1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to improve system boot speed.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jaffakeik, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I have newly instaled windows(VISTA home 64bit) and my System specs in profile.
    Nad SSD as OS disk.And my systems boots from bios screen about 40sec.And that windows line goes about 7times before i get to login screen.and login screen takes about 10sec to get to desktop but desktop loads momentally and everithing works smooth after that.
    So can i somehow improve that or it is different for each hardware build-up.
  2. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    40 seconds is a pretty quick boot. you can minimize the time by disabling startup entries and services which you dont need.
  3. kyle2020 Guest

    40 seconds is damn slow judging by how fast my system boots up, and the fact that your running a vertex - ill shut mine down now and stop watch time it.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,709 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,225
    move to windows 7, have less stuff load with windows.
  5. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    yeah. to be honest i kinda miss vista :(
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Definitely disable any unnecessary items in the BIOS - make sure the SSD is the first boot device and that it doesn't search anything else. When in Windows, remove as many Start-Up items as you possibly can. Disable any unnecessary services and see what you get.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,709 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,225
    vista just does a lot on boot. it can defrag certain files, load superfetch caches, and so on.

    Vista is also not setup by default for SSD's (google for guides on how to tweak) so its not using it as it should to speed it up - 7 is designed for them, and 7 has overall faster boot times anyway.
  8. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Ok ty i will try to do some advices u gave me, will se how it will improve.Windows 7 i will install as fast as i will get my preoder :)
  9. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    my re-boot-time is now 77sec
  10. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,764 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    New York
    disable error checking in bios too as this adds to boot time.
  11. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    ok i got now 75sec of all startap items disabled.now will try t disable bios err check and change my ssd to master as it it is in slave now.
  12. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Strange. No matter what SATA2 connector i use my HItachi disk shows master 0 and SSD shows slave 1.I got em on seperate cabels.And when i got em on what was the same.OK will see if my sys reboot is faster than 77sec, till now performance was 75sec maybenow i will get faster scores :)
  13. AKlass New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    go to Msconfig, select the boot tab and click advanced options. then select the number of processors to how many cores you have
  14. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    NIce now i got time from reboot sys to desktop 69sec nice performance i think 6sec over last improvement:) And got 4.5 timelines in windows instead of 7.But login screen prelude is still long showing 10sec about.
  15. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i put there 8cores.is it right?
  16. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    How many times per day are you rebooting that 75 seconds is not fast enough. 0_o

    Edit: p.s. the edit button is your friend :)
  17. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i am rebooting about 2-3times if needed
  18. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well just keep in mind the engineer's paradox, which I have illustrated in the scientific graph below:

    [​IMG]

    :)

    Attached Files:

  19. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,536 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I know what you mean.I just wanted to get performance as shown in some videos of youtube that booting is in 10sec but im my case i guess its impossible.Maybe it will with windows 7 atleast faster than 69sec :) but ty anyway.
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,999 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,098
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Try newer/older drivers for everything. Drivers, by far, have the largest impact on boot times (unless your computer is bloated to the high heavens). Especially try different chipset drivers. Some chipsets boot really fast and some don't. By association, motherboard choice seems to play a big role in how fast it boots (not only in "press # key" pauses but also drivers).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Does bootvis work on vista ? Never tried it personally . Something to think about tho`
  22. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    How long before you get to load screen ? seems like his problem is getting past post etc and not windows starting up
  23. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Your boot is very slow compared to mine. About 15 seconds booting

    First of all , did you installed your Vertex after windows setup or did you also took a new windows install ? If you installed windows on your vertex without using Vista SP1 or Windows 7, your SSD is not aligned. Furthermore Vista does not supports TRIM , which also helps to make your SSD run faster. (It optimizes your SSD , google for Windows 7 TRIM) . Also do you have the latest firmware? (1.30)

    Copied from tweakers.net (dutch hardware forum) and translated for you

    Shortlist:

    * Alignen (aligning): yes
    * Defragmentation: no
    * Indexing: no
    * Swapfile on SSD: yes
    * leave10% empty: your choice but highly recommended
    * Raidcontroller: your choice
    * Cachingsoftware (Hard drive data cache): yes if using JMicron

    you could do alot of things to make your SSD run faster.

    I personally recommend you to backup your files and install windows 7, but before that you must run the OCZ erease tool . It ereases your SSD so it runs as new. After that install Windows 7.

    for more tips and tricks go to OCZ forum. You'll learn alot about SSD's
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2009
  24. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
  25. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page