1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to turn on computer with keyboard/mouse?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by JanJan, May 30, 2012.

  1. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    i have a new tz77b motherboard with i3 2120. i know the bios has that function and i have tried to do it but somehow it didnt work. may be i just didnt now the right steps?
  2. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    836 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    usually for those you need to use a PS/2 keyboard/mouse. Are you using USB?
    JanJan says thanks.
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,429 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,113
    I thought so too. Or have anyone come up with something new??
    JanJan says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    The only way it will work with USB (that I know of) is if there is an option for it in the bios. It will be labeled as USB "always on" or something like that.
    JanJan says thanks.
  5. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    im using usb for both keyboard and mouse. there are option for both mouse and keyboard in the bios but i just dont know how to get it to work...

    edit: so i need ps/2 ? arent most mouse and keyboard nowadays are usb?
    edit2: i looked back at bios and it's indeed only for ps2. my front panel power switch broke so i have to turn on the comp with mobo from now on. lame...
    Last edited: May 30, 2012
  6. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    So get a ps2 mouse , they're better anyway...
  7. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    ps2 mice are dead cheap if not free if u can find one kicking about why not just plug it in for the use of just being a power on switch? and use your usb mouse as normal?
    JanJan says thanks.
  8. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ooooh this guy is using his noodle!
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    Or he could replace the power switch, or connect the reset switch to the power switch header on the motherboard.
    JanJan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    If BIOS has options to enable "power on by USB" it should work.

    Note that there may be other options (or even jumpers on MB itself !) that interfere with this function.
    What you're looking for are things like:
    - "ERP ready" or "low power standby" or "Green standby something..." (you should disable those)
    - "+5V VSB in standby" (you should enable it)

    You mobo may have a jumper for setting +5VSB behaviour.

    Basically, what you want is USB power to be active when your PC if OFF, so USB peripherals work, and thus, can turn the PC ON.


    Cheers,
    JanJan says thanks.
  11. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    My board (4CoreDual-SATA2) has a jumper called "USB_PWR1" that when set to enabled allows you to use the "PS2 Power On" (Keyboard/Mouse) on USB devices too. The setup is configurable within Advanced ACPI BIOS settings (just like the RTC Alarm Power On).
    JanJan says thanks.
  12. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Omg never know you can switch around like that. Plugging the reset switch into power header did the trick. Many thanks!
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    You're Welcome.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Glad to see it was an easy fix for you. You can buy replacement parts from some shops like Performance-PCs.com

    FYI - there may be other BIOS options, depending on the system. I had one board that I could turn on the PC by pressing any two keys on the keyboard. That worked fine until the kids were old enough to reach up there and started turning it on by mashing the keyboard. From then on I was able to use a key combo (like Ctrl+F1) to power on the system. But I will go on to say that these were systems I had a while back (4-6 years+), and I have not looked at anything like this recently.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page