1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to use a Nvidia card as Physx w/ATi

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by brandonwh64, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
  2. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    I already have one. It's sitting on a shelf doing nothing at all.
     
  3. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,763
    Location:
    S.Cali
    I was running a 9600GT for Physx next to my 285, but I said f*ck it and got a 2nd GTX285. Does anyone want a 9600? it's great for a physx card.;)

    EDIT: Sold to mab1367
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    lol press "Cake" thats fantasitc
     
  5. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    sorry guys i just attempted to download the mod and panda antivirus flashed up this
    so you might want to be carefull ,it could be that the software uses a trojan to fool your game into beleiving it's only got a nvidia i don't know, or it could be another damned virus infecting the server
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    Thanks for the heads up!
     
  7. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Link to the PhysX mod is no good.
     
  8. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
  9. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    don't mention it :)
    although it might just be a specific trojan to bypass what nvidia or ati have put in,
    like i said i'm not sure, i don't want to crap up the thread only to find it's a false positive,
    i have known certain people to use them to extract data but that's for game roms to bypass security ,
    i did pm someone not long ago asking about this but they haven't replied:eek:
     
  10. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    now that i got my new board that i can cf, ( the new board is an awsome o/cer!) I would love to try this, just have to get my hands on a suitable nvidia card!!, until i can afford a second hd5870 lol wich wont be for a loooong time
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    there is NO virus in this RAR file. I would never put TPU at risk of a virus by my uploads. i just ran this file under three types of anti-virus (norton, kaspersky, and AVG) NONE came up with anything let alone a false positive. Unless megaupload has added there own virus to it, it was perfectly clean when i uploaded it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    Could you upload a non-rar file?
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    see! i think his anti virus gave him a false positive. I hate viruses and i ALWAYS scan my files after i download them or before uploading them. virus makers can suck a ding dong.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    hey guys would a gts250 make a good physx card
    MSI N250GTS Twin Frozr GeForce GTS 250 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card its cost is about $70.00 what ya think
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    Do you think a 220 would be enough for a dedicated Physx card? I would rather get a 210 but from what I understand 16sp wouldn't be enough. Remember I just want this for gaming. Not benching.
     
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    get something with 64+ shaders for physics
     
    krisna159 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    ok so the 250 would not work ? or whats the big drawback about useing it? thanx for your help. Iam so happy i can try stuff like this now with my new board
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
    A 220 only has 48. But thats more than a 9600.
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    the 9600GT has 64 shaders mail man

    [​IMG]
     
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,096 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,644
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    hmm i dont know if it is or not. i never messed with the lower 200 series Nvidia cards. only a GTX 285
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    physx makes a hell of a difference

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page