1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to mod a 4 pin atx

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by AceAdey, Oct 30, 2011.

  1. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Does anyone know a reference guide for removing these 4 pins?

    I presume they do not have the same technique as pcie.
  2. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    4 pin peripheral molex
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    There is an edit button at the lower right corner, please learn to use it.

    On topic, what do you want to do with the cable?
    You want to make one?
    Remove one?
    redesign it to make sammiches?

    Also we are not Google;) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcV7l1pER2M
    AceAdey says thanks.
  4. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Sorry. I want to remove the two pins from it and move their config, to connect to another molex with some wire coming from that. lets say its using 3 4. i want to change that to pin 1 2.
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    look at that video link I sent, it shows how to remove the wires from the clips. I would imagine it has tabs on the sides of the metal pins that pass through the plastic. bend them in and pull the wire and pin out, then arrange them whatever way you want, as long as it is electrically correct.
  6. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    [​IMG]

    I have to take my two pin sensor probe, that is in a molex, to the temperature sensor on Poweradjust. Which way would be the best?

    I have molex that runs to two pin for the Poweradjust. But is there a better way? All I have to do is take out the pins and connect them properly?...A two pin fan connector is what I'm after, right?

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 30, 2011
  7. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Where exactly are you trying to plug it in to? The 4pin on that diagram powers the rest of the unit... that 2pin spot is for reading the temp of your system or wherever you put the sensor. Not sure what that USB header is for, maybe some software level control? or a charger port? (phones for ex.)

    Is the controller not letting you... well... control the fan speed? If you want to control all the fans at once I'd suggest just wiring a potentiometer into the 12v line just before the plug. this way you can turn the knob and adjust the speed that way.

    Or, if you want all the fans to run at a low 5v speed then you would take the RED pin out and put it in the place of the YELLOW and manually plug in those. also, the BLACK wire closest to the RED should be swapped over as well... So basically take the RED and BLACK pair and move it over to the YELLOW and BLACK pair's spot on the controller, and then just cover the others with electrical tape so they don't short anything. This will force all the fans to run off the 5v however any adv. features on the controller (like that usb header?) will be disabled since they wont have power, assuming the unit will power up on 5v anyway.
  8. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    just need to wire in my temp sensor for now. its plugged in the bottom of the reservoir and shoud allow the software to monitor temps.

    From following the cable the usb controls the laing ddc pump.
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
  9. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Hmm sorry for not making sense.

    I have a green led, plugged that into a fan port, it got very hot and packed up. It did feel odd putting it on a 3 pin socket as a 2 pin led. I guess that is why it packed in. I bought a new molex LED tonight. Will try and put it in a spare molex hole that I have. I will let anyone who reads this know how it goes down.

    Also on its way is a new in line temp sensor. I don't know why my rig never had one when I bought it second hand though. I believed the bloke must have pinched them off it before he sold the bare bones. lol at myself noob.
  10. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    I got two new ultra bright LEDs that run from two molex plugs and I've blown one of them within 2 minutes! Come on guys, what am I missin'?
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    What voltage are you supplying to the LED?
  12. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    dont know i would guess too much
  13. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I believe you have answered your own question.

    A little reading material.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page