1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    As far as I see, since mod was released 99.99% of all instability reported here is caused by non-stable overclock, flawy videocards, PSU or another hardware problem. Check every component in detail. SLI mod just fools ID for driver, it's doing NOTHING to SLI tech or driver routines. It's all there as was made by nvidia.

    And now, Good news!
    Forceware driver 195.62 WHQL succesfully patched now by our master Sveetsnelda. :rockout::respect::toast:

    This time Windows Vista/7 32-bit version.

    Test rig:

    QX9650
    ASUS P5B DLX (P965 chipset)
    2 x 8800Ultra
    Win7 32bit RTM build 7600, with just only SLIC patched in registry by SLIstringinstall v2.0

    [​IMG]

    Even no test mode , no need for that for 32bit.


    We will release mod public soon. :cool:
    papatsonis says thanks.
  2. hdcore

    hdcore New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes I do overclock my processor and thought about that while I was testing all this out and I get the same results overclocked or not. I'll keep tweaking tell I can find out whats causing this. Everything is fine when I disable sli so I dunno. Maybe this mod don't like my board :(

    What I've tried:
    bridge no bridge
    reformat reinstall everything
    default bios settings
    swapped card slots
    tested cards individually
  3. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    Nice going!
    Pass me the patch so I may test with GA-X48-DQ6 & 2x 260GTX.
    Thx in advance.
  4. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    If you want anyone to test the patch with Win7 x64, 790fx (Asus Crosshair III Formula) and dual GTX280s, just let me know.
  5. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Sweet :)

    Can't wait until it goes public

    Gonna see if the SLi stays on same performance level in Windows 7 as XP setup
  6. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    817
    Before it become public, we should know about checking completely.
    appears i finished with hal. it emulates completely. now i'm modding kernel.
    there is a lot of work i think. it's too bad i don't have x58 platform.
    i need help from sveetsnelda to make patch faster.
    aGeoM says thanks.
  7. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    How would i get SLI working on a EP45-UD3P and 2xGTX 260's, because i got one and I would love to get another for christmas, if you can step it for me this would be wonderfull, I have windows XP 32-bit, Vista 32-bit, Might be getting windows 7 32bit for 30 bucks in a couple of days.
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    32bit isn't the best OS to try this on. I had more success using 64bit. if you can get 64bit Windows 7 and follow the steps for the HAL mod and things should work ok. Or you could try the HAL mod under 32bit. BUT its not a sure things keep that in mind
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Were do i find the intructions, for the HAL mod, cause im ready to download tools and edit some file code and stuff, i really just want to get 260sli on the p45,

    I have a 64-bit vista that i can use. When i do a fresh install i will try and try again if i fail for a while.
  10. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    found link to a thread which i think tells me everything omg im ganna get sli working i put it on someones life!!!!.
  11. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    I don't think XP 32bit would be a problem in your case with a P45 board.
    I'm pretty sure I read that someone here has already done it on P45 & XP.

    The 790fx chipset seems to be the hardest to setup on any platforum at this time.

    I've done XP 32bit on X38, X48 & P35 chipsets, without any real problems.

    so Intel chip vs AMD chipset, Intel has had more success.
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  12. SetsunaFZero

    SetsunaFZero

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ogrimmar
    o yeah thats awesome:respect:, cant wait to try out this moded driver with my comp in mixed sli P45/gtx275+8800gts :rockout:
  13. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    yea it was easy on xp pro x86 and asus p5q(p45 chipset), followed the instructions and it was enabled and running in a matter of minutes.
  14. hdcore

    hdcore New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought it was working cause I could select sli in nvidia control panel and gpu-z showed 2 gpu's but I had system instability in some games and benchmarks. I installed everest and reallized the SLI String isn't installing into my DSDT table no matter what I try?? Anyone have luck with this on a p45 asrock mobo? I guess it wasn't working fully. I'll reinstall OS and try again :(
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
  15. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    I didnt get luck getting sli with my ep45-ud3p and GTX 260's sitting in my rig at the moment.

