1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to get rid of pagefile completely???

Discussion in 'General Software' started by PuMA, May 28, 2007.

  1. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I have disabled pagefile from the control panel, but task manager shows 300mb of pagefile still in use. Any1 is it possible to disable pagefile completely????
     
  2. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    After you select no page file you need to reboot. Sometimes you need to manually delete pagefile.sys. I see no reason to do so though, it only brings trouble.
     
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You need a page file for some programs you know right?
     
  4. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    yes i know, but what does the 300mb pagefile do and do I really need it?? I've been running with pagefile disabled quite awhile now....
     
  5. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    A while ago some people on the forums did a few tests and found that they received slightly better performance when they had a pagefile, run a search and you will probably find the thread. You have over 330GB of storage are you really going to miss 300MB?
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I was one of those people that tested, many would say that if you have 2GB or more of RAM that a pagefile is not necessary, I tried working without one for 2 weeks, I saw no performance increase as some thought. The downside is that some applications use the Windows pagefile and by default expect to have Virtual memory enabled, if it is not the application might crash, such applications are CAD and some Video convertion and encoding/decoding software.

    The secret is I think, to ensure that the initial size and the maximum size are the same so set it to "custom", that way there is less virtual swopping in the system, I have both of mine set to 2048.
     
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I did that test too. I found that photoshop could not run without pagefile, so I fixed it. Then I moved the pagefile on its own partition to the middle part of the hd, and performance increased a little.
     
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,867 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    On my old system I had a second smaller HDD and used part of it to be my pagefile, leaving my main windows drive and game partition clear. That did increase performance some, but nothing worth getting a seperate HDD for. I also tried running with no pagefile, and it seemed my system got slower so after a couple of days it was back on. I see no purpose to disabling the pagefile, as Dan stated you're looking for trouble by disabling it.
     
  9. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    The reason I run without pagefile is because armed assault: the game runs smoother without pagefile. The only trouble I've found is that prime 95 reports out of virtual memory, but I can live without it. I run the game on separate HD, and saw some boost from it. So i might try to move the pagefile.sys to another folder and see if that helps.
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    You should not have problems running without a pagefile for games, games are not specifically written to make use of virtual memory, as I said in an earlier post, I ran without a pagefile for 2 weeks without a single hitch, gaming everyday but it is not recommended to run without one if you use various applications as some do expect virtual memory.
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    hmm why not use an SSD for page file :)
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    But thats an exspensive option for a 1% performance increase, might as well just keep it on yer normal HDD.
     
  13. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    Puma download OcBible (the System Reporter shows pagefile usage) and more hot info.
    Discussion for pagefile usage here at ABXzone.
    Unfortunatelly my photos there are not visible for guests. :)
     
  14. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    we had a good conversation about the no pagefile, in armed assault forums and some1 said that windows creates hidden pagefile, when no pagefile is selected, is that true???
     
  15. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Nonsense:twitch: Who told you that? :wtf:
     
  16. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    If u'r talking about deleting/moving pagefile.sys, it was banjoman: the very first post.(yes im a snitch:rockout: :rockout: )
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page