1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,236 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    781
    Yes it does, but you will need the mod as well, found here: http://anatolymik.itzod.ru/ Upgrade to the newest driver, apply the appropriate patch, and reboot.
    LoWRiDeR82 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  2. LoWRiDeR82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks for the reply. So I downloaded the package, how do I apply it? I install drivers and sli patch and then what do I do with the modded driver pack? Do I just extract all files in desktop and double click the "Install" file in the folder?

    I installed the drivers, pressed install in the modded package folder and a command prompt window quickly opened and closed. I installed SLI Patch,rebooted.

    When I play games in SLI, my system crashes after a few minutes :( It does not crash if I play with just one card. It doesn't crash even if I put it 8 hours in prime 95 and kombustor running at the same time with just 1 card, but crashes with SLI so I don't think it's a matter of the CPU :( Please help me fix it!

    I have the cards at stock speeds and it's weird. I had the same problem with previous drivers 275.33 or smthing as well(i had not installed any modded package with those just the normal drivers and sli patch). The weird thing is that SLI has worked fine on my system for quite some time and suddendly I don't know what cause it being broken. Please help!
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  3. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,236 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    781
    When you run the install.cmd file, you should right click on it first, and select "run as administrator". That should do it, then reboot.
    LoWRiDeR82 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  4. LoWRiDeR82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So I was getting those crashes cause I miss that package? Was there a modded package also for the 275.33 drivers? Am I that stupid that I didn't know and suffered so many crasheS? :)

    I did as you said with right click and run as admin, it did more or less the same as when I just double clicked on it. Quickly shows a command prompt window and some stuff and then closes it on its own. Is this normal?
  5. Thiesi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tübingen, Germany
    I beg to differ. I have two GTX 580 cards in my HP Z400 workstation which I basically only bought because I was under the impression it would support SLI since it is X58-based and HP are selling it in SLI configuration themselves. However, what I did not know was that there is a special SLI supported with Quadro cards only, and this is what the Z400 actually supports.

    To be honest - apart from the lack of (non-Quadro) SLI support I really love this machine, & I would rather not replace it with something else. I don't know how many other people are in the same boat, but I guess I'm not the only one.

    Bye, K&K,
    T-Zee
  6. Thiesi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tübingen, Germany
    The thing is that as long as NVIDIA charges their customers for SLI licenses, they have to make sure it can't be used on non-licensed boards. I mean, if I were for instance ASUS & paid said four bucks for every SLI board I sell, I would probably be pretty pissed if I found out that SLI basically runs on any hardware and NVIDIA doesn't do anything against it.

    Bye, K&K,
    T-Zee
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  7. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    so you didnt get sli works?
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I wonder if your patch would work on an m5a97 Evo.... hmmm
  9. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    I didnt try. But i think it will
  10. LoWRiDeR82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Anatolymik can you give me your opinion on the crashes i've been experiencing? Now I applied the modded drivers and trying, hasn't crashed yet but could it be the lack of mod with 275.33 that cause me so many crashes with SLI?
  11. Thiesi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tübingen, Germany
    No, no - it works fine on my system, even though I'm still running 275.50. I had lots of crashes with 275.33 which is why I am a bit reluctant to updating my drivers without need.

    But SLI has been working ever since you added that server board magic several months back. Thanks a lot! Without you, I would have sunk a shitload of money for an otherwise useless second graphics card!

    Bye, K&K,
    T-Zee
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  12. Thiesi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tübingen, Germany
    Lots of people (including myself) were having lots of issues with the 275.33 drivers. I, for instance, couldn't run Mass Effect 2 for more than a couple of seconds anymore. Updating to 275.50 fixed all issues for me.