    I have windows XP 32-bit installed here is what I did.

    Downloaded SLIC v2.0 and installed ASUS SLIC Verification
    Downloaded modded 190.61 drivers and installed them,
    rebooted and no sli.

    I tried putting a modded nv4 file into system 32, drivers to see if that worked and no go.
  16. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    Send me your DSDT and everest screenie with sli cert.
    Try hal mod
  17. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    [​IMG]

    hehe
    TheWolf says thanks.
  18. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    And, unless you are going to share, why even gloat about it? :rolleyes:
  19. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    dbphelps

    Any problems? Everything for 180-191 drivers shared. Just better help :)
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,388
    if they go posting it out and it has a one in 10 chance of fucking your PC up, wouldnt you rather know about it beforehand?


    Theyre trying to do a good job, without nvidia learning about it and blocking it like they already did with the previous mod. quit bitching, wait in line.
  21. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Actually, I have zero problem with someone posting it can be done and it is being worked on...

    The gloating "hehe" is the issue. Totally unnecessary. If you had a break-thru, then post the details.

    Sorry, some of us are a bit more mature and really don't need some of the stupidity, that is all.

    Actually, I would rather them post up the details of what is being worked on and how, etc... It all will be exposed once it is released, so anything having to do with nVidia is moot.

    I mean, honestly, it is as bad as people posting up benchmark screens at some absurd overclock, it is stupid unless it is useable, and really is only useable if you can share how it was accomplished so others can also do the same, otherwise it is completely 'gloating' and usually only for personal satisfaction.

    Personally, I view this nVidia "hack" as a correction to a design/implimentation 'flaw' that is driven by greed on nVidia's part more than anything else. Just as bad as them disabling the use of a nVidia card for Physx if an ATi card is present in the system. Petty, greedy, ignorant - all terms that come to mind when thinking about them playing these games.

    The SLI-Certified label should provide consumers with a level of confidence that the system they are buying is optimized for SLI-usage, but it shouldn't be the ONLY systems that SLI will operate on. This hack proves it.

    Makes you wonder how much older hardware was prematurely "end-of-lifed" before mature drivers ever extracted maximum performance out of the hardware.

    I am certain ATi made optimizations in thier chipset design to get the most out of Crossfire, just the way nVidia did for SLI with thier chipsets. The technological implimentations are certainly unique to each architecture, but I am certain that the capabilities could be acocunted for in newer designs so that things would be optimized across the board. Heck, look at Hydra and thier aproach to multi-GPU and it is totally different than either manufacturer.

    Back to the "SLI-hack", I hope it is totally debunked and the final version will allow any driver to be able to be loaded. Continued games on nVidias part to block it will most certainly end up becoming issues with actual SLI users, so hopefully they end up understanding that such a low-percentage of users would go this route that it is not worth affecting actual SLI-certified users. Heck, if nVidia truely doesn't have any chipset plans for the future, why would they care?
  22. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    Details are on screen. We just managed to get things working, with debugger, 2 computer system etc linked together to trace everything.
    After we test we work on user-friendly patch for public. No offence at all, dbphelps.

    If you don't like this hehe - personal sorry just for you for that.

    WBR,
    Ilya
  23. stojko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey... I'm getting another 8800GT for my x38 rig. I hope this patch gets released soon.
    Keep up the good work.
  24. EGOvoruhk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Are you blind?

    Those are what are called "details". What did you want, them to release it as soon as it's working? Clearly you have no idea how development works
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
  25. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    I had this exact same problem

    Formatted, and re installed Windows XP Pro SP3 (32 Bit)

    Whilst I reinstalled Windows, I kept both cards in during installation and bootup etc...

    Worked like a charm :)

    P.S. I tested 3DMark 06 on Windows XP and Windows 7 and there was no difference
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page