1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To Overclock a Locked New Sandy Bridge E Processor - By Intel

Discussion in 'News' started by qubit, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    We know how chip manufacturers aren't usually very keen on overclocking of their products, but here, Intel explains the actual steps to take in achieving a great overclock! And oddly enough, this includes their locked CPUs as well, which raises the question of why lock them at all? Bit-tech looked into overclocking the new LGA2011 Sandy Bridge E in detail.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]Intel highlights the key areas for overclocking Sandy Bridge E processors, and gives a practical example of a 4.74 GHz overclock

    Here are the basics:

    - Locked CPUs can be overclocked too
    - SB-E has more flexible base clock overclocking, using two dividers, 1.25x & 1.66x
    - You need to play with Turbo Boost to prevent power limiting from throttling the system back
    - There's some scary maths to work out, for example: 1) 5,000 ÷ 1.66 = 3,012 2) 3,012 ÷ 100 = 30.012 3) 3,012 ÷ 30 = 100.4 system clock. Likely a spreadsheet would help here.

    For full details, see the bit-tech article, where they work out how to push an SB-E system to a healthy 5 GHz.

    Source: bit-tech
     
  2. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Good find. Very interesting. Let me know when you have that spreadsheet ready ;)
     
    qubit says thanks.
  3. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yeah, you can just imagine the multiple forum threads of confused members trying to figure out how to overclock their Sandys. :laugh:

    It shouldn't be too hard for someone like W1zzard to program a little app where you plug in the numbers and it works it all out for you.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    This is good! Real overclocking just like mama used to make without alll those convenient unlocked multipliers! If you can use a calculator.. or even your brain, you can overclock SB-E. Good news, thanks for the info. :toast:
     
    Bundy, D4S4 and qubit say thanks.
  5. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Would love to see an app for that, if SB-E can really easily do 5GHZ with a 6 core i might be looking to switch up to it >_> provided they make some M-ATX boards too
     
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    It would be easy enough for anybody to code into excel with a few simple formulas.

    Good show by Intel to stand behind its overclocking community.
     
    shb- says thanks.
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,363 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,217
    Looks like a brown pant move by Intel, BD has arrived and made some huge gains and now they can no longer rest on their laurels.

    Better break out the overclock.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You could well be right. This would mean that AMD is finally starting to give Intel some much needed competition. New products have to leapfrog each other every generation, not be sort kinda comparable with the competitions current lineup. :rolleyes:
     
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    i can't remember where i heard it but isn't bulldozers replacement architecture coming in quite fast, like mid 2012 or something, it would've been a much bigger gap but with all the bulldozer delays...

    EDIT:Found it

    where the server parts go the desktop parts usually receive a cut down version a few months later, so late q3/q4 2012
     
  10. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Good to sandy B-E samples
     
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah but math makes my brian hurt
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Loving how they say they have no chips, but here, this is how you overclock. HMmmm...
     
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Seems like bulldozer is better than they anticipated.
     
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yeah, it could well be AMD sandbagging Intel with this one. And why not? It's good to let Intel know they're not omnipotent.
     
  15. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
  16. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    CMIIW, looking at the pic, it stated 4.754ghz OCed @turbo boost, so it pratically 3 core running @ those speed, while the other 3 cores remains idle @4.354ghz.

    And if Intel suggesting and giving an example on how to OC their cpus, does it means there are no voiding warranty regarding overclocking their cpus?
     
  17. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    This is excellent news. SB-E will overclock high and there is 'some' skill involved. Glad we don't need the unlocked multi - that is for noobs.
     
  18. AnnCore

    AnnCore Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Neuchâtel, Switzerland
    I guess spelling does too. ;)
     
  19. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    383 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Or Intel could respect the community who buys the SB-E processors and just friggin' unlock them. Cost to unlock? ... nothing. They just want to squeeze you for a couple extra bucks even when you're spending over $300 on a CPU alone.

    I'm getting sick and tired of Intel.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    +1 here, dude. :shadedshu That's why I asked this very question in the article.

    Ultimately, even though you can still overclock them, you'll be more limited in what you can achieve than if the CPU was unlocked - and it's more difficult to get there, too.
     
  21. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    this is useless no how to just numbers and tech info
     
  22. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    I think the message is meant to be that if you do not feel confident enough to OC a mid range binned chip properly, then buy a high range binned and unlocked chip. (assuming you want to OC and are prepared to invest in the correct cooling and voltage control)

    There is no such thing as a cheap CPU that you buy and whack onto any mobo, turn the multi up to max, sit back and pwn.
     
  23. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    bottom line you can't do anything with this info its mumbo jumbo!!
     
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    No, it's not mumbo jumbo, you're missing the point of the article.

    Intel are just explaining the basics of how to go about it. The precise details will be explained at length by various review sites when the product is released.

    You can ask just why are they bothering to help overclockers? I think the answer's fairly obvious that it's to counter AMD's Bulldozer, which is starting to look better than people had speculated.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Why post a "how-to" when the CPU isn't even released? Even when it's released I don't see Intel posting "how-to's" on how to overclock their CPU's. Many can look at the pictures and understand what's happening here.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page