1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to use a Nvidia card as Physx w/ATi

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by brandonwh64, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Yeah fluidmark wouldn't run.
     
  2. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Oh nice. It does so very fluid, so where is the PhysX option in the Nvida Control Panel. I remember my old MSI 8800GTS had it when I still used it. New driver cut it out?
     
  3. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    yes
     
  4. phobias23

    phobias23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    307 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Havana City,Cuba
    guys, I just installed my 9600gt for physx. My question is, Ive got 57fps in Mafia2 benchmark without my 9600gt and physx disable, now i get 27fps with my nvidiacard and physx in high. What can be happening? Its not this mod meant to provide more performance? by the way I still using CCc 10.4.:toast::confused:
     
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Your frame rate is locked to the simulation per second of phsyx now ;)



    All this "mod" does is allow you to play phsyx games and turn on the phsyx.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,648 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,038
    Normal. Find the mod for getting rid of the cloth physics and framerates will be better.
     
  7. phobias23

    phobias23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    307 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Havana City,Cuba
    Thanx a lot Pantherx12, I just worried a lot cuz my frames drop -20 and thats a huge difference. And this THREAD IS AWESOME!!! :rockout:
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Yeah quite cool eh?

    Shame there's barely any phsyx games : /
     
  9. phobias23

    phobias23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    307 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Havana City,Cuba
    Erocker sorry my ignorance but what do you mean by" physx cloth mod":toast:
     
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  11. phobias23

    phobias23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    307 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Havana City,Cuba
    Guys your saving my day And my rig performance!!!:D:D:D i will do it right away no without thank you once more. :toast::D:D:slap:;)
     
  12. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,439 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,439 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Surely only the ones I just linked to that specify running on the GPU run on the GPU and the other ones run on CPU?
     
  16. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    That's what I understood as well.
     
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,439 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    taken straight form the top of the list from the link i posted:
    "Below is a partial listing of current and upcoming PhysX titles available for PC and console owners alike. PC titles can take advantage of GPU-accelerated PhysX to provide an enhanced gaming experience. "
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,205 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,509
    still, only a very specific few titles support the hardware acceleration. its currently only about 15 games on the list - theres a link in my sig about it.

    unless that was your point, i'm not sure who's trying to say what atm.

    edit: that list is a little outdated, mafia II is missing, for example.
     
  19. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,178 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    you guys know that the cloths are actually being processed on the CPU right?
     
  20. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    So what do you guys think, good run? :D

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,439 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_physxgames_all.html
    the link i posted, once again.
    mafia 2 is on the list, and all the pc titles offer gpu acceleration, whether offered in the options or not.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  22. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    I don't think that's true you know, I've games that use phsyx(cpu) and when I had my 8600 gt set up as a phsyx processor it had 0% load. Only it games that specifically stated GPU phsyx support did I see any loads.

    Could just be the games I was testing mind you.

    This will require some looking into me thinks : ]
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,205 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,509
    i didnt see mafia II on the hardware accelerated list, as opposed to the 'all games' list


    and no... all PC titles do NOT offer hardware acceleration. If you think that, you really need to look into this - because you're likely basing your GPU purchases on bad information.
     
  24. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,439 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    i meant all the titles on that list.
    whether it's offered in the options or not, those games can take advantage of gpu-physx, you just need to have gpu physx enabled in your nv control panel and have that game's specific physx build installed, which usually comes with the game itself.
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,205 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,509
    no, they cant.

    You are mistaken.


    Most games with PhysX support are software ONLY.

    unless i'm misreading you and you're still talking about the smaller list.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page