1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How well do ATI cards run on nvidia chipsets?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by shevanel, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I was curious if it mattered.. having an evga 780i ftw running one of those nice new shiny 5870's? It being an nvidia board and all, would it have issues?

    Thanks
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    no issues it will run fine.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    Would there be an issue if you tried to crossfire two cards on a nvideo sli board?
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    no issue at all....mostly because that cant happen unless your on X58
     
    shevanel and kuroikenshi say thanks.
  5. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    :D Thanks!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    2 birds ones stone.
     
  7. audiotranceable

    audiotranceable New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    351 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Westminster, B.C
    kill 2 stones with 1 bird:roll:
     
  8. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    Well now im thinking. Why put the whole "This motherboard is crossfire/sli ready" if it doesn't matter? Is it the same as those CD's that are marketed as "Music CD ready" types? :wtf:
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    on X58 motherboards....let me retry my entry..


    IN THE BEGGINING <--Done when X58 boards were new all supported crossfire but NOT all supported SLI without being first checked out by nvidias self absorbed nerd squad in some R&D dept...THUS the branding made sense as it helped sales and cut back on confusion like...

    "hi ECS why the F$#% wont my board support dual GTX260's?"

    "Hi let me take 45min too look up your answer because were outsourced and dont know s$%"

    "sorry for the wait...the bios isnt sighned by nvidia meaning it just isnt going to work anytime soon"

    "kthnxbye"

    the same goes for powersupplies...were PSU's with that branding usually mean they have atleast 2 dedicated 12v rails with a proper amount of amperage to run the most 1337 2 cards from either company

    savvy?

    EDIT::
    [​IMG]

    that pic is awsome thnx
     
  10. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    so can i do Xfire in SLi board?
     
  11. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    just read that xfire only works on intel chipsets, not counting amd boards.
     
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    you cannot cross fire on an nvidia board chipset....you cannot SLI on an AMD/ATI chipset...you can only run SLI on an nvidia chipset or an X58 board...you can only run cross fire on an AMD/ATI chipset or X58 Board...the X58 platform will let you do both...but any other motherboards will only let you do SLI or crossfire with bords from their own company..

    [​IMG]

    savvy?
     
  13. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ty
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  14. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    Basicly you can run Crossfire on both AMD and Intel chipset but NOT on NVIDIA chipsets :p
    SLI can only be run on NVIDIA Chipsets or Intel X58 Chipset (as it has a gay SLI aka PCIe chip!)

    kinda ironic that AMD is in bed with Intel over crossfire lol, but it does make sense, as motherboards with intel chipsets are everywhere and when you also count motherboards with AMD chipsets they outnumber NVIDIA

    btw PCI Express is a industry standard so yes ATI cards will work in NVIDIA chipsets why woulnt they?
    but you cant run Crossfire on NVIDIA chipsets so no Dual cards unless you get a 5870 X2 that is a Crossfire on a stick also one card
     
    wahdangun says thanks.
  15. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    some p55 boards also support sli!
     
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    hahaha this is also true forgiveme i havent slept in many many hours.
     
  17. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Actually, I don't think you can do that either. The X2's still are driver dependent and treated as Crossfire (special version of it). It is seen as 2 cards which means it will work on an Nvidia chipset, but you will only see and use half the card.
     
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    no it works its a way of cheating...it doesnt cvheck with the board as its not needed with X2 cards from nvidia or ATI their is no communicating through through the mobo itself as the cards communicate internally
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  19. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    290 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Never had any problems yet. But who know about the future.
     
  20. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    i don't understand why it can't work, NV motherboard have NF200 chip that will work just like PLX chip in X2 series card, so what is the difrent betwen PLX chip and NF200 chip ? that make ati card can't do CF
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page