1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Reinstall Video Drivers (Quick Guide)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by erocker, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Just using this guide not to long ago to sufficently switch from my HD 5770 to my new GTX 470.

    Still an awesome guide erocker!:toast:
  2. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Alright, I got around to finally going through with this since I was done figuring out what was causing the crashes. I found that it most likely was driver related since defaulting my system to factory clocks.

    I didn't follow the guide in exactly the right order, I'll admit :\ I did find a few things out. Mainly, it seems so far that deleting almost every trace of ATi from the system AND registry, might not be the smartest of moves lol I've been looking at the laptop here typing this, and twice the Windows Repair has loaded which means that there was a fairly large error in booting into Windows >_> PROBABLY should've done the deletions in stages, but it's (IMO) kind of hard since every reboot would result in the system trying to install drivers, thus creating more work to clean up making it a non ending loop heh So I may have taken my cleaning, a bit too extreme.

    I'll just list basically all I can remember, so someone can possibly point out my error, but also so some of you don't exactly follow in my footsteps since it'll lead you off a cliff :laugh:
    1. Ran Cat Install Manager (CIM), uninstalled everything.
    2. Ran Driver Sweeper and removed nVidia everything (this Windows install was previously on a nF4 S949 system).
    3. Zipped up my Cat installers under a non ATi name, because the last time I ever used Driver Sweeper it would remove them too and I didn't want to have to redownload anything :)
    4. Compressed some items in the WinXS\Backup folder to save space (100mb saved, my HDD has less than a gig free :()
    5. Went through the System32\DriverStore, DRVSTR and Drivers folders, deleting anything nV and ATi related. (this is the most likely move that could have been the error)
    6. Went through System32 also deleting anything ATi, AMD and nV related.
    7. Went through the Registry to see if indeed the entries in my previous post had been removed by CIM, they had not.
    8. Deleted every trace of ATi/AMD (had some residual AMD OverDrive items) and nVidia entries (this also could have been the error)
    9. Ran Driver Sweeper for ATi entries, none showed up.
    10. Went into Device Manager, uninstalled both 5770s and chose the "Delete drivers for this device" option
    11. Scanned for new hardware, the task tray popup appeared informing me it was installing new devices, then failed to do so. (probably why Window's isn't able to load, as a result of something above)

    Window's Repair finally finished doing whatever it thought it could, which it was unable to repair anything. Reason given: "Problem Signature 07: BadDriver" (verbatim). It did list some other stuff, but nothing seemed of much relevance. By that I mean there were Problem signatures 1-7, with #1&2 being "6.1.7600.16385", #3 "unknown", #4 "24", #5 "AutoFailover" and #6 "1".

    Trying to boot under SafeMode and it seems that my above move of deleting System32\Drivers files would indeed be the "oops" moment :S It starts loading the files, which they are all coming from that directory, and then BSOD and reboot (sadly I have it set to auto reboot so I don't get to see what it says).

    Last ditch effort is to do "System Restore" in Windows Repair. I'll edit back with the results, not that it REALLY matters since the important info is above for what NOT to do! :laugh:
    Me->:slap:<-Me

    But while most people see this as a situation to get mad or frustrated over, I look at is as a learning experience that while it may have been my doing, I can easily undo it with a simple reinstall of windows ;) Which I had set on the back burner as what I'd end up doing if this uber-cleaning didn't fix the stability issue I've been having :p Live and learn!

    EDIT: Alright... First off, System Restore failed for some reason. Couldn't copy an ATi file. Which if it was in the DriverStore folders I can understand it. But I thought System Restore had it's own storage area and so that wouldn't matter? :\ I noticed also in the F8 boot options to not restart on BSOD, so I've got the very short and vague error screen o_0 Pretty much your typical idiot message that starts with "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer" following with "If this is the first time..." sentence and follows up with "Check for viruses..."

    Only thing it gives is:
    *** STOP: 0x0000007B (0x80786B58, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    Never seen a solid 0 one before, let alone two! heh

    So I think I'm left with reinstalling Windows, but I'm going to try a drastically radical idea first..... :D Erocker, check your PM lol
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2010
  3. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,607 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    I'll read tomorrow , just going to sleep.

