1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How well does your GTX 780 Ti overclock compared to TPU's reference review sample?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by qubit, Dec 8, 2013.

?

How well does your GTX 780 Ti overclock compared to TPU's reference review sample?

  1. Monster overclocker, better than TPU's sample!

    4.8%
  2. Overclocks similar to TPU's sample

    23.8%
  3. Overclocks less than TPU's sample

    9.5%
  4. I don't have one yet

    61.9%
  5. Other

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Given that cards from both AMD and NVIDIA can sometimes be cherry picked to perform especially well for reviews, I'm curious to know if your retail card overclocks as well as the one on TPU's review?

    W1zzard managed to get an impressive 18.4% performance improvement without even increasing the GPU voltage as you can see below.

    [​IMG]

    So, how well does my 780 Ti overclock? n/a, I'm still lusting after one. :laugh:
     
  2. Aithos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    175 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I haven't pursued a very aggressive overclock but I have 2x EVGA 780ti superclocked cards. I tried running at +120 (1100) but I got a BSOD halfway through valley and I haven't messed with it. I backed down to +75 (1055) and they run like champs there. I have been running there in games for around two weeks now and when I have a bit more time I'll be slowly going up from there. If you compare to the stock reference speed (876) I'm +179 or 20% overclock. That's pretty respectable for an SLI setup considering I might have one card capable of going much higher than the other. I don't care nearly enough to do them separately, my next step is to OC my CPU...

    edit: I also haven't touched the memory yet, just the clock speed. I'm not very patient and my demands for OCing aren't very high, I never intended to do more than a mild OC, I have SLI 780ti's so there isn't much reason for it even at 110hz 1440p.
     
  3. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,375 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I know you say you're running at 1100 but I assume that is the base clock (or boost). What is the actual steady clock rating?
     
  4. Aithos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    175 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    No, I said I tried running at 1100 and got a BSOD. I'm running at 1055mhz which is +179 from the base clock of 876 on a reference 780ti. I don't have an accurate measure of the boost clock because the ungine benchmarks don't report it right and I'm currently only running a single monitor setup so I can't see any of my monitoring software when I'm running benchmarks. The boost clock usually increases by a similar amount above the overclock as it would over the base, the temps are exactly the same overclocked as stock. Neither card goes over 83 degrees.
     
  5. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    855 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Rivatuner will show stats in-game/bench. It comes with EVGA precision. You just have to enable the overlay somewhere in the settings.
     
  6. Aithos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    175 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Thanks, I must have missed that in the settings when I installed precision. I didn't have a lot of time after I built the machine to spend overclocking, it's been really busy for me with the holidays and family obligations so I've barely gotten to game on my new system either. I'm intending to hopefully get things squared away after christmas when things slow down, I don't see getting much done between now and then, lol.
     
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I'm a bit surprised there's not that many responses to this thread. I can only think it's because this card is fairly new and very expensive. Must be a lot of wannabes like me who refuse to ruin their bank account to get it, lol. :laugh:

    It's already dropped from £560 to £500-£530 or so and I'm looking for it to hit the £380-£450 mark before considering it.
     
  8. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    It's more like who would have picked a 780Ti already has several Titans or 780 and it doesn't make any sense to upgrade.
    780Ti is marginally faster than a Titan :)
     
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yeah, there's that, lol.
     
  10. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I mean would you replace my SLI with two 780s Ti?
    Would be kinda retarded :D
     
  11. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,351 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Silly question.

    Of course I would, as long as I didn't have to pay for it.
     
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I'd rather have 6gb of vram for the 4k monitor I'll be getting this spring. :toast:
     
  13. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,530 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,635
    Yep - If I didn't already have two GTX 780's I would go for the Ti's.
    I must say that I was tempted but that quickly passed:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    It's going to be Maxwell jump for us :toast:
    quote="HammerON, post: 3032056, member: 66966"]Yep - If I didn't already have two GTX 780's I would go for the Ti's.
    I must say that I was tempted but that quickly passed:)[/quote]
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm sorry for the bad quote parentheses but this new forum's mobile support is so buggy it's not letting me edit properly
     
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    You're using a browser? I'm on Opera Mini and it works flawlessly.
     
  17. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    Haven't done much with mine, but I do have it running 1130 MHz on the core. TPU's EVGA GTX780ti SC ACX review sample OC'ed to 1160mhz, and with boosting, I've seen 1221 MHz with mine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Maybe It's time to ditch Firefox on Android :)
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    What did Wizzard's sample boost as high as? Personally, I've seen as high as 1274 MHz core with mine, with it usually maxing out between 1220-1250 mhz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    ?????
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    Guess I'm not going to get my question answered.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,375 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I checked Guru3D's review of the stock card and his overclocked clocks topped out between 1202-1276mhz. Remember they overclock as far as they could take it and unlike TPU, Guru3D's reviews add voltage.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  23. Pandora's Box

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Mine are stable at 1225Mhz Core with 1.212volts and 7.5ghz mem. I'm using a custom bios that disables GPU boost and increases the power limit so the card doesn't throttle.

    I run them everyday at 1100MHz Core with 1.150volts and no overclock on the memory, so 7GHz. Like someone else said, with 780 Ti SLI, you really don't need to overclock these cards. The reason I run at 1100mhz instead of 1225, is the increase in voltage isn't worth it, plus the cards get extremely loud. I use vsync to lock the frame rate, this helps keep the cards from taking off in terms of fan noise. GPU usage is usually around 60-80% with vsync on (75hz) at 1440P in most games.
     
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    ^^

    Shoot up AA samples :)
     
  25. Pandora's Box

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I'm already at 2xMSAA, with 140% res scale in bf4 @ 1440P lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page