2 version tells?
    it's very strange because of patch cant access to patched kernel not native
    have you some antivirus installed?
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  4. RiC@RDOC

    RiC@RDOC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    114 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Strange :confused:, i still get flickering on Win 7 but it's all working great on Win XP.

    I didn't see any reports of people having problems with Sli and the new drivers on windows 7, are you shure that is a driver problem?

    Thanks again
     
  5. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    strange that in winxp that's ok but not in windows 7. i haven't any issues in windows 2008. when i have windows 7 just installed first start of 3d application doesnt give any flickering, but following running if 3d gives flickering for ever. quite strange.
     
  6. Francko79 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I think I´ve seen that before when u still have installed the previous version.
    Go into windows in safe mode, uninstall 1.2 (1.0 whatever u had there)
    Then restart normally and install newer version.
    That must be the issue.
     
  7. Kamikaz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Definitly flickering (w7 x64). Performance is ok. Gonna try the 1.4 patch tomorrow, I'll keep you posted.
     
  8. razaice New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    My current windows is windows 7 ultimate 64 bit with all the recent updates installed. 1.2 is what I have in at the moment, and it went in without a problem. No message came up when I tried to install it. My antivirus is comodo.
     
  9. razaice New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Wish I could try that right now but I have to leave for work. I'll be back in 4 hours and I'll try it.
     
  10. Kool Aid Pack Ripper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thank anatolymik, 1.4b worked for me.

    This happen to me before:

    GPU clocks are down and OpenCL don't work.

    [​IMG]

    Now only OpenCL don't work.. the GPU clocks are fine.

    Is this a bug in GPU-Z or indeed OpenCL is disabled?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,391 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Very odd, this time it's not working for me. With the 270.61 driver, as soon as I enable sli, my main screen goes black, and stays that way. Same as 1.2 and the 270 beta driver. Forced to go back to 268.03 on this one!
     
  12. Kool Aid Pack Ripper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Update

    I should not have posted the above post without trying a application first.

    1.2b and 1.4b doesn't work.

    1.2b didn't work at all. 1.4b fixed the GPU down clocks but when I tried two benchmark tests, 3DMARK11 and Heaven DX11 Benchmark 2.5. The screen flickered like crazy and froze.

    268.03 has OpenCL disable on GPU-Z. Back to 267.60 :(
     
  13. RiC@RDOC

    RiC@RDOC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    114 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Try running Driver Sweeper
     
  14. Kool Aid Pack Ripper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I used Driver Sweeper.
     
  15. RiC@RDOC

    RiC@RDOC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    114 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I don't see also opencl activated in win XP but i think that it's normal.

    Maybe it's just a bug.
     
  16. Kool Aid Pack Ripper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If that's the case perhaps I can use 268.03 But I cannot use any of the 270s drivers do to massive flicker and freezing.

    After all the driver installations today I wanted to make sure I hadn't screwed anything up.. so after all the failed attempts I went back to my trusty 267.60 drivers. They worked perfectly.. minus the gains I would have from these newer drivers :(

    I think the OpenCL is a warning sign for me. If its not enable on GPU-Z the drivers are not suitable.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011
  17. Francko79 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    Yes sir! Got it workin here under Windows 7 64bit with 270.61 SLI enabled and 3DVision also working.
    Flawlessly, no flickering whatsoever.

    The only problem I'm seeing is a multi monitor issue, but that might be the driver. Display goes blank, back again, both blank, had to do a hard reset.
     
  18. razaice New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    My problem is fixed. I did what francko said and uninstalled 1.2 in safe mode, then restarted and opened 1.4. It got one step closer, but when I clicked install, some other crazy message about the kernel came up. So I disabling comodo antivirus and it installed fine. I reactived the antivirus and sli seems to be working great. Thanks again anatolymic for making this possible.
     
  19. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    ok i look into when i get home. very strange...
     
  20. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    what windows you use?
     
  21. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    what your system specs?
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011
  22. HiGGz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Terrible flickering here too
    BFBC2 -> flickering
    BF2 -> no flickering, So is that an issue between drivers 270.61 and DX10/11 games only?

    Win7 x64 sp1
    Drivers 270.61
    SLi patch 1.4

    P5E (X38-DDR2)
    2*460GTX (+Sli bridge)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,391 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Forgot to mention, testing under Win7 x64. Haven't tried it under XP64 yet, but I mainly use Win7 now.
     
    anatolymik says thanks.
  24. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    I have crysis 2(directx 9) flickering in windows 7. I have no problems in windows 2008. When i get home i'll check something...
     
  25. HiGGz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lil update on BFBC2

    in full screen mode still have strong flickering.
    But in windowed mode (alt+enter) it's ok.

    really seems to be a driver issue to me.

    PS: Furmark -> no fkickering.
    Shif2 -> flickering even with compatbility bits x42100105
    also tried with aero off... no improvement
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page