    In the meantime , check how much physical RAM you have , then go into system (mycomputer properties or in control panel) go for advanced and performance and advanced again and set pagefile(virtual memory) to [physical memory] + 100MB. Set it on C: (system) drive only , apply , ok , also in system properties there's a Startup & recovery settings , in system failure part , set to FULL SYSTEM MEMORY DUMP , from the dropdown , also deselect "automatically restart".

    If you have Win7 , regedit , HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CrashControl , set CrashDumpEnabled to 1 , this will unlock full dump or else only small and kernel.

    But anyways if you don't have problem with game , but only with drivers ,kernel dump (300 MB) might be just ok.

    Recreate the problem and let it dump the memory , leave the PC in BSOD until it completes.

    save all dumps and minidumps somewhere safe , sometimes they tend to disappear in a while when windows silently messes with them.
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  4. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,922 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    very nice quick and easy guide erocker
  5. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Yea, skimming what I posted didn't quite get you enough info :laugh: The biggest bit of info that renders your whole post ( not to sound like a jerk but...) rather useless is that I can't get into Windows, period. Not standard way, safe-mode, not even with Windows Repair using System Restore. Now I did just have an idea that I tried right now, using the "Last Known Good Configuration", and it actually got me partially into Windows. I mean partially, because it A) didn't BSOD and B) I have mouse and sort-of video (the Welcome Screen loaded), however; I have a bit of a problem which I think might have been from asking erocker to send me his ATi/AMD System32/Drivers files, and I think he uses x64. I use x86 and I think the file for video is not working. So all I have is a black screen with a mouse cursor :( :laugh:

    I'm going to try deleting them. The PC did just randomly reboot and it is having a problem detecting something. I suspect it is possibly the DVD drive I put in so I could reinstall Windows, because it is hanging at the BIOS screen now :confused: I'm quite certain that is it, so I'll unplug that and attempt booting Windows before I go and delete those files. Finally loaded the BIOS. It doesn't detect my boot drive OR the Optical drive now lol Wonder why it decided to do this after my first POST... Oh well no problem I'll just unplug it lol

    EDIT: Seems like "Last Known Good Configuration" saved me arse lol Although, during typing, after I had restarted due to a screen res change screw up, it has gone back to it's old routine so I'm going to have to try it again heh

    While I should still reinstall Windows and move to x64 to utilize my full 4GB, I am going to put that off for when I get a new HDD. Thinking about the 640GB WD Caviar Black SATA6.
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  6. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,607 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    When they didn't had the "caviar black" brand , i mixed the models "AALS" with "AAKS" and i thought AAKS was better (more cahce) but no , it's AALS that's now the black version. And i realized that a year later , too late...
  7. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    And it isn't even that anymore it would see :eek:
    WD6402AAEX
    WD - Durr? :p
    640 - 640GB
    2 - SATA 6
    AAEX - Who the hell knows:laugh:
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If anything you'll be getting more infractions.

    You are spreading lies, brand DOESN'T MATTER. You can install drivers anyway you'd like with any brand, ATI or Nvidia, it makes not a hell of a difference.

    And i use a Nvidia card and i uninstall the old drivers and install the new ones, then of course i use driver sweeper.(i do the registry stuff if im switching brands, like if i went from Nvidia to ATI or vice versa.)
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    No need to worry about it. The troll got his vacation.

    As always if anyone has anything useful to add to this guide please feel free to post.

    Thanks much. :toast:
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  10. Kovoet

    Kovoet

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    863 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    thanks a lot for this
  11. Bo7jab New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    TY very much it helped in ccc cross fire cant apear in the tap

    hope for you best of luke it solved my proplem if i may can i post thes wep for thos who have same proplem ty
  12. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,591 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,290
    nice guide. you can also uninstall with revo uninstaller and then use wise registry and disk cleaner. hence you won't bother with emptying/deleting the folders and messing with regedit.
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    Updated.

    Added new link to Driver Sweeper.

    As always if anyone has any useful tips please post them!

    Thanks.
    LifeOnMars and xBruce88x say thanks.
  14. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Erocker, I have always followed your guide for installing drivers. However, I tend to alter the saturation amount in CCC and I've noticed that even after I have followed the guide, when the new drivers are installed the saturation amount and also my gaming settings (Catalyst AI disabled) etc, remain the same. What Am I missing? I'll attempt to put down my procedure to see if you can see what I'm missing -

    1. Uninstall CCC, reboot

    2. Regedit - HKEY CURRENT USER/Software/Delete ATI Folder
    HKEY LOCAL MACHINE/SOFTWARE/Delete AMD & ATI Technologies Folders

    3. C: Users/My Name/AppData/Local/Delete ATI Folder
    Empty Temp Folder

    C: Users/My Name/AppData/Roaming/Delete ATI Folder
    Also virtual store if any ACE entries in there

    4.C: Delete ATI Folder
    C:program Files/Delete ATI Folder
    Delete ATI Technologies Folder

    C:program Files(x86)/Delete ATI Technologies Folder
    Check Temp Folder and delete if necessary

    C:program Data/Delete ATI Folder

    C:Windows/Empty Prefetch & Temp Folders
    Delete atiogl.xml and ativpsrm.bin files

    REBOOT

    Install new drivers

    So what am I missing buddy? It has me a bit flummoxed.

    EDIT - OK it seems I have missed Driver Sweeper....DUH. Never seen the new one before either, nice. I'll give it a whirl and see if it does the trick.
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    Your old profile(s) in the AppData folder. First you need to go to the Control Panel->Folder Options->View and tick "Show hiden files, folders, and drives.

    Then go to your Documents folder (Folder with your name on it)->AppData and get rid of the ATi folders in the Local and Roaming folders. Should be good to go from there. :toast:
    LifeOnMars and xBruce88x say thanks.
  16. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,361 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    i'm guessing there's an equivalent for nvidia. I'm thinking about clearing them out... some icons and such aren't smoothing correctly and i'm seeing rough edges and fonts. I dunno if its the Win7 display optimization wizard messing with it or a setting in the nVidia control panel
  17. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I already delete those folders as part of my normal procedure unfortunately. I just decided to try out a fresh driver install with driver sweeper incorporated and I still had the pre-modified colour settings and 3D settings when the new driver was installed.

    This is really puzzling but it signifies to me that it is not a complete, clean install of new drivers(at least for me anyway) so I want to get to the bottom of it. Anyone else care to chip in, see my current procedure three posts above and see if you can find what I'm missing. Thanks
  18. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,865 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Location:
    Oregon
    Quick question. In the past have just uninstalled and installed and rarely have had an issue. Both ATI and Nvidia. Ok I had some issues with XP but nothing serous. Is this guide just when your having problems?
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    It's an in depth guide on how you should uninstall/reinstall drivers, so those are recommend steps to take even when you're not having an issue.

    Generally yes, you won't run into issues just by doing a standard uninstall/reinstall of drivers especially if it's from the same manufacturer, but it's always best to clean everything out before applying new drivers to prevent conflicts.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  20. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    this new amd 6850 has giving me nothing but headaches since i got it, all other games run ok, but for bc2 it crashes after 10 mins of game play, so i put settings in bios at factory, and installed the driver disk that came with the card, yet i still crash, so there after i pulled out the 6850 and put my 8800gts back in played bc2 for a hour with not a single problem. i follow your guide with drive cleaner then rebooted then when went to install amd drivers 11.6, i get i error saying Application Install: install package failure!
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,250 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,418
    Worst case scenario is to reinstall windows, course i noticed that both companies are guilty of making it impossible to change to a diff chip brand with drivers- like it leaves code in to prevent you from installing another

    the other option is to reinstall the game and check the settings in the game itself, run the machine at non overclocked speed.
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    It's for Microsoft Visual C++ which is already installed. Ignore it.
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,581 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,977
    meow (sub)
  24. bellaedward New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ist of all you have to check that any error in the driver should not b occurred. then u must know which driver is exactly suitable for your graphic card. then install the driver properly and check that there should not b any failure of electricity or any irrelevant key should not b pressed
  25. Roxter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Visual C Runtimes

    If I uninstall all instances of Visual C++ runtimes a lot of dependant applications will not work anymore or am I wrong?
    I notices I have quite a lot of these runtime installations. Apps seem to use different versions of it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page