1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to make a floppy for F6 RAID driver install when installing XP?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by KBD, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I'm about to set up RAID 0 for the first time and i need help. Basically, i need to know how to properly make a floppy for F6 RAID driver installation during a fresh install of XP on a new system. I already configured both HDDs to RAID mode on the Abit IP35 Pro and entered the Intel utility to set em up for RAID 0. I downloaded the latest version of the Intel 32-bit Floppy Configuration Utility on another computer:

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...&OSFullName=Windows* XP Home Edition&lang=eng

    and extracted the 7 files as well as formatted a blank floppy. Now do i simply copy those 7 files to the blank floppy and then use it when asked to press F6 during XP install? or do i have to something special: copy them in a special way or something? I know i lot of folks here have RAID setups using the Intel ICHR, i'm hoping some of them can help.
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just copy onto a floppy. No special things needed, and when it says press F6, do that and it can load the drivers straight off the disc.

    :toast:
    KBD says thanks.
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    ok, thanx, i wasnt sure if it was that simple so i had to ask :)
  4. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Can't get RAID to install on XP

    I must be doing something wrong cause i can't get RAID to install. I got the files copied to a formatted floppy, set CD-Rom as first boot drive, pressed F6 and the pressed the "S" key, selected ICH8R/ICH9R/ICH10R SATA RAID option and then i get this message:

    File iaStor.sys caused an unexpected error (4096) at 2113 in D:\xpsrtm\base\boot\setup\oemdisk.c.

    I don't understand why this happening, anyone ever had this problem?
  5. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Well, problem resolved. Apparently the RAID drivers need to be copied to floppy in a certain way afterall. They need to be downloaded (they come zip format) and extracted directly into drive A:, not extracted to default location to which they were downloaded and then copied and pasted. Took a me a day of troubleshooting to fiugure this out.
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    That is one of the first things that impressed me about Vista. I did not have to do a F6 install to load RAID drivers. It saw what was on my mobo and was happy.

    Not promoting Vista, per se, it was just the first time I did not have to do the F6 crap when installing an OS.

    Glad you got it working :toast:
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Must mean there were hidden files. Sorry bout that. :eek:

    But like Kreji said, has been a while cus I didt need to bother with Vista, and now I have given up on Raid completely! :rolleyes:
  8. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    That's a possibility, though i didn't see any hidden files in there and I have show hidden files and folders enabled.
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    How about protected system files on show?
    Still wierd, I've never had prob before, but hey, at least you got it fixed

    :toast:
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Yes, i think i have that on also. Still weird, it was trial and error last night and this morning, until i decided to extact the driver directly onto a floppy, i was getting deparate and decided to give it shot and it worked. I'm just happy that i got it working :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page