1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to format acer F900?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Aleksander, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    One of my friends has bought an acer F900. He has some problems with it, so some of the problems are:
    1. When he calls someone, that someone takes the call and sees only a private number, not his number
    2. The touchpad is not very sensitive
    3. Gravity sensor does not work well
    4. Battery does not stand as mentioned in the phone
    5. Does not perform well and the phone is slow
    So what can i do to help him? Can i format the phone with windows 6.5 or smth better?
    How can i format the phone if it is possible to do that?
    Thx in advance :respect:
     
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Restore to factory defaults in settings, though sounds like the phones buggered, a restore probably won't fix it. I would tell him not buy cheap phones in future or "sold as seen" :rolleyes:
     
    Aleksander says thanks.
  3. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Ok, but i just want to know how to format the phone and install the windows 6.5 mobile
     
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    If it doesn't work good with 6.1 I doubt it will work better with 6.5. But here you have some instructions. Be aware that doing something like that can brick the phone totally.

    You can also check out the XDA Developers forum. They hack everything with everything and everything, it's a great forum.
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I don't think you can, resetting to factory defaults will do just that, though like I said, sounds like the phone is broke and reinstalling (if you can find a way to get a copy of win 6.5 for that particular phone with all the settings and drivers and then somehow install the image onto the phone) wont fix it IMO.
     
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Not to mention the hassle it is to upgrade phones like that. I've done it a couple of times and it's just a pain in the a$$ and often you don't get full functionality either.

    EDIT: Also the f900 was never a huge hit. I have an SE Xperia x1 and the intertubes are filled with good guides on how you upgrade to 6.5, but that phone was pretty popular.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page