1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to format on Windows 7

Discussion in 'General Software' started by 1nf3rn0x, May 5, 2012.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Yes I am asking this. You see, I'm such a lazy ass i've actually never reformatted my pc before, I'd just go out and buy a new hdd...well not today. I found a nice 8GB ddr2 kit for my 775 system and need a fresh install of 64 bit windows. I know searching the internet blah blah will tell me. But it would be nice to have a guide from guys at tpu :). I've backed up all my needed information onto an external.

    Now, will I need to download mobo drivers or windows should take care of that... As i've lost my mobo disk... XD

    Ok thankyou guys, sorry for such a stupid question :roll::banghead:
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,442 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    just format from the installer on the windows 7 DVD. the options there when you choose which drive to install on.


    i suggest partiotining the drive, i run with a 60GB C: drive, but then move my user folder to the D: partition - so that when i format/reinstall, my desktop/my docs, etc, dont get lost.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  4. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    150GB for OS should be fine?
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,360 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    yup
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah...same deal as when you are installing Windows on a brand new drive only you will delete volume first in this case.

    Yeah I have Windows 7 64 on a 60GB SSD including BF3 with like 18GB left.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    defeats the purpose IMO, you run it smaller and keep less there, so that you lose less when you format.

    i never install any games, or save any permanent files (images, music, movies, etc) on my C: drive. its purely for OS, and apps i'd need to reinstall anyway (office, photoshop, etc)
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  8. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Turn on your computer so that Windows starts normally, insert the Windows 7 installation disc or USB flash drive, and then shut down your computer.

    Restart your computer.

    Press any key when prompted, and then follow the instructions that appear.

    On the Install Windows page, enter your language and other preferences, and then click Next.


    Blah blah I would boot from disk, then reformat my primary drive, once thats done it should come up as a blank drive. I'll make the partition. Install on C and that should be it?
     
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yep
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,360 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    i do what you do more out of the fact that i dont enjoy the clutter on my SSD.but he has an external and thats always a better option then having a seperate partition so if he already has a totally seperate disk to do backups on then i dont see any harm in just using his whole HDD for everything personally.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    massive time saver for when you reinstall. rather than need to restore a backup, you simply change the user folders 'location' and bam, your stuffs back instantly.

    i simply see it as the larger my C: drive, the more data i lose/have to backup when i format.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,360 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    only have the HDD you want windows on in the system. make sure it backed up

    boot of disk.

    click install now

    select HDD from list.

    Press delete button

    select disk from list

    press format button

    availible MB box will then appear

    just hit ok

    then select HDD

    hit next

    go get a soda.


    i understand like i said i do the same thing your proposing. but were talking to the guy that just goes out and buys new harddrives. thats like buying new clothes when yours get dirty. as long as he backs up regularly we shouldnt complicate him with that guide.
     
    Mussels and 1nf3rn0x say thanks.
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Heh on a Vertex 3 on a recent build it installed in like ten minutes.
     
  14. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I like this idea, very much

    As with motherboard drivers, would windows do it for me? I should i go quickly download them before i format..?
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,360 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    i personally do it like this.

    install OS

    install drivers for wifi if needed

    do ALL windows updates

    keep doing updates

    go into device manager and see what has a yellow question mark next to it.

    go get those drivers

    while getting needed drivers look through list of possibly cool stuff they also offer you in the name of software

    download that too

    install drivers and cool tuning stuff

    defrag

    install games

    defrag

    play games.

    EDIT:: make sure you actually go out and get your graphics card drivers though. windows will do it. but their usually a few gens behind even if WHQLs came out like a week before. im pretty sure they gave me 180.xx nvidia drivers for the GTX260 i installed in a rig about a month ago. even though we were aways into the 2xx series at that time.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  16. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Yep doing that now, I thought while I'm doing that why not download the newest motherboard drivers aswell :)

    Edit: Thankyou everyone for your great help :D
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,360 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    good then you should have the base down and after that you instll whatever it is you install. your from OZ so i imagine if you have any trouble mussels could walk over and help you out.
     
  18. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,263 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,176
    Location:
    Oregon
    Its good practice to format and reinstall. It the best solution for various malware detected or undetected. Each time you do it you get a little better at it. I like to get the updates and drivers finished and then do a system image to another drive. Or have an extra drive and do an install pull it out and just have that as a back up
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,452 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,732
    Killdisk, free and works well, if u need higher level function such as complete DOD wipe u can buy it but for us the ordinary wipe completely removes the partition and Data on a drive

    http://www.killdisk.com/downloadfree.htm
     
  20. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    OK booted from disk mission format is a go XD hmm so windows is loading files cones up then it shows the windows loading screen but then nothing appears its just a blank screen with a cursor and stock windows 7 bg, ill try it again...
     
  21. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,360 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    no it takes a second. just let it sit. and by second i mean it could take a few min. this is largly dependent on your disk drive seek/read time.
     
  22. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Oh ok well i reset.and booted from disk again ill give it some time. Its only been around 20 seconds now...
    Op there we go it booted up now telling me to select lang country and so on :)
     
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,360 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Location:
    Florida
    i did a windows 7 format on a 775 dell a few months ago. it legitimately took it about 10 or so min before the install screen popped up and i was even using a SATA connection on a fairly new drive. it also has to do with what speed the disk was written at.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  24. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Everythings working fine now going through the setup, ill.keep you guys updated if i need some help. Thanks again :)

    @setup is starting screen as cursor shows its loading, im guessing this will take a while too?
    Edit: i sware everytime i write something here it theb decides to.load


    Ok ok now what. I went to.custom installation and i had a 120gb partition but.i want to clean my whole drive...? I go advanced and press format or delete for.both?
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    i think its a bug, some systems takes ages to load, others load instantly. problem is worse on my USB installer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page