1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to use a Nvidia card as Physx w/ATi

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by brandonwh64, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,959 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    I think it all depends on where you download the file from. NGO HQ should be the safest means of obtaining the fix.
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    I just don't understand why Hardocp will go after genL over a false positive but not Nvidia over there "cute" little Star Tales Demo that will cause your AV software to go off as well.

    I trust GenL and the physx mod patch.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Regeneration NGOHQ.COM

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    1 + 1 = ?
  4. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Can you give as your final score of fluidmark with the same settings just to compare ?
  5. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    is this a good idea to use it with my Geforce 6 series?
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    if i remember correct PhysX/Cuda started at serie 8 so your serie 6 shouldn't have PhysX/Cuda :rolleyes:
  7. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Correct. There is no PhysX or Cuda support on anything older than the 8xxx series.
  8. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    That would be correct.

    If you all are interested I'm soon gonna throw up some comparison benchmarks of a 8800GS, 9800GT(which I've posted here already), and a GTX 260 with my 5870.
    Random Murderer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I'm curious, is there a way, using this method, to take advantage of Adobe Premier CS5's Mercury Playback Engine(CUDA accelerated) while using my current HD5770 for eyefinity(3) and gaming/openGL .

    This is an idea I've had in my head for a while. I had hopes that there would be a way to do it through hydra, motherboard which surely should require two separate sets of drivers, or at least a single driver which could operate both cards(i haven't delved too far into hydra and its mechanics) But re-reading over this article, I'm beginning to wonder if its possible without requiring hydra.

    I'm pretty sure there are many people who are interested in this, especially given AMD's dirt cheap hexacores and the up and coming Asus AM3 hydra equipped board.
    Last edited: May 17, 2010
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I think anything that uses the physx engine will benifit from this mod.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,365
    so is an 8600GT 512MB DDR2 worth a shot with physX? i only ask cause i havent played batman AA or metro 2033 yet, and i could pair it with my 5870
  12. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    It doesnt use physx specifically, but it does use CUDA. i mean, its really just for the Mercury Playback Engine, everything else in CS5 is opengl accelerated.

    ive still got my fingers crossed though. are cuda drivers bundled into graphic drivers or released individually?

    according to this method, any physx ready GPU should work. unsure how an 8600gt even performs now, damn graphics cards coming out every other month.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,365
    CUDA is part of the graphics driver, so it should be accessible to any app on the system, even without the physX mod.

    for better chances you should move the app over to a monitor running off the nvidia card.

    Only reason it wont work is if the program is dumb and scans the primary card for CUDA support only.
  14. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    my goal was for the primary card to be ati for eyefinity, but how does windows 7 hold under 2 separate cards powering separate monitors with their own independent drivers? I'm sure the moment the asus board comes out some video fanatics will be hard at work getting it working, just trying to jump the gun a bit and see if anyone else is thinking of it here on TPU
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,365
    7 works fine with two cards and their own monitors.
    kaneda says thanks.
  16. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    high hopes for this idea then. could be the single greatest linear video editing and animation rig for the price. :D
  17. newfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    @brandonwh64
    Would be damn interested how did you get FPS rise so high. I mean according to your post you are using HD5850 + 9600GT.

    and I am here running and testing HD5850 + 9800 GTX. Your post has FPS of '117' minimum at full particle count of 29960. I can barely make with new Forceware 257 84FPS and usually it's below 60FPS. So, I got something really wrong.

    the fluidmark reads 'Hardware'
    tested drivers:
    Catalyst 10.2,10.3, 10.3b, 10.5, 10.5b
    and
    NVIDIA 196.21, 196.34 beta, 197.57 beta, 257.15
    with PhysX 9.09.1112, 9.10.0129 & 9.10.0222
    using windows 7

    and absolutely nothing will drop that value anywhere near even what your benchmark says. So, I am using 128SP core with same ATI card.

    This fellow here:
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1842986&postcount=77
    is running 10 times more power than you are and yet he is on same score line as I am.

    I would be really interested where or how was that score done?
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    well as of right now i do not have a 9600GT anymore. what i did was i set all setting in 3d on the ATI and Nvidia card to performance and turned Vsync of both. also my PC is at 4ghz and the ATI card was clocked at 1000 core and 1200 mem. I wont be able to run the tests again cause i helped a good folder out and traded him the card
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. newfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yeah, I figure the tweaking parts and clocking ran the test on 950/1200Mhz, but still missing something. I had nasty OSD Server running which was mixing a bit everything, but even that disabled I reach 100-103 now stable. Weirdest thing is the damn cap which I don't understand as I was monitoring drivers 196.34 beta + 1.02 patch + Cat 10.5 on bench run on MSI afterburner OSD noticed that NVIDIA GPU usage on run of 'fluidmark' never went over 33% and ATI card stay'd at 60-70% never maxing out.

    I also got all basic tweaks vsyncs are disabled etc etc, but missing something I just cannot figure. I am atm running 257.15 beta + Cat 10.5a (hotfix), but if that above cap on GPU usage is true on Fluidmark I can't imaging it being reliable either other than showing 'hardware' capability quickly.
  20. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  21. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,838 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    Thx brandonwh64 for this guide!!!!
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Your welcome scrizz
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    GenL has done it again. PhysX mod v1.04ff is now available which will allow use of the newest 257 drivers and news PhysX software for hybrid physX.

    Can be downloaded here.

    - removed support for fixing GeForce driver binaries as current 256 series don't need this (dropped support of all older 19x series drivers)
    - added support for fixing a new limitation in PhysX System Software, introduced in 9.10.0223 (aka 9.10.0528 / .0529)
    - added extra optional command line files (nvsvc and PhysX related)
    - removed most of gfx/sfx stuff (the mod is now tiny and no more requires 96dpi mode)

    Thanks again GenL for all your hard work:toast::rockout::respect:
    Scrizz, Frogger and VulkanBros say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,296 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Could be nice trying a 5870 with a 480.......then again...my electrical bill will rocketeer me to the moon :cool:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. finndrummer

    finndrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    i have a question, the physx card can lower the main ati gpu bandwidth when playing a non-physx card like when crossfire is used ?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page