1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. bluevelvetjacket New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Also if anyone is wondering I'm doing this partly for fun/programming experience/challenge. :p
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,048
    Steve, in the bios setting for your board there are three video card settings under "chipset" I believe. Have them all enabled.:) Mr. lucky with the modded bios...
     
  3. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    Ok will try that,,thanks..will also try the ngo patch as well..will let you guys know how she goes...Thanks...Steve
     
  4. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    I have a Maximus Formula; send me the cards and I'll test them for you blue ;)
    hmm, I wonder - would NV really use some form of NDA with their hacked XF SLI drivers?
     
  5. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    Ok so i enabled gfx dual slot config
    and enables gfx2 dual slot config
    and enabled peer tp peer amongst gfx/gfx2
    and it crashed my bios and i had to reset my bios and when i get back into windows the gpuz doesnot recognise my graphics cards? mk well let me know what i should do..thanks...Steve
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,048
    Try: AUTO
    AUTO
    ENABLED
     
  7. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    ok will try that..but the nvidia drivers wont even install into the cards now it wont recognise the cards?
     
  8. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    still no sli even after auto auto enabled...I dont know what to try now?
     
  9. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    you guys got any other ideas..or perhaps someone want to come on my comp and see if im missing something...steve
     
  10. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    hey guys heres what someone els said for me to do,which i have no idea what hes talking about but this was in reply on getting sli on my mobo?

    M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi
    1002 : AMI BIOS mod Fzeven, tested by too
    slic = Asus,
    Suggest afudos for the flash: afudos /i<biosname> /pbnc /n
     
  11. bluevelvetjacket New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I don't have any ideas at the moment. I haven't tried making any more changes to my drivers yet or Sol's yet either.

    Also I don't think this is an SLI modded BIOS. If I search for Fzeven and SLIC on Google I see that this Fzeven modder added an SLIC table to this BIOS (hence the SLIC added to the end of the name) which is for purposes of Vista SLA 2.0 Volume Activation (in otherwards used for a Vista activation hack) and has nothing to do with SLI enabling on the BIOS.

    So I'm not sure what video options you guys are having Sinister enable or what they are doing here..
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2008
  12. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    Ok thanks blue velvet jacket...I will just install the latest bios for my mobo since the others are just vista crap hacks...Ok well let me know when you got more going with the sli drivers you guys are working on...Thanksd all..Steve
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,204 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    if you still have the modded bios...uninstall your drivers and the ngo patch if you have it installed...reboot enable everything in the bios for SLI when your back into windows install the unmodified forceware whql from nvidias site.
     
  14. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    hey there sol...I tried that as well and nothing...? what the hell is with some people giving crap that does nothing? well will have to wait till you guys figure this out perhaps...K later...Steve
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,204 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    easy steve im sure he was just trying to help...and technically we havent given you anything that works ;)
     
  16. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    steve if i could make a suggestion, you can always let bluevelvet/solaris take control of your computer remotely for a short time so that they can perform tests and stuff.. plus they can do all of the hard and confusing stuff for you, this might make things easier..
     
  17. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    hi yes ive let solaris do this and ive offered to let them both do it but they dont want to right now....steve
     
  18. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    haha true..:eek:
     
  19. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    so we gonna keep working on this driver thing?or have you guys lost interest?
     
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,204 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    no we havent lost intrest were just really busy trying to figure it out it turns out much more complicated than we had thought wich is fine but it does mean it will take more time....we dont have any other betas to offer atm because were trying to root out alot of the possabilities first that way when you beta test them we have more of a target to set our sites on than the whole driver it will take some time...but we havent given up iv wanted to do this out of pure intrest because who's not up for a challenge once in awhile?
     
  21. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    Ok cool sol thats great youre up for the challenge, I bet its a big one...K will keep me posted please...Steve
     
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,204 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    will do man
     
  23. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    Hi sol and velvet..I dont know if there is any other way i can be of help to you guys? for I would like to help out more if I can..Or will I just be a pain in the neck hahahah..well let me know if there is any more I can do to help...Steve
     
  24. bluevelvetjacket New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hey Steve,

    Not yet but me or Sol will let you know. I have a few ideas and I'll let you try em when we get a new set of drivers out.
     
    sinister_steve says thanks.
  25. bluevelvetjacket New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I'd like to collect some quick data from some systems that are running SLI on nV boards. Ideally, I'd like to remote into a PC and then do some quick data scraping.

    Anyone reading this thread want to volunteer? :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page