1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. glennex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    here it is...
     

    Attached Files:

    • DSL.jpg
      DSL.jpg
      File size:
      193.8 KB
      Views:
      199
  2. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    do you have a clean install of os?
     
  3. glennex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is there a need to do clean install? :(
     
  4. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    it will be not bad
     
  5. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    how many times did you restart your system after install sli string?
     
  6. glennex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :cry::cry::cry:

    there's so much file to backup :cry:
     
  7. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    i need to get some sleep. i'm very tired
     
  8. glennex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok man. no problem at all.

    last question. is it possible to revert back to default DSL and run again SLIstringinstall?

    Thanks.
     
  9. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    glennex make sure you have ACPI 2.0 Enabled in BIOS.
     
  10. glennex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it's enabled. :eek:
     
  11. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    for now it's reinstall system if you didn't backup of course. i'm working on it. i'll make SliString able to uninstall it
     
  12. glennex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok thanks. gonna start backing up my files now :cry:

    will get back to you as soon as i'm finished.

    thanks again.
     
  13. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  14. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    before you install system, send me your .DAT file
     
  15. glennex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    you mean after reformatting my drive? or i will send it now?
     
  16. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
  17. derGhostrider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    @Anatolymik: It looks as if TiNs page is down.
    If you still have the files: Please contact me (PN?). I have my own domain and more than 70GB of free traffic each month. I will host the files for a free download on my page if you wish!

    @TiN: If you still have the text from your homepage (step-by-step how-to) please send it to me that I can add it.

    ---

    If someone else has the files: Feel free to contact me. I will reply as soon as possible (usually within 24 hours).
     
  18. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Here what I got.
     

    Attached Files:

    Goonit and derGhostrider say thanks.
  19. Goonit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well I had complete success with this last night. I now own an SI capable machine!! Thank you anatolymik & everyone else involved in this. Absolutely brilliant.

    I'll go into detail, I'm not actually sure if all steps were necessary but I really wanted this to work, after getting a second GFX card and new PSU! :laugh:

    I did a clean install, I actually just shrunk my primiary partition, because I didn't have room to backup and do a complete reinstall. Which was really easy, just made a spare 100GB partition, through device manager/disk management.

    Made sure APCI 2.0 was enabled in BIOS before a clean install of Windows 7 x64.

    The way I installed both SLIStringInstall and Halmod was; I went into start menu/accessories found CMD, right clicked and ran as Administrator.

    I installed SLIStringInstaller v1.1, with the above method, clicked ASUS, rebooted.

    Installed Halmod v0.8, again with the same method as above, rebooted.

    Installed latest Nvidia drivers from there site. The drivers had almost finished installing when I saw in the corner "You are running Multi-GPUs in Single Mode" Or something along those lines.

    SUCCESS! SLI is enabled!

    I didn't disable UAC, didn't run anything else just did exactly as I've outlined above. Couldn't have been easier.

    Benchmarks coming after work tonight! :rockout:
     
  20. derGhostrider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I created a simple "Emergency download page":
    Link: http://www.derghostrider.de/drivermod

    Please use the attached files within this forum first to omit unnecessary traffic!
    Thanks.
     
    aGeoM and Goonit say thanks.
  21. K404 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dont have this working yet but I'd like to say a massive thanks to all the guys making this happen and taking the time to help all the guys having problems... lol that includes me.

    Im really eager to get this working in XP-32. I can get CPU-Z to report an X58 no problem, I can get GPU-Z to read "SLI: disabled (SLI available) but I dont have any options coming up in nV control panel :(

    I have to DL and install nVidia tools/ control panel to get the usual range of options. PhysX is there... no SLI :(

    Board is an Asus X48 P5E64 WS Evo

    Any ideas?

    Iv had some help from a couple guys with modded dsdt files.. still no joy
     
  22. Goonit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    @K404; Have you tried running both SLIStringInstaller & Halmod through CMD with admin privileges? That way you can actually see if you're getting errors or they are actually getting applied?

    Also; the developers have recommend doing a clean install. Have you done that?
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2009
  23. cxghjcqr

    cxghjcqr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    86 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    CHN

    ACPI 2.0 Enabled ? Can any mainboard open the function? mustn't any mainboard modsli successful until enable ACPI 2.0? why my success needn't make sure to have ACPI 2.0 Enabled in BIOS?
     
  24. cxghjcqr

    cxghjcqr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    86 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    CHN
    In bios,which item can check whether ACPI 2.0 is Enabled ?
     
  25. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    nForce @ CrossfireX


    @anatolymik

    Thanks m8, Halmod 0.7 enabled CrossfireX. I got some lockups with GPU-Z, I didn't before. Needs more testing.

    :toast: :rockout:

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page