    Bye, K&K,
    T-Zee
  13. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,236 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    781

    No, drivers before the 280s did not require a mod. And yes that is the normal behavior when you run install.cmd, it's very quick. Not sure why you were having so many crashes with the older drivers, a tip, I've found out that you can't oc your cards as high in sli as you can in single card mode.
    More than 25k PPD
  14. LoWRiDeR82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks for reply, I was getting crashes with cards at stock not oc...now it seems like it doesn't crash...let's hope it's fixed now!!smone said 275.33 drivers were problematic for many people.
  15. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    255 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    It might be the game that changes to window mode then goes back to full screen.
    Sometimes i get BSOD with some games that do that, for example like lost planet 2.
    Can´t run SLI. I'll get a BSOD because the game auto switches to window mode before going into full screen.

    Thats a SLI problem not patch's
  16. LoWRiDeR82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    No luck. I still get crashes with SLI. I removed all overclock from the system just to make sure it's not CPU or memory overclock. Hit Kombustor on GPUS in SLI (stock speeds) after 10-15 minutes system freezes....

    I got the latest drivers from nvidia website, applied 1.5b sli patch and modded pack for windows 7 64bit.

    Is there anyone with same mobo/gpus as me here?

    Can anyone help me solve this problem? System in system specs :( Please help

    I'll try reverting back to the 266.58 to see if the problem persists
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2011
  17. Q-bus-off New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Probably, low-power PSU for SLI?
  18. LoWRiDeR82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ive had sli working fine for about 8 months, when I chanegd drivers I think it started doing this!same psu

    update: I've reverted to 266.58 drivers and have been running games and 3d benchmarks for about 2 hours now....no crash. I believe there is something wrong with the new drivers even when modded and my rig. Has been running non stop kombustor at SLI both cards at 99% no crash yet...ill leave it for some more. Any suggestions are welcome. Anatolymik maybe there is still room to fix the new drivers?
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2011
  19. joedago New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Another Great Result!

    Took a day of trial and error but finally got it.:rockout:
    ASUS M4A78T-E 790GX AM3+
    2 x GTX 560 TI
    266.66 driver w/ 1.2 beta patch

    Thanks MUCH!
  20. DrMeltdown

    DrMeltdown New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I felt the need to provide my input as well.
    I installed the patch and mod without any issues and SLI is working!
    Thanks anatolymik!

    2x GeForce GTX 560 Ti on Gigabyte X48-DS5 motherboard
    Win 7 x64
    280.26 base driver
    SLIPatch 1.5 beta w/ modded 280.26 driver

    I can't wait to test your new patch/workaround. Any hints when it will be ready to release?

    -DrMeltdown
  21. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Yesterday was first stable start of x64 patch, but there is a lots of work before i can release first version. It takes one more week at most to finish x64. After it i need to do for x32 systems.
    But this time i'll do two approaches. As i mentioned i have idea to workaround with different approach.

    1) Software (works on any processors)
    2) Hardware (works on processors that have virtualization technology)

    Also there will be an option to select the option you prefer.

    HyperSLI developer team:
    Velvet Wafer, johnspack, RiC@RDOC, and me.
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  22. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    also there will changes in HyperSLI installer. but not only in background picture....

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      122.5 KB
      Views:
      154
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Anatolymik is working hard, and sacrifices nights of sleep, to get this Patch to run and work as intended. He pumps out internal Updates and Bugfixes each day, without rest!
    :respect::rockout::respect:

    IF you want to help him with that, and also, IF want to donate something to his cause,it would be very great, if you could help him to get an AMD based rig, so he can implement this part of the Patch more easily! :toast:

    He puts his Soul and his Blood into his work, and in my opinion, from what i have seen, he deserves the Support. What do you think?:)

    (He never told me to post this here, or even asked for it... this was just my spontaneos Idea, and im fully responsible for it!);)
  24. LoWRiDeR82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    What is HyperSLI? excuse the dumb question. Is it the 3-way SLI?
  25. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,236 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    781
    HyperSLI is the next evolution of the sli patch. No more modded drivers ect. It uses hypervisor virtualization to do it's job, and it works quite well!
    And I can verify what Velvet is saying, I've seen Anatolymik actually stay up all night with no sleep working on this!
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page