1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to re-install Win XP to upgraded MB from a pre-built PC

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by dieselcat18, May 9, 2010.

  1. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    I have a friend's PC who's MB died (ASUA P5LP-LE 775 Socket)....and am helping him install a brand new one (Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H AM3)...Also changing to a AMD Phenom II X2 555BE.

    The pre-built PC (HP Pavilion Media Center a1606n) which has Windows XP Media edition pre-installed on it came with no install disc and he doesn't have a key-code.

    My concern is how to get the OS re-installed on the new motherboard. I have done a few searches and it seems that there can be several issues when attempting this when not having a disc or key-code.

    I do have a spare disc w/ key-code for Windows XP Home Edition that I can let him use to install, but my concern is would there be any conflict with Win XP Media Center Edition already being on one of his HDD's.

    I suggested he call HP, which he did, and ask for their help, but since the PC is out of warranty they would not do anything unless he paid them a service charge...same held true for M$...they wanted 70 bucks.

    Is there any way to re-install the existing OS that was factory installed by HP without a disc and product key-code ? Or can I do a fresh install using Win XP Home Edition and if so what becomes of the Windows XP Media Edition thats already installed ? Will it cause any conflicts ?

    Any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated..... :)
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,453 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    IA, USA
    You got to buy a fresh OEM copy of the OS. They start at $100 from Newegg. Note that you'll lose MCE features. MCE is no longer offered. If you got drivers for it, I would consider upgrading it to Windows 7 Home Premium. It costs about the same but isn't going EOL (End Of Life).

    You'll lose everything by reinstalling the OS. Back everything important up via a different computer (plug HDD in, copy files). That risk is always present when dealing with OS installations--one wrong click and the file system tables are wiped clean and then what? XD Always backup first.
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL


    He won't be able to afford an upgrade to his OS for a while....so we are stuck with trying to get XP reinstalled.

    He has most of his files and folders already backed up. I can install his HHd on my system and back up any remaining stuff that needs to be saved.

    I have an extra copy of Windows Home Edition that I'm not using, Can that be used as a new copy to install on his HHD even though it's not Windows MCE ?

    Ford, thxx for the quick response....

    *+
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,453 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Retail = fresh install or upgrade.
    OEM (System Builder) = fresh install only
    Upgrade = upgrade only.

    I do not recommend taking the upgrade route even if it is available. Performance usually isn't the best and you could run into a lot of headaches.

    Every partition can only hold one OS. If you only have one OS, therefore, you can only have one OS. There are ways to create multiple partitions on a hard drive without losing existing data (Norton Ghost and similar utlities).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Is there a way to remove the pre-installed Windows MCE that's already on there before doing a freah OS install ?
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,453 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Delete the partition the MCE install is on (you can do this in the beginning steps of installing Windows). If you want to actually delete the data (as opposed to dereferencing it) you could use KillDisk. If you KillDisk a drive, there is virtually no chance of recovering the data that is on there.

    I highly recommend doing a full (not quick) scan for creating an NTFS partition. It is best to find bad sectors when the drive is empty so that nothing gets written to them during the install process.
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page