1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. bluevelvetjacket New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes. Unfortunately. As Solaris pointed out in his thread they show "SLI available" but they don't quite work yet.
     
  2. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Gotcha, thanks. I can let you know that the Vista x64 drivers are working fine though. (so far)
     
    bluevelvetjacket says thanks.
  3. bluevelvetjacket New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I'll be unavailable for the next few hours. Going out.

    @BYU - Sorry I can't stick around. It might take a few more tweaks to get it going I think .. but let me know what you find! Thanks again!

    @Ozzman - Good to know. Thanks!
     
  4. wolf2009 Guest

    this is what some dude said at guru3d , so u guys might want to consider that.
     
  5. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    That's ok, I understand. at the very least I can get some info for you. I should have results in about an hour (installing Vista32).
     
  6. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    so did anyone els get the velvet drivers to work ? for mine wont even recognise the two cards just the first one...
     
  7. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    blue, can you put your system specs up in your User Control Panel? That way, if you've got a version you're testing that seems more able, we can see what chipset/board you're using and work it all out quicker :)

    I'd be willing to lend my Asus Maximus Formula to the list, if I can get a second card to attempt SLi with..
     
  8. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops

    Hi bluevelv and solaris..The nvidia drivers show both cards fine ,,but still as stated the ones i rtied that you guys moded would not show both cards fine..and also i just noticed something here...when I have both cards with the sli conecter connected, it sais sli available even with the regular drivers...so I figured I would let you guys know for I just installed the drivers from nvidia,s site and it sais sli available in gpu-z but of cource no where to enable it..Ok talk soon...Steve
     
  9. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so I have a fresh copy of vista. I installed the drivers using the setup file. SLI doesn't show up in NVCP, is there something I'm missing?
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    there is a command line you're supposed to run. i know i posted it earlier, and it should be in the first post.
     
    BYUSinger84 says thanks.
  11. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I ran that...it gives me an error that says:

    Error in nvcpl.dll
    Missing entry: launchmultigpuapplett
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    we'll need to hear back on what to do with that.
     
  13. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Ok, I just realized, only one of the cards shows up now that the drivers are installed. I'm going to uninstall the drivers, take out one GTX, reinstall the drivers, and then add the second card in and see what that does.
     
  14. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Nope, same thing. Only one GPU is detected in the Device Manager, GPU-Z, and in the NVCP.
     
  15. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Well, I'm at a standstill, and I only have about 30-45 more minutes before I have to go...ideas anyone?
     
  16. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Update on the Vista 64 drivers:
    I clocked up my cards to run some 3dMark06 and see if my score changed at all for you guys, but when I ran the bench it froze during firefly forest and my display completely stopped responding and blackscreened me (no recovery) I ended up having to hit my reset button to get my display back. Tried it three times with the clocks in my specs and same thing happpened.
    btw I'm not completely sure if I should be posting this in this thread or the other, you guys got me all confused on the two thread thing. Please let me know.
     
  17. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    You are on the right thread. From what I understand, the drivers should just show the option for now. I don't think they are ready for testing like that. Where did you find the Vista64 drivers? The ones on this page are only for Vista 32...
     
  18. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I got them off of Sol's FTP. Everyone keeps saying it's down, but I have no problems logging in and downloading.
    Just in case you didn't notice I'm dual booting using both x64 drivers, but for the time being I'm going to only use the vista ones until you guys get SLi worked out on the XP ones.
    Edit: by the way SLi works fine on Vista x64
     
  19. Castor Troy New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have one P5B DLX and two 8600GT here.

    But i can´t download these drivers because "megaupload" are full for my location (Brazil)... :(

    anyone have a mirror? I using Vista Ultimate 64.

    Thx
     
  20. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so you were able to get a better score then?
     
  21. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    dude, the FTP won't let me on...user/pass is guest right?
     
  22. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    If you have MSN Messenger add me "ultimatewingsfanii@hotmail.com" and I'll file transfer them to you.

    I think you need the @server part in the username

    No, my computer blackscreened during the bench
     
  23. BYUSinger84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Your specs say that you have a sli board, are you doing this on another machine?

     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    its entirely possible he's testing just to make sure the drivers even work on an SLI capable system.
    Its a good idea really, if they dont work on a legit SLI board/cards, they probably wont on other systems.
     
  25. Castor Troy New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey man, thx 4 u help.

    added
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page