1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Is there a way to reverse any changed made with Halmod? I'd like to go back to a single card set up, but if I remove my second video card I get BSODs on boot. I think the Halmod is responsible.
     
  2. derGhostrider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    @agentdax5:
    There is a backup-file in your system32 folder. hal.bck or hal.dll.bck or something similar. You just have to replace the modified file (hal.dll) with this backup. It's the original file that you used before.
     
    agentdax5 says thanks.
  3. cxghjcqr

    cxghjcqr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    86 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    CHN
    But ,was only original hal.ll replaced when ran halmod before ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  4. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks you two. But I think I'm going to give this another shot and I think I've found some reasons why this isn't working. I was playing around with flashing both of my video cards and had some bad experiences due to me flashing things wrong, but I've got things back to normal.

    This time, I flashed my 8800 GT using a modified version of the original bios and set the board IDs, etc to a 9800 GT but it still shows as an 8800 GT in Windows. Now I've got the option to set the 8800 GT is a dedicated PhysX card unlike before when I used a Palit 9800 GT BIOs I could not.

    I think I may try flashing the 8800 GT with my XFX 9800 GT bios. Didn't work

    edit: trying evga 9800 gt bios on the 8800 gt
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  5. OgaiB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Finally do it :) WinXP 32-bit failed, Win 7 64-bit successes.

    My system:
    Asus M479T Deluxe
    AMD 955BE
    2 X Asus 6600GT DDR3

    Results 1 videocard:

    [​IMG]

    SLI without bridge:

    [​IMG]

    SLI with bridge:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Damn! So close. I used your BIOs on the 8800 GT and I had SLI, for a brief moment. After enabling it the drivers crashed and will not work any more.

    In the device manager I've got this error for that card now
    Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)

    It might be because that 8800 GT has 1gb on it, I'm not sure what your bios was for. I'm searching around for a 1gb bios for another manufacturer now. The problem seems to be with the BIOS of my 8800 GT then, not halmod or the string installer.


    edit: I've had no luck finding a 9800 GT BIOS that is 1024 mb version, non-55nm, and is for G92 product.

    EDIT 2: I've got a good 9800 GT BIOS on my 8800 GT and can get SLI option in the drivers. But, I've got instability when booting up. Sometimes it takes a couple of restarts to get booted successfully. When I am booted and enable SLI my second video card has a problem with its driver shown in the device manager. If i use the device manager and set a driver for the card the drivers seem to work, but eventually SLI is lost untill i reboot again
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2009
  7. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    I'm not out. I'm working on the patch
     
    aGeoM and TheWolf say thanks.
  8. cxghjcqr

    cxghjcqr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    86 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    CHN
    see you!
     
  9. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    Good luck!
     
  10. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I think HalMod is messing with how my computer works with the second 9800 GT. Sometimes it will work and I can install drivers for it, etc fine. It always works for the primary card, but not all the time for the second card.
     
  11. derGhostrider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Yes.

    HALmod does exactly what the name implies: It modifies the file hal.dll. Nothing more and nothing less.

    {Someone shall correct me, if this has changed...}
     
  12. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    i think it's not. try SLI with modded driver
     
  13. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Will do.

    Edit: No SLI, but the BSODs seem to have stopped. I think it actually may be a problem with the bios on the second video card still.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  14. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    i think it's not Hal issue. though we have to test
     
  15. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Hi

    Sorry, I think you need to edit BIOS clocks, bcoz the clock are from a ASUS 9800GT Ultimate that means it's an rebrand of 8800GTS. Set clocks to 600-1500-900 and maybe you will be fine. ;)
     
  16. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I did change the clocks before I used your bios.
     
  17. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    So you got one 9800GT (XFX) with 512MB memory and one 8800GT (PALIT) 1024MB, yes?

    Have you try any of these BIOS ?
     
  18. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes that is correct. Neither of them worked. Some would show up as GT200 cards and all of them are for the 55nm fabricated cards
     
  19. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Do you want to mod your cards to Quatro FX 3700?

    I will upload 2 bios for 512MB and 1024MB, from aquamac pack. If you can re-flash your cards if something goes wrong, you have nothing to lose.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Maybe because The TA790GX-128M has an ATI chipset and can't even do SLI it's made for CrossfireX
     
  21. cxghjcqr

    cxghjcqr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    86 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    CHN
    but ATI chipset has already done SLI someone here and NV chipset also can do CrossFire.
     
  22. Nick [D]vB

    Nick [D]vB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    lol - there is a screen-shot a few post above his to prove it... :rolleyes:

    Upload the original bios for both cards and I will have a look,

    I had similar problems with my 8800GT last week.

    :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
  23. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Here's my folder with all the BIOS I've used and the originals. Currently I'm using
    Card 1 (XFX 9800GT 512mb): XFX9800GT.rom Original bios, just overclocked a bit
    Card 2 (Palit 8800GT 1024mb): 9800GT.rom It's an EVGA Bios

    This currently gives me blue screens when booting up, usually it will blue screen, then boot on the second attempt. If I use the original 8800GT bios for the Palit card I can boot always fine and make it a dedicated PhysX card. If I use the official 9800 GT Bios I cannot, but it still boots always. The problem with the official Palit 9800GT Bios is that the product it is for when you open it in Nibitor is for some weird board, not a G92 unlike the others.


    Also, I'd like to remove the second card (I may have to return it to my friend soon), whenever I remove the second card I get bluescreens when booting up always. Any idea on how to fix that as well?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,415 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,491
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Out of these which are your Palit's card original?

    [​IMG]
     
  25. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    palit8800_original
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page