1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    The number of users will rise ;). Fortunately nVidia has no much options to prevent "SLI hack" excet implementing more complicated hardware ID's chek in their own drivers. (That can be fooled).
    The physX "problem" with ATI hardware in the system is already solved and isn't problem anymore :D.
    And finaly: "Heck, if nVidia truely doesn't have any chipset plans for the future, why would they care?" - the answer is very simple and clear... because they (nVidia) love their own customers and want to fu*k them infinitely :laugh:, instead of earning 5$ for SLI certificate on every single P45, X38, X48 board.
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
  2. hdcore

    hdcore New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    First I want to say thank you to all who are working on the project. I just have a couple questions: 1. If Everest doesn't show the Asus cert in the DSDT table but showes it in my dsdt_AS225131.dsl file at the bottom of the file, does it mean its installed correctly? 2. My identical evga 8800gts's have different bios revisions could that make a difference in the stability problem I'm having? Thanks :)
  3. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    :cry:What could i possible do to get sli working in VISTA 32-bit right now.

    Ive downloaded SLIC string installer, and generic 190.62 hardrives and disabled UAC forever.

    Ive installed it and inserted modifed driver file and such to get it to register yet no go?

    What can i possible do to get sli working on this OS

    P45 and 2 GTX 260's right now
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I couldn't get it to work under any 32bit OS. but 64bit was super easy.. i know some people have reported getting it to work under 32bit OS but i myself haven't.. Good luck and sorry i wasn't much help :toast:
  5. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    You used the ASUS SLIC, right? Maybe this was already asked...

    When I patched the driver, I forced the driver to use an ASUS subsys ID (therefore, your SLIC needs to be a licenced for ASUS.
  6. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Why do you automatically thing that "hehe" means "I have this, you dont"?

    He's happy that progress has been made and that it is working without the driver being modified. Chill out, get some patience, and wait for us to make a proper release instead of a complicated one.
  7. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Do you have any idea how long it takes to reverse engineer a driver? If we post up the details of what has been changed and how the protection was circumvented, do you think it's easier for them to read this information or is it easier for them to reverse engineer our code? This doesn't mean it's impossible for them to figure it out, but they would need a skilled programmer and a decent amount of time.

    If you're that eager to have a working 195 driver, go spend 80+ hours and do it yourself before we release it.
  8. jabberwooky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2009
  9. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    why do beta fixes, they may make changes before the final release.
    Plus they already know about it & it has been tested.
  10. coolmiester New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK after getting Sli to work on a few Supermicro boards including X8DAi and X8DAH+-F i'm now going to attempt it on an Intel S5520SC Shady Cove

    Would anyone have any specific info i need to follow and what drivers to use??

    Thanks again :toast:
  11. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Actually, I did not mean to come off as ungracious in regards to this. Your hard work is appreciated by all.

    In regards to TiN and hte "hehe" comment, I did not know he was aprt of the development team working on this. If he is not and just a tester, then he is, again out of line for posting something like that. If not, and he did some work and had a breakthru, it could have been expressed quite differently, that is all.

    Also, been doing development/programming/hacking LOOONG before most around here (since the 1980s actually), so I know what it takes to reverse engineer, code, develop and produce a 'clean' piece of work for something like this. My comment about nVidia is I am certian there is someone that works there that can look at the hack and know exactly how it is approached and implimented, that is all. Unless all 'holes' are accounted for, and all contigencies are programmed for, they usually will make another set of checks on those things and will eventually make it so it as an even extremely complex hack won't allow this to work on systems they don't want it to (I mean they could start checking processor configs, chipsets, BIOS stuff, etc, etc, but that would mean they are locking themselves to those architectures and making potential driver issues for 'normal' users in doing that)...

    So, by all means, keep up the good work. Again it is greatly appreciated by all of us partaking in this. And again, no disrespect was intended, just that if there is information to share, why not share it other than posting a screenshot with a "hehe" attached. Honestly, a description stating that it is up and running would have sufficed, that is all...

    Again, TiN, no offense taken at all... It's all good... Thanks for the hard work! ;)
  12. coolmiester New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK after getting Sli to work on a few Supermicro boards including X8DAi and X8DAH+-F i'm now going to attempt it on an Intel S5520SC Shady Cove

    Would anyone have any specific info i need to follow??

