1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to ugrade BIOS for 9600 pro?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Gregor, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. Gregor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HI!

    I m new in such things so i dont know much about upgrading BIOS for graphic card.
    I have 3D Club ATI Radeon 9600 pro and i dont know how to upgrade BIOS.

    Could anyone help me?

    THANKS!
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,010 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,878
    first of all why would you want to upgrade the bios?
     
  3. Gregor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Because this is a new BIOS and i hope that my graphic card would work better.
    Now it works on 400/300. Is that fast for 9600 pro card? I have read that with new BIOS 9600 pro works like 9600xt. Is that true? :confused:
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,010 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,878
  5. SteveH Guest

    9600Pro's cant be flashed to XT's can they ?
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Arent the 9600 pro and XT identical besides their clocks? In that case just OC it and you have an XT, if it manages to run at XT speeds...

    Then again if the XT has some additional thing it won't be the same :(
     
  7. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    the pro uses the rv350 core, teh XT uses the rv360 core, you cant flash a pro to an XT
     
  8. coolmig77 Guest

    The RV360 core it's the same RV350 just with 0.13u low-k process manufacturing, That let the core chip work at a higher speed more efficiently. The 9600XT is just a 9600PRO overclocked to 500MHz on the core. If your 9600PRO achieves XT speeds without errors then you may try flashing your BIOS to have your card overclocked always as an XT.
     
  9. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Why would you want it always overclocked????? That would just shorten the life of the chip
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page