1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to improve the audio quality of dell inspiron 15R ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by subhendu, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    yea when I tried running sibelius it is taking 1.25gb of ram ..I don't have creative sound card in my laptop....
  2. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    your probably stuck with the all in one ASIO drivers.. Just going to have to tweak with the options I bet.. Since I have a creative card.. im always going to get better performance using there drivers most the time

    As I said.. The 1st time I ran FL without tweaking it a tad.. it sounded like utter shit

    Think you problem might just be a lack of ram or you just need to mess with the audio settings in the options..

    What OS you running.. I went back to look but I dont think you said...if you running vista/7.. you DEFINITELY don't have enough ram.. with XP.. you should but i dont know.. I remember when I had XP.. after bootup I had around 200 of ram usage but my system was running kinda lean.. Add that too the 1.25Gb and your using like 70% of your total Ram.. That's the reason I said.. not to run stuff in the background if you can avoid it... this might help.. These music programs are RAM and CPU hungry...

    Never used sibelius but I know what it is.. That program uses 1.25Gb.. Wow:banghead:... I picture a pacman just gobbling up 1's and 0's:eek: LOL

    Are you running BOTH of these programs simultaneously?
    subhendu says thanks.
  3. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    guys before you get carried away with upgrading his pc...an i3 is more than fine for audio use... he needs to check in the programs audio settings what soundcard driver he is using (WDM, ASIO etc...) and at what latency it is set at... even an overclocked i7 will stutter with a non ASIO driver with the latency set too low...

    You can get away with a crappy CPU on FL studio and other audio DAW's if you just set the latency higher so that the processor needs to do less in realtime... or alternatively use an ASIO driver
    subhendu and Brandenburg say thanks.
  4. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    What i have been saying ALL along
    twicksisted says thanks.
  5. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I am using win 7 32bit os ...I have 2gb ddr3 in my laptop..I guess it is the latency problem..I have to check it..
    I am using onboard audio of my laptop ..how to check the latency settings ?
  6. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    options>Audio is the screen you will need i think

    select ASIO4Allv2

    then select show asio panel

    I know there is a readme that explains these settings. You might need look at it if you already haven't.. Beyond that.. i dont know


    <edit>
    ... latency is listed on the top of the ASIO property.. Mine says Buffer length 512 samples (12ms).. latency would be the 12ms

    You need to adjust the ASIO buffer size.. click on the show asio panel.. after that.. bottom of the screen that button takes you too
    slide the slider to the left=lower latency
    slider the slider to the right=reduces glitches
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
    subhendu says thanks.
  7. kcaj_sac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah any USB audio device would be good. They are commonly called "DAC"s.By any I mean the ones over $50, the really cheap ones might not be any better then your onboard .


    http://www.apex-computer-repair-london.com/
    subhendu says thanks.
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    as long as it supports ASIO... (theres many of them, mainly audio interfaces for music production starting anywhere from £40 up
    subhendu says thanks.
  9. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    wow now I am using fl studio & sibelius w/o any issues ...Thank you very much friends....You guys helped a lot ..
    Brandenburg says thanks.
  10. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    what did you do to fix it?
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,007 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,399
    my guess is ASIO4all
  12. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    AHH.. yea.. after i installed FL.. it stuttered alot.. Not sure what the default was.. but it improved greatly after i set it for ASIO..
  13. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    yea...true .I just changed it to ASIO4all ..now everything working fine w/o any problems .
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,516 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    FUBAR?? seriously??


    +1.

    i thought my onboard VIA was great. Till i jacked it up to my sony MHC G50II with a stereo to dual phono cable i made.

    the audio quality has increased 0/0 times!

    @subhendu
    ps, r u a bangali like me? ur name sounds like it
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,007 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,399
    i use winamp, but i hear people rant about fubar still.
  16. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    i use winamp for audio....VLC for video
  17. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,531 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    If your sequencing in FL you can turn up the latency. Try >50ms. Although ASIO-for-all offers lower latentcy, it also takes some processing power. If your CPU is your bottleneck then you need to unload as much as you can, not add more. Low latency is desired by a musician who is playing along with the music in real time. Like a keyboardist. In that case, ASIO-for-all can benefit them. If your only sequencing then just turn up the latency.

    $.02

    Ditch FL and get Reason. =)
  18. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    Reason I set my latency to the lowest that is possible with out stuttering any.. Believe I set my Creative ASIO control panel to 7ms.. Perfect setting for my PC.. any less and the skipping/stuttering starts
  19. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Ditch reason and get Ableton Live ;)
  20. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,531 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Been there, done that.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page