1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to recover ATI Radeon HD 4870 from bad BIOS flash

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
    rascal27, Frogger, nortino and 11 others say thanks.
  2. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Good man! This calls for a TPUpaypal address so that peeps can send you a $1 for a SERIOUS helpout there!
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Okay I spoke with no source, but my guess was right, had something to do with the EEPROM changes. :eek:
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    if you plan on donating to tpu, donate it to some charitable organization or use it for your own entertainment (drugs, booze girls).
    overclocker says thanks.
  5. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    My kind of admin :rockout:
  6. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    TPU sponsored booze girls FTW
  7. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    thankyou.... everyone involved including me, can now carry on benching.... perfect!
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    What drugs do you reccomend, or can we get a review with W1zz shots? :laugh:
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    good job wizz keep up the good work !!!
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    [​IMG]
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I dont think thats sugar :laugh:
  12. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    it looks good to me.... can i buy this in the classifieds.... lol
  13. envagyok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a serious problem.
    Hav a P45 board with bricked 4860, and when i try boot the pc with pci vga card, it not booting.
    At bios the first vga is set to pci, and the option disabled unused pci clock i try set to both option.
    I can change the bios settings just with an other pci-e vga card.
    With 4870 just 2 beep i hear, with pci vga card turn on the monitor when i turn on the pc, but no picture, no booting.
    What can cause this problem?
  14. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    it sounds like what paggered my hd4870 when i did my 4870 it ran 1st time then wouldnt after playing crysis for abit black screened even though i had my arctic s1 on it sent it back and got a new shiney one waiting for me at home :) after i get back from crete

    tried different ram ? made sure none of the irq's are conflicting and putting power connectors to your 4870 ? you should just be able to wack your 4870 in and it run fine why mess with the pci clock ? it should auto sync leave that alone and finally just make sure nothing is earthing and everything is sat in right
  15. str1k3r New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sounds like my kind of problem and my kind of plan.

    However, i've tried three different (incl the sapphire HD4870) cards to get picture back on my screen(s) but nothing.

    The PC starts up and all fans start working, but the screen stays blank. not even a hint of a visual. The power button is also flashing whereas it should be constantly lit.
    Weird thing is that if no signal (DVI or old style blue cable) passes from the PC to the screen due to the PC being disconnected from the power I get constantly lit power button on my screen and a message saying I need to check the signal cable.

    I can't even get into my bios to set different boot devices or anything.

    Anyone have any ideas or should I just reset me motherboard (MSI P45 platinum) and hope this resets what seems like a PCI-e slot problem (I have two slots and have tried them both and both er f-ed.
    And would resetting my mobo result in my RAID mirror config being screwed?

    many many thanks
  16. tnt23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    bricked 4870

    hi everybody

    i have a ASUS 4870 512 on which i flashed the bios in windows...(i know 2 stupid things not to do)

    Right now i dont even have a PCI card to fix this...but will be looking for one...

    Can anybody confirm that i cannot connect a NVIDIA 6800 on my SLIi board at the same time as the ATI ? (that would help)

    Also wondering where i can find the original bios ??? on asus site there is only the bios update...


    Another question : 4870.bin linked on this site is a modified one ?

    thx for answers
  17. E0x New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have a XFX HD 4870 with 1GB GDDR5 , this bios will work for that card too ? are the the bios the same not matter what vendor are ?
  18. Arucarde New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Help please

    Today I was flashing my Sapphire 4830 bios and it restart resulting on a dead card:banghead:..., will this solution work? And if so, can I do it whit an nvidea card?
  19. E0x New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my card is a XFX 4870 doing a bios update i f**ck the bios i post a ticket in the XFX support center and they send me a ISO that i need burn in a cd and boot with it , the iso will boot and do a force update in the first pcie device that it find , but my board dont do post without video card so i need find a old pci video card to get boot and use the ISO and work fine , maybe you can do that , find a pci video card boot with it and use some DOS boot ( Iso or floppy ) with the flashing too and the bios of you video card ( the correct one ) and reflash it maybe it will work , and if the nvidia have the same problem you can do the same too.

    pd: maybe you board dont get boot only with put the pci video card , so you need take off the pcie card first ( the ATI one ) and boot just with the pci video card enter in the bios and change the primary video device to PCI ( maybe will be set to PCIE so change it ) and go back and put the PCIE card and continue the process

    pd2: ask to the support crew of saphire if they can send you the correct o stock bios for you card.
  20. Arucarde New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did boot whit an pci card and try to flash the 4830 like this method and it can detect device,can some one give me something?Should Itry whit an pci-e?
  21. Arucarde New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    IT´S ALIVEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!Thank you E0x and W1zzard
  22. K91NE

    K91NE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston,MA
    Ok i am having a simlar problem i tried to flash my 2nd 4870 in PCI-E slot 2 with XFX bios so they will match.The problem i am haveing is when i did this winflash it didnt let me choose what card and it gave pci-e SLOT 1 A BAD BIOS FLASH.Now i can get WINFLASH 2017 or 2012 to open.When i click on it nothing happens and with ATIWINFLASH i get a ERROR Resources files missing.Im lost on what to do.ATI RBE_121 opens finds the path to Winflash and opens the crashes with the BSOD.
  23. noor98 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The Same issue with GA-V485OC-1GH - BIOS

    Dear;

    - I have the same issue with Gigabyte ATI card HD4850 1 GHz, can I follow the same procedure above with my case?
    - does the ATIflash tool works with this Gigabyte model? Gigabyte has its own tool called VGA @BIOS.
    - I have backup the original version before going through updating to F7 version , can I use as my original file or I do have to look for a new one?

