1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to get about 50% fan speed on 4870 with RBE?

Discussion in 'RBE' started by goitalone, Sep 26, 2008.

  1. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I flashed my bios using this tutorial and used what he used as the values but its not cool as the CCC fan profile edit where I had it set to 50% manual.

    I just need to know how to get the bios to pump out approximately 50% fan speed at all times for the minimum speed.

    Right now at 53 C idle, but with the profile edit, I was at 39 with 50% and that is what I would like to get int he bios. I do not want to flash the bios again until I know how to achieve this.

    Thanks if someone can help!

    EDIT: I am talking about using the "Use transfer function" function I mean, not the table.
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  2. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do I just use 50% Duty Cycle min. with whatever I choose for Tmin?
  3. bubje

    bubje New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    try this

    Attached Files:

    • 50%.JPG
      50%.JPG
      File size:
      84.1 KB
      Views:
      313
    goitalone says thanks.
  4. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll give 'er a shot.
  5. bubje

    bubje New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    goitalone says thanks.
  6. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, I don't like that program tho and I already have too much stuff running as it is.

    What I ended up doing was I set it to 8 Tmin and its right where I want it now at 3300 RPM on Everest and now I am back down to 39-41 C temps

    just hope thats ok and won't mess anything up
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  7. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. bubje

    bubje New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    you can run the rivatuner fansettings without having to run rivatuner tho, but if you dont like the program use the bios.thanx for the song:toast:
    i prefere rivatuner ´cause it´s a bit smoother then the bios tweak
    goitalone says thanks.
  9. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Welcome, and again, thanks to you too for the replies :toast:
  10. bubje

    bubje New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    you can also try to use the powerplay bios from Fastmix which also helps to lower your temps
    you can find it here in The 4870 "2D Low", GPU voltage/Memory clock rate Bios Thread
    goitalone says thanks.
  11. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    powerplay in the bios? how does that work exactly?
  12. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    if you want 50 at all times, use the look up table and set the fan speed for all value at 50.
    goitalone says thanks.
  13. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cool, I'll try it...much appreciated!
  14. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wait...what do I use to flash the .bin files? Will ATIWinFlash work?
  15. goitalone New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What do I use to flash the .bin file?
  16. bubje

    bubje New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    goitalone says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page