1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to throttle my wireless?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by AnomalouS, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. AnomalouS

    AnomalouS

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    350 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Could someone tell me if it is possible to throttle my wireless internet on a N600 router?

    My wife is often uploading pictures or design work and it is really causing major lagging in my gaming... lol :cool:

    I want to throttle the wireless if possible.
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,272 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,726
    QoS
     
  3. AnomalouS

    AnomalouS

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    350 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    cable 10mb, typlically average 18mb
     
  4. Rhyseh

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Use QoS to throttle uploads from her IP address.
     
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,505 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    710
    you might also want to set her ip manually so its not changing too
     
  6. Rhyseh

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Depending on your router you may be able to set a reservation for DHCP.
     
  7. bonemantis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah just use QoS
     
  8. AnomalouS

    AnomalouS

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    350 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    I will check out QoS when I get back home.
    Thanks
     
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,342 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    QOS you can set a schedual so you can let it go when you are not around
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page