    appreciates your kind help.
  24. maskulo New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi man!
    today i have just tried to flash my ati 4870 sapphire on my pc (wuìith an Asus p5k pro motherboard).
    but unfortunately, after i have flashed bios my video card doesn't work anymore.
    the upgrade of bios was ok but after i try to start pc but my monito was all black!!!
    pc starts, and also window i think start but no video signal appear on the monitor...
    i have read your post and you say that "i have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it. "
    "have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it. "
    sorry but i am not expert...:)
    can you explain me this better?
    now i have just installed an nvidia gts 8800 and it work properly and i have upgrade bios directly from usb with alt+F2 as bios start up and i have used the bios file downloaded from the website of my motherboard.
    thank for your attention!
  25. Dubious New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    First up, I'd like to say this thread saved my bacon hardcore. I was experiencing the symptoms that seem trademark of the 4870 - anywhere from 1 minute to several hours into a graphically intensive program, my machine would lock up accompanied by vertical bars or a strange pixelation - and decided to look to fix it. I read somewhere else about flashing, downloaded Winflash, a new BIOS and figured I was good to go. Went in all gung-ho like the flashed the card ... however it locked up again followed by the blue screen of death. Wouldn't POST no more and I was freaking. Researched alittle more on my roommates machine and came across this site. I opened my machine and found that I only had the one PCIe slot and no AGP slots, so I had no idea how I was to fix this. I tried booting the machine without any video card (and my mobo doesn't have any integrated graphics), getting to Windows (I could hear the start-up sound), plugging my card in at that point (which was probably a real foolish thing to do) and navigating to command prompt, copying and different BIOS from my flashdrive (as I figured the first one I had was bad) and flashing it blind from there. Tried this a few times and it didn't work. All today at work I was asking if anyone had an ancient machine around that had a PCI graphics card, to no avail. Hit the computer stores around town, to no avail. Was with a friend, walking around, heading to get a cup of coffee and we past a computer repair place. He suggested I try, just in case they have one. I was ... dubious, but did nevertheless. To my surprise, they did, though it had just been sitting there for ages. He just gave it to me. A glimmer of hope! Had coffee and took this sucker home. I could finally see again ... though my further efforts yielded no tangible results ... seems WinFlash wasn't working, neither in DOS shell or Windows (there was a process, but nothing happened) and Atiflash would bring up some error signal message. Downloaded RBE and GPU-Z, the latter of which could see my card, but the analysis in RBE using WinFlash didn't find anything. Nearly resigned to defeat, thinking I maybe fried my card earlier, I read alittle more and saw that Atiflash required an actual DOS enviroment. I decided to try that, as the final struggle, and made a bootable flashdrive. Copied the BIOS and Atiflash. Booted it up and ... HUZZAH! It flashed no problem. Ripped out the PCI card, restarted, and bam ... I was back in business, writing to you now, as some sorta testimonial, I guess.

    A big thanks to all who've contributed to his resolution. I am a smilling cat now. And to boot (ha!), I've more than a vague idea about graphics card flashing.

    I've an Ati Sapphire Radeon 4870 GDDR5 512mb

    I figure I'll take a shot at helping ya here ...

    You'll need another graphics card plugged into your motherboard, as well as your dead one. If like me, you've only a single PCIe slot on your motherboard, you'll have to acquire a card that'll fit in another slot. I'd be willing to bet you've a regular old school PCI slot in there, to which you'll need to find a card with that connection. When you do, you'll need to tell your motherboard BIOS to load that card as your primary video adapter (for example, I can elect to boot a PCI or PCIe slot first). You can access BIOS as the first screen comes up after you start ... where it shows you the memory check and all ... press F8 or DEL ... one should bring up BIOS - it should tell you how somewhere on that screen. This might require you to remove your dead card first in order to access the BIOS, in case it tries to boot that one up. Get the second card as your primary (and put your old one back in, of course) and load to Windows. You'll want to download RBE (Radeon BIOS Editor) and load the BIOS file you want to flash. There will be two BIOS Checksum numbers ... write these down. I'm not sure how Winflash works, as I've not actually been able to sucessfully run it (it caused a failed flashing that landed me in this soup in the first place ... did this in DOS shell). Create a bootable device, such as a floppy disk if you have the drive, or a USB flashdrive - this will require a specific program to do e.g. I used HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool and a copy of some DOS system files. Copy Atiflash and the BIOS file to the drive and write down the command line to flash the drive (atiflash.exe -p [index] [bios file].[ext] (my command line looked like: atiflash -p 0 1e8501sa.002) ). Restart your machine and it should boot to the USB. If it doesn't, you'll likely have to go into your mobo BIOS again and assign USB priority as a boot device over your harddrive i.e. make USB or USBHDD your Primary Boot Device, which should be located in the Advanced BIOS Setup. Save changes and restart. You should boot into DOS prompt. At this point, type: atiflash -i . This should display all Ati cards you have installed into your computer (in your case, one, right?) Check the first colomn (I think) for a single digit number, which corresponds to the location of your card. You may want to check your BIOS checksum at this screen too ... if you have two Ati cards in your machine (i.e. the second card you put in), make sure you find the don't flash that one. Look for a corresponding BIOS Checksum to the one you wrote down earlier. Once you have the location of the card, type in your command line to flash: atiflash -p [location of board] [bios file].[ext]. With any luck, this should fix your card right back up - this is how I finally fixed mine.

    Hope that helps ... may be alittle convoluted.

    And again thank you to the creator(s) of the above fix.
    nortino says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page