1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to use a Nvidia card as Physx w/ATi

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by brandonwh64, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I just wanted to make this tutorial so you can enjoy your games that use physx when using a ATI card as your main GFX. To make this mod work at all, you need a Physx compatible video card and two PCIex slots (whether it be x16/x8/x1). The 8xxx series and up are physx compatible but i would recommend a 9600GT or above to make sure its powerful enough to render the physx. I have attached the files below you need to get this mod working.

    FIRST. Install the ATI card into the machine, Then install the newest drivers (10.3 at the moment). Then shut the PC down.

    SECOND. Install the Nvidia card in the second PCIex slot, then boot into safe mode. Install the 196.21 drivers. After the drivers are installed DO NOT RESTART.

    THIRD. Run the physx mod 1.3 exe file you extracted. when the program loads press CAKE and it will patch the files in your OS. once its done restart the PC.

    To check to see if it is working, run fluidmark and it should say hardware physx. if it doesn't, go to nvidia control panel and disable physx then re enable physx and test again.

    * NOTES:
    1. If you are unable to patch the files due to "file in use" error, you may try one of the following solutions:
    - Terminate all NVIDIA runtimes (nv***.exe) and Windows Explorer shell (explorer.exe) manually before patching.
    - Try using the mod under Safe Mode.
    2. It is safe to apply the patch several times - all needed files will be patched only once.
    3. After reboot you may find "*.tmp" files in system directories left after patching. You can safely delete or leave them.
    4. This mod only works on Windows 7 and Windows XP. for some reason it doesn't work on VISTA
    5. The only problem i have noticed is when you restart, it sometimes doesn't enable physx even tho Nvidia control panel says it is. just go to nvidia control panel and disable physx then re enable physx and test again. ALWAYS CHECK WITH FLUIDMARK!! It should says hardware physx at the top of the test.

    Here is mine running a 5850 with 9600GT as physx.

    [​IMG]

    * DOWNLOADS

    Physx Mod 1.4
    Windows 7/Vista 64-bit
    Windows 7/Vista 32-bit
    Windows XP 32-bit
    Windows XP 64-bit

    * SOURCES
    I want to give a special thanks to Wraithchild_67 and TechPowerUp!!!
    Also to the creators of the Physx Mod Patch.
    Also a to Nvidia/ATI

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1828308&postcount=7

    *UPDATES!* 6/29/2010

    ATI 10.6 FRIENDLY!
    Physx patch 1.4 is out HERE!

    Special thanks to GenL For this MOD
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
    stinger608, JD15, HossHuge and 42 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. mdbrotha03

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    I have an extra GTS 250 laying around the house. Can my power supply handle it?
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    a 750TX? YES! it should run it NO problems!
     
    mdbrotha03 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. wrathchild_67

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    233 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Does your 9600GT have 64 shaders or 96? I can't get performance anywhere near yours in FluidMark with my 64sp 9600GT.
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    /sub
     
  6. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    I've been debating on doing this but now I've run into the issue of the Nvidia card having to be a single slot which doesn't leave me much of a choice besides a 9800GT or 240. Thanks for the tutorial
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Great job Brandon!

    My only question is if you have two PCI-E slots being used will it downgrade from 16x to 8x if using something other than a 790FX? Also what would be the minimum Nvidia card to use for max Physx?
     
  8. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Answer for the second part of your question only: the minimum is the 9600, it should work with the 8400 or 9400 but 9600 is the best minimum. the optimal is 8800/9800.
     
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Or anything from the 200 series correct? GeForce 210 512MB DDR2?
     
  10. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    sure.
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Cool because best buy by my house has one for 49 bucks. Im gonna do it.
     
  12. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    G 210 equal 9400. physx note 6/10
     
  13. Zappcatt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Thanks for making this thread.
    I am truly surprised that there has not been a lawsuits over this yet.

    Can you imagine what would happen if Intel and AMD arbitrarily disabled CPU functions when it detected an nVidia GPU?

    PhysX can run in "software mode" with an ATI video card right?

    Yet they disable it from running in hardware on thier own cards(which i have already paid them for)
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    So a 210 will not run Physx maxed out?
     
  15. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    8500 GT : 16 sp / 900Mhz
    IGP 9300 : 16 sp / 1200Mhz
    9400 GT : 16 sp / 1375 Mhz
    G210 : 16 sp / 1402 Mhz
    8600 GT : 32 sp / 1180Mhz
    9500 GT : 32 sp / 1400Mhz
    IGP GT 230M : 48 sp / 1100 Mhz
    GT 220 : 48 sp / 1360 Mhz
    [​IMG]
    You will be very limited. So better get a card with 32 sp or better.
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Meh. Not worth it.
     
  17. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Yeah so the good answer is 9600 and above
     
  18. Zappcatt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    The Ageia PPU looks like a pretty good option if you are an ATI user and want a nice bump..It gave more help than the 9600 and they go for $30-$50 on eBay.

    So when PhysX was with Ageia, they were confident their PPU could work with any GPU...but now that nVidia owns it, all the sudden there are concerns that customers might not be happy.

    nVidia, I am getting sick of your CRAP!

    p.s. I have never owned an ATI main GPU, only a couple of their TV tuners. I have had 3dfx/nVidia since my SLI Voodoo 8mb cards...but am 99% sure my next GPU will be from AMD/ATI.
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    I own one. You need to use old drivers as Nvidia stop supporting it a while back. Even in use most games need more balls than what it offers.
     
  20. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i tried physx with gtx 275 beside a 8600gt with 32sp and performance was miserable.

    do not waste your time with anything less than the 9600 for sure.
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    I found a GT220 for 64 bucks. That has 48sp. Still 64 bucks it a tad to much for my taste. I have OpenCL damn it. I wish everyone would just run with that.
     
  22. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Would an 8800GTX be okay for a physics card? It's the 768MB version.
     
  23. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    should do just fine matey.

    just got a 8800GT for £50 :roll:

    thanks for the thread buddy :p
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2010
  24. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    If your going to buy a 8800GTX now(as in you don't have it already). a 8800GTX is a complete waste of power(im talking about watts) for only physx, just go find yourself a cheap 8800GS and use that.
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Mines is a 64 shader

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page