    Thanks again
  13. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    [​IMG]

    I need help, look at the screen shot for any info, i need to get sli working on this vista 32-bit Sp1 package :twitch:


    Downloading XP 64-bit so i can hack's sli like nothing. Probably will sove problem haahahaha
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  14. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    We need you to scroll up in the registry editor to see the actual SLIC string. Scroll up until you see something like "987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS RAMPAGE II EXT 3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023 (R)".
  15. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Please also go into device manager, double click the entry for one of your video cards, and go to the driver tab. After that, click the "Driver details" button and scroll down to find "C:\windows\system32\drivers\nvlddmkm.sys". It should *not* have a signature icon next to it, and it should say "Not digitally signed" at the bottom of the window when you click on it (since you are trying to use the modified driver). If it actually *is* signed and says "Microsoft Windows Hardware Compatibility" for the Digital Signer, windows is not using the modified driver.
  16. sveetsnelda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    I see. No problem. I could have been more diplomatic in my approach, also. You may not know that TiN's primary language is not English and his intentions are good. He's not the type of person to some in here and gloat. His "hehe" meant "hell yes, we've got this running and are getting closer guys" -- not "hehe, I have this and you don't".

    Agreed. However, since everything is done in software, it can always be modified or emulated. Hopefully Lucid has a solid product with its "Hydra" ASIC and we can quit dealing with this bullshit. Like plenty of others have stated -- even if NVidia wants to get greedy, at least give us the *option* to pay the $5 for an SLI license. Don't dictate that we have to buy products from people who have paid you, instead of being able to use the cards on the platform of our choice. And lastly, don't lie to the public that SLI technology *REQUIRES* certain functions to be present in the motherboard to work correctly -- just to sell your motherboards. It has obviously been proven now that this isn't the case.

    He was happy and excited. I don't blame him ;-)
  17. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    817
    i Got My System Sli Works With Unmodded Drivers.

    i Patch Hal.dll And Kernel Of Os

    but There Is Several Bugs Though.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • sli.jpg
      sli.jpg
      File size:
      39.7 KB
      Views:
      120
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
    aGeoM, Triton.se, Sailindawg and 2 others say thanks.
  18. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    Same here.

    Congratz to anatolymik and Sveetsnelda :)

    [​IMG]
    Triton.se and TheWolf say thanks.
  19. coolmiester New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had great success with a few previous Supermicro boards including X8DAi and X8DAH+-F so massive thanks for all involved.

    I'm just about to try the same with an Intel S5520SC Shady Cove board with a couple of GTX 285's and was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to go about it and drivers to use??

    Will i just go ahead the same way as i did with the Supermicro boards??

    Thanks again :toast:
  20. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    Yes, just try same things. nothing technically changed since your last experiments ;)
    coolmiester says thanks.
  21. coolmiester New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheers TiN, you have been a great help throughout - i'll update with results.
  22. boboe New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    TiN,how с driver 195,62 run sli for win7 64bit.I not understand,please help.thanks:)
  23. TheWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Pascagoula, Ms
    Well done guys!
    Looking forward to testing when I get my rig back together.
    Triton.se says thanks.
  24. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    I couldnt get sli working under vista 64x64-bit right now.

    I downloaded the slic installer and pushed Asus under adminastrator
    I then downloaded Generic 190.62 drivers installed the sys file, then restarted in test mode after i disabled UAC and then used a program to sign the drivers file i downloaded nvlddmkm.sys
    and it booted with drivers running but no sli available.
    Is the highest success rate with windows 7 64-bit or what :laugh:.

    Followed 64bit win 7 instructions

    Getting frustrated after 4 installs of windows here. Going to upgrade to windows 7 64-bit pretty soon and then its the last draw, and i eventually go find a sli mobo when i have the cash >.<


    Also the HAL mod couldnt run because it had a error like "this is not a valid win32 something program and cannot be run" error i bet if i can get or use hal mod and get it running and run the EXE's i can boot up and enable sli.
  25. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    did you already exchanged the HAL.dll in system32?
    you can do it manually, just be careful, that you didnt apply the wrong HAL.dll to it (xp´s hal.dll for example, i did that twice before realizing it was the wrong one);)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page