1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to file share between 2 pc's only?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by amd64skater, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    Ok I've been looking all over the net and cant find a clear way to connect my pc and laptop to each other. I have a router Linksys 160N. The problem is I charge my neighbor $20 a month to use my network wireless only. They have 3 pc's on it. I have 3 pc's and 2 laptops on it. No im not having lag. The question is how in a step by step way how can I connect my new laptop and my main pc to each other over the network only. secure of course to be able to get any file from each of the 2 comptuers anytime I want.

    The os im using is windows 7 home premium 64

    details please i am a bit of a noob when it comes to this.

    thank you
     
  2. codyjansen

    codyjansen

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    im not sure but subbed because i want to know also
     
  3. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    You can just create a passworded homegroup from the Network and Sharing Center (control panel). Share files with the homegroup only, and only computers on the network that are connected to the homegroup with the correct password will be able to see your files.
     
  4. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    tried that and wouldnt work
     
  5. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    In what way did it not work?
     
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Ohio
    Can't you just set permissions on the shared folders so that only users from those computers can access them?

    edit: yeah, what Hockster just posted
     
  7. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    396 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    I've never used Homegroup, I do it the old fashioned way. Create identical accounts on each PC you want to share with. Accounts must have a password. Navigate to the folder your want to share. Right click, Properties, Sharing, Advanced sharing, check the box, Permissions, select everyone, click remove, click Add, type the account name you'll be using, click check names, click OK. Set permissions you want, I use Full Control, click OK as needed to close all dialog boxes. Do the same for all folders you want to share.
     
    theonedub, amd64skater and theJesus say thanks.
  8. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    im trying to to that first off how to create identical accounts.
     
  9. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    396 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Same name and password. You can use your current account, just add a password if you don't currently have one.
     
  10. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    both pc's have different names thats why i cant get it to work is their another way
     
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,392 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,231
    Nice tip, I like this better than Homegroup :D My transfers are still slow, but I think my planned move to N should fix that.

    AMD64-

    The user accounts on the computer need to be the same, not the PC name. So as long as each computer for example, has an account called AMD64Skater at the login screen and you have a password setup (that is the same on both rigs) you can access the folders as Hockster described. I just set it up and it works as promised :)

    Oh I also tried accessing the folders shared from another computer without the account and access was denied- it prompted me to input the correct username and password. So it will also keep those neighbors out of your files with no issues.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    396 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Not the PC names, your actual user account.
     
  13. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    well i finally just tried it again. and everytime i get to the make a name in the select user or groups screen and try to make a name i get name not found am i doing something wrong
     
  14. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Ohio
    Probably, but I'm not sure exactly what you were doing and I haven't done it in a while, so hopefully somebody else can provide further input.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page