1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to use a Nvidia card as Physx w/ATi

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by brandonwh64, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    ok i believe it maybe a motherboard issue on some boards. ive noticed you guys have AMD boards. is anyone else with an AMD board having trouble?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Not at all here. Followed your directions to the T and all is good.

    Also, Hybrid PhysX mod 1.03 is now available. Looks like I'll have something to do tonight:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Thanks ken! ok everyone that has having problems, try this new patch to see if you can get it to work!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Nice, just in time for my new purchase of the ati 5850, should arrive in about 4 days, rushed and 3 day delivery. Throwing my 8800 gtx into physx mode. Can't wait to see some benches.
    Think I'll test it with and without the physx mod to see what kind of performance gain I'll get.
     
  5. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,220 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Don't forget to post scores.
     
  6. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Will do, got the topic followed. ^^
     
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    i think it has to do with amd chipsets that have display adapters built-in.
     
  8. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Just a note to the OP, Vista won't work because it has that unified display driver setup ie. you can't use more than one display driver. You can use more than one graphics card with Vista only when both use the same driver. Dual display drivers can only be used with XP and Windows 7 (which will be the case if you're running ATI + nVidia). ;)

    I'm running quad screens on a 4870 and a 7600GT (which doesn't support PhysX unfortunately) but I'm playing with the idea of going 5850 + GT(S)240. Even if I don't really do PhysX, the GT240 can still help with video decoding (if I happen to run video on its screens and set it to do the work). And a GT240 is cheaper than an active DP->DVI adapter! :eek:
     
  9. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    I just had one of the weirdest issues or just plain coincidence. I Uninstalled the nvidia drivers, booted into safe mode to clean the drivers with Driver Sweeper, and rebooted back into Safe Mode again to install the newest 197.45 drivers and run the Physx mod 1.03 to patch the drivers. Once I was done I restarted again but my system just hung at the bios prompt screen so decided to shut the system down. Lets just say I tried each card out in PCI-E x16 1 slot for 20min(5870, 9800GT, and 8600GT) to no avail. I had to reset CMOS to get the system to boot back up.

    Long story short everything is setup and working about the same as the previous setup with Physx Mod 1.02 but will keep everyone informed in case something else odd pops up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,466 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    so is it worth updating now or?

    i am currently using Driver 197.13 with PhysX_10.02.22_9.10.0222_SystemSoftware.exe and PhysX 1.02 patch together with Hybrid PhysX 197.13 Extended Display + Levity Phantom Fix V1.02


    oh and another thing why isn't GPU-Z 0.4.2 picking up CUDA on the Nvidia cards when it picks up PhysX? O.O
     
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    that's my lovely thread, thanx "brandonwh64"
     
  12. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    Did that happen using your 785G motherboard?
     
  13. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    No, that was with the 790FX Crosshair board.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    reading through the second link, a few people mentioned previous versions were flagged by certain scanners as having the same trojan. i'm using 1.02, and have not had a virus, but i thought it may be good to bring that to everyone's attention.
     
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,672 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
  17. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,220 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Wow, some real controversy there...
     
  18. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    i have a GTX260 216sp laying around, it"s a power hungry card and i want to add it to my 5870 for physx BUT is there a way to desactivate the second card and just reactivate it while playing physx games ??
     
  19. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Are you meaning to where the system doesn't see it unless your playing a game that uses physx? If so then no.

    Once the card is installed it will show up in your device manager. I play several games that do not use Physx and had no issues with the 9800GT being in there. MLB2k10, Dirt 2, and Bioshock only see the 5870 and I've noticed no framrate drops. I would love to have your 260 for physx:twitch:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    So damn it, but the second card will be like in IDLE while playing a non physx game ?
     
  21. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Yep, just sitting there looking pretty.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I talk about it"s power consumption
     
  23. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Yes, idle power when just sitting there.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Thanks for responding, so no problem for me i will test it soon :)
     
  25. Regeneration NGOHQ.COM

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Hockster is a shill and he's maliciously spreading lies. Web filters my ass.

    The PhysX mod isn't a trojan. See http://www.ngohq.com/news/17755-ngohq-responds-to-hardocps-false-accusations.html for more details.

    Here is the same guy spreading more lame lies on another forum:
    http://www.ngohq.com/attachments/of...ral-marketing-campaign-against-ngohq-wtf2.jpg

    I say... ban the mofo. :D
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page