1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Reinstall Video Drivers (Quick Guide)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by erocker, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    You don't need to remove them unless you are still having problems with installing drivers. Your best bet is to google them and reinstall them from Microsoft. There's 2005, 2008 and 2010 versions. Once they are all installed, run Windows Update a few times to make sure they are up to date. I'm actually going to remove that part since I don't think it is necessary any longer.
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  2. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Quick question. Ive been hearing not to delete specific AMD/ATI folders if you also have a AMD Processor as you could be deleting important cpu files. I have an AMD RADEON HD 6870 and a AMD PHENOM X6 II CPU. Could I harm my pc doing this? Im getting these pixel errors. http://i.imgur.com/CG0or.png So im trying to reinstall drivers correctly.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Looks more like a hardware failure than a driver problem.

    And, no. If you follow the guide it doesn't matter what CPU you have.
  4. Foxape New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble with Section C. I'm on Windows XP. Can anyone help?
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    What trouble are you having? :)
  6. Ona New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nvidia graphic driver

    I've been having this issue with recent installations of nvidia driver updates. Basically only 1 or two of the updated drivers install and the rest will fail. Now since i have a relatively old card (230m), I assumed certain updates fail as they aren't applicable to my particular card. Is this the case or should I look to re-install from scratch?
  7. Syrfnr New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey there. Don't know whether this thread is still active but i have a problem! I did every step and i ended up with a BSOD system service exception error. I'm running windows 7 and i was reinstalling my AMD graphics. Anyone can help me? Please
  8. Mothalicka New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well syrfnr if you get a BSOD often then that most likely is a hardware problem than a driver one. On the bright side at least you got that BSOD to prevent any more damage than it already has. Hopefully this helps
  9. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    CCC won't open!

    I have followed the guide carefully, and after the reboot and then went to reinstall when i go to click on the CCC icon the vista loading blue circle comes up for a few seconds then disappears and nothing happens.

    Thanks for the help in advanced. :)
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Make sure you have the correct driver version downloaded. x86 or x64. Unless it's a Vista/newer drivers issue.
  11. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    It used to work fine (the CCC) but then when I opened a game it said that my drivers could be updated and could affect the game play if i left them. So I went on the ATI website and downloaded the AMD driver autodetect, it found the latest drive for my OS etc and i installed it. Now i'm at this point.

    Thanks for the quick reply.
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    What model video card is it? Are you using 32 or 64 bit Vista?
  13. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry should of said before. I'm runnning Vista 32bit and an ATI Radeon HD 2500.
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
  15. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Still no luck :( I have a slim case so technically a PC but can't get much inside :) I'm on the dell website and found a driver for the graphics card, so i'm currently downloading that now.
  16. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Downloaded and seems that I have been using a too new version which it didn't like but i don't know. The problem now is that as soon as I open CCC it comes up with the "Host Application has stopped working" error message.
  17. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've done it finally!!! :) I just deleted all the driver entries etc, restarted pc then installed new drivers, restarted again and now it works :D

    Thanks for the advice.
  18. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,863 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Can anyone help me?

    I'm trying to fix this laptop equipped with E-450 APU with HD6320 as the gfx card, tried the methods above but am at a loss, I still get the error "Application Install: Install package failure" error.

    attached is the error log (added .txt to the end to be able to upload) from the Catalyst Manager tool. :(

    Thanks all!

    EDIT: Managed to make it work, now only 1 component gives a failure, the drivers install fine but
    Code:
    AMD Drag and Drop Transcoding
    Final Status:    Fail
    Version of Item:    2.00.0000
    Size:    1 Mbytes
    That's the error I get, and even if I manually run the said *.msi installer, it looks for a network source. (but I have the installer on the OS drive).
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2013
  19. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,719 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    quick fix: share a folder and browse the the "shared" folder????
    psyko12 says thanks.
  20. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,863 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Fixed it with microsoft msi installer fix or "Fix it!" program. It was due to some corrupt registry entries. Everything seems fine now. Thanks :D
  21. dimpet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    download latest amd drivers, disable network and run as administrator the drivers...
  22. GayleShier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    good to get that you have got the fix now keep them updated and bug free
  23. Ethnography

    Ethnography New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    +3 ~